the taste space

Wild Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Muffins

Posted in Breakfasts, Desserts by janet @ the taste space on February 24, 2010

This is the finale of my muffin trifecta: Wild Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Muffins (to add to Spiced Yogurt Muffins and Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes). A combination of all great ingredients, spurred by a few lonely bananas that made it to the black, yet super sweet stage on my kitchen counter. While this muffin was incredibly tasty and filled with healthy ingredients, I don’t think I will be making muffins again anytime soon…. so many muffins from one batch lasting me a week or two, I think I am all muffined out for a while.

This recipe was adapted from The Good Mood Food Blog and is my submission for this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Dhanggit at Dhanggit’s Kitchen.

Wild Blueberry Banana Oatmeal Muffins

1 cup (125g) (wild) blueberries
2 bananas, mashed
1 cup (125g) plain flour
2/3 cup (75g) wholewheat flour
1 cup (200g) rolled oats
1/2 cup (75g) brown sugar
1 cup (250ml) milk
2 large eggs, separated
3 tablespoons of vegetable oil
3 teaspoons of baking powder
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of salt

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, rolled oats, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and sugar.
2. Create a well in the dry ingredients and add the banana, egg yolks, milk and oil.
3. Mix everything gently until a wet batter forms.
4. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites until they form soft peaks.
5. Fold the egg whites and blueberries into the muffin batter until everything is mixed evenly.
6. Divide the muffin mix into individual paper cases and place in an oven for
25 minutes at 400°F.

The muffins should be fine to eat for 4–5 days and can easily be frozen in zip lock bags.

Makes 12 muffins

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mona said, on March 22, 2010 at 12:44 PM

    They look so good!

  2. Tracey Rossignol said, on August 20, 2010 at 1:27 PM

    I just made these – well almost these. I had to substitute fresh cherries as I didn’t have any blueberries. They turned out great. Even with my toddler “helping”.

    • Saveur said, on August 20, 2010 at 2:24 PM

      A cherry version sounds like a wonderful variation. I am so glad to hear everyone helped to make them.. and eat them, too! :)

  3. [...] Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 16, 2010 Rolled oats are no stranger to the breakfast table and oatmeal is a regular standby in my morning routine. After the [...]

  4. [...] Pie Oatmeal Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 30, 2010 Oftentimes, my breakfast and dessert could be the same dish. I never really thought I had sweet breakfasts, but I definitely [...]

  5. Michelle said, on August 25, 2013 at 2:34 PM

    I don’t have while wheat flour on hand…can I just use more white flour?


What do you think?

