the taste space

A remedy against the cold: Pumpkin curry

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by amuse-bouche on October 15, 2009

Last year, when I was reviewing restaurants for Voir in Ottawa/Gatineau I went to Coconut Lagoon, a good South Indian restaurant on Saint-Laurent Boulevard in Ottawa. I had a pumpkin curry there that I really enjoyed and it has stayed in my mind. Recently, the idea of doing it sprang up again when I spotted a lonely butternut squash in my kitchen. A few nights ago, I tried out a recipe which I borrowed from someone else’s blog, Vividha Ruchulu. I don’t know anything about her, but the recipe worked and I thoroughly enjoyed that curry! I ate it with store bough chapatis which fried up with a bit of butter to make them even better (right Pomelo? ;-)). Anyway, I am no expert in Indian cooking, but the sauce turned out really rich and creamy in this recipe and there is only a few teaspoons of oil…not bad! I think processing the onions to almost a pulp really gave some yummy body to this sauce, but have to explore more recipes to ascertain this claim. You can find the recipe on Ms. Ruchulu’s blog (link above). Below is my finished product, sans chapatis. This is the last serving and I hope it doesn’t look to baleful in that bowl…however, the little amount left is a testimony to its deliciousness!

IMG_0801

Tagged with: , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pomelo said, on November 8, 2009 at 4:29 PM

    Agreed — butter makes everything extra tasty. :)

    This looks delicious!


What do you think?

