the taste space

Blackened salmon with cajun spices

Posted in Mains (Fish) by amuse-bouche on October 9, 2009

I saw this super easy recipe for cajun spiced salmon in Real Simple magazine (paper copy). Take a filet of salmon (I used wild, but Atlantic farmed would be fine also), shake on some cajun spices (I just used a President’s Choice grinder mix – I had to grind it rather than take a pinch and press it in, but it was ok anyway) and 10  minutes later you have a salmon dinner. I ate it with steamed swiss chard which I doused with a bit of olive oil and lemon juice also. It was quite good and tied me over for well over 5 hours.

Here are some pics, before and after:

Salmon with cajun spices

Salmon with cajun spices

Blackened salmon with cajun spices and a side of swiss chard

Blackened salmon with cajun spices and a side of swiss chard

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kitblue said, on December 10, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    I would like the recipe for blackened salmon. I do have others but would like to see how yours is different. I do not know how to access it. I click on Mains – Fish; the picture comes up with others but nothing to access the recipe.
    Please advise.
    Thanks

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 11, 2011 at 3:01 AM

      Hey there,

      Sorry the recipe isn’t as obvious as the other posts.. it is sort of hidden in the first paragraph: Take a filet of salmon (I used wild, but Atlantic farmed would be fine also), shake on some cajun spices (I just used a President’s Choice grinder mix – I had to grind it rather than take a pinch and press it in, but it was ok anyway) and 10 minutes later you have a salmon dinner. I ate it with steamed swiss chard which I doused with a bit of olive oil and lemon juice also. It was quite good and tied me over for well over 5 hours.

      The original recipe can be found here: http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/blackened-salmon-broccoli-rabe-00000000011457/index.html


What do you think?

