the taste space

Cranberry-Orange Scones

Posted in Breakfasts, Desserts by janet @ the taste space on November 20, 2009

I love when I discover new foods. It isn’t that I don’t know about cranberries because I love dried cranberries, but I must confess that I had never bought fresh cranberries before.  I am not sure what took me so long, though, because they are delicious. They are a bit tart but cut the sweetness in whatever dish you are making. This is the first recipe with fresh cranberries that I will share. It is a nice, light scone recipe with orange and fresh cranberries. I liked how it used buttermilk instead of cream.  It was adapted from Bon Appétit  (November 1998) based on the comments from epicurious. My only further tinkering would be to chop the fresh cranberries in bigger chunks to get big bursts of tartness. Scones are best straight from the oven, but these were still good as leftovers, if they manage to last that long.

This is my entry to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Winnie at Healthy Green Kitchen and here is the wrap-up.

Cranberry-Orange Scones

3 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon grated orange peel
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3/4 cup fresh cranberries (coated in a light dusting of sugar)
1 cup chilled buttermilk  (I did juice from 1 orange plus additional buttermilk for a total of 1 cup)

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Sift flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda into large bowl. Mix in orange peel.

3. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until mixture resembles coarse meal. Mix in cranberries. Gradually add buttermilk and orange juice, tossing with fork until moist clumps form.

4. Turn dough out onto lightly floured work surface. Knead briefly to bind dough, about 4 turns. Form dough into 1-inch-thick round. Cut into 10 wedges. Transfer wedges to prepared baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart.

5. Bake until tops of scones are golden brown, about 20 minutes. Let stand on baking sheet 10 minutes. Serve scones warm or at room temperature.

Serves 10.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Janet/Saveur from Tastespace (Toronto, Canada) also cooked with cranberries; she used them in these incredibly yummy-looking Cranberry Orange Scones. […]

  2. Nate said, on November 23, 2009 at 11:28 AM

    Nicely done!

    We like to brush the tops with cream and sprinkle a little sugar on them before baking.

  3. mangocheeks said, on November 23, 2009 at 12:19 PM

    I want to make these, so so seasonal and they look very appetizing too. I wish I could pick one from out of the screen and eat it.

    I like the fact that the recipe uses buttermilk too.

  4. Kalyn said, on November 23, 2009 at 1:35 PM

    They do look tasty. I’ve never cooked scones, but someone is sending me a cast iron scone pan in the mail, so I might try them.

  5. tigerfish said, on November 23, 2009 at 6:39 PM

    I want some tea now to go with these scones.

  6. Marillyn @ just-making-noise said, on November 23, 2009 at 8:06 PM

    I bet they have a wonderful tart citrus-y taste! I would love to have one those right now :o) I especially like that it calls for buttermilk.

  7. laq1013 said, on December 10, 2009 at 10:18 AM

    Ah – those look fantastic. I love using buttermilk instead of heavy cream in scones. Makes them more flavorful and there’s less fat, too:)

  8. […] Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 30, 2010 Oftentimes, my breakfast and dessert could be the same dish. I never really thought I had sweet breakfasts, but I definitely prefer more […]

  9. CC said, on January 6, 2011 at 5:58 PM

    I LOVE these scones, and so do all my friends! I made the recipe vegan by using Earth Balance instead of butter, and cultured coconut milk instead of buttermilk. This is a great way to use up the bounty of my orange tree, and the big bites of fresh cranberry are amazing! The scones are nice and moist and fluffy… I’ve made at least 6 batches already this winter and am starting on another one :-) For a little fun I roll the dough out and make shapes with cookie cutters.

    • CC said, on January 6, 2011 at 5:59 PM

      oh, and I also use white whole wheat flour to make these nice and healthy without losing the lightness. Wonderful scones!

      • Saveur said, on January 6, 2011 at 8:39 PM

        Wow – thanks for getting back to me on how you made these vegan and more healthy! :D

  10. Annick Leroy said, on December 17, 2013 at 6:37 PM

    I made these, adding a simple drizzled orange glaze, for my children’s school bake sale, now I’m not allowed in the building without a batch!


What do you think?

