the taste space

Peanut Butter Hummus

Posted in Appetizers, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on February 27, 2010

Hummus is a popular Middle Eastern chickpea spread. I know everyone has their own favourite hummus recipe and this is mine, which is probably not that authentic but still super tasty. I initially gravitated to this recipe during my university days as it was a quick and easy recipe (just whiz everything in a blender and enjoy!) and comparatively cheap and healthy.  I didn’t have tahini (a common sesame paste used in hummus), though, but peanut butter was easy to find. Now that I have tahini, I still prefer this variation as it is smooth with  a subtle peanut taste, but not too spicy.

It is perfect to use as a dip for chopped veggies, crackers, pita bread, or as a spread on a sandwich with tomatoes, lettuce, sprouts, red peppers, etc.

I found this recipe in a super little cookbook all about beans, More Easy Beans by Trish Ross, and this is my submission to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, created by The Well-Seasoned Cook and to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Peanut Butter Hummus

1 19-oz can chickpeas
2 tbsp water
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup peanut butter
3 tbsp chopped parsley (I omit this but is a good pair whenever you use garlic)
2 cloves garlic, minced (3 if you like it more garlicky/hot)
1 bay leaf, crushed
1/2 tsp salt

1. Blend all ingredients in a blender.

Makes 2.5 cups and lasts about a week.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rachel said, on February 27, 2010 at 8:59 PM

    Thanks for submitting this recipe to My Legume Love Affair #20. I have never liked the taste of tahini myself, so always leave it out of my hummus, but I do have to try this peanut butter variation.

  2. [...] was almost worried I didn’t like tahini. I adore hummus, but usually make it without tahini. You might not believe it, but I try not to have too many wacky ingredients in my cupboard. I try [...]

  3. [...] for the mango nectar which was just as good) and my staple hummus recipe from my university days: peanut butter hummus (no tahini or sesame oil needed!). They were all well received, thank [...]

  4. [...] leaves of Romaine lettuce (or Swiss chard, collards, etc) 1/4 cup hummus (your favourite) sprinkle of flax seeds handful of raw almonds handful of [...]

  5. [...] else. Sometimes, it will taste the same. We repeatedly return to our favourite hummus recipe (this one, too) because it is so reliable. But in the flash of a pan, a dish can taste [...]

  6. [...] few years ago, I wouldn’t add any chiles to my cooking.  Three (raw) cloves of garlic were pushing my boundaries in hummus. Raw green onions were spicy enough for [...]

  7. [...] touch of sage complements the flavours surprisingly well and makes a wicked spread. No stranger to peanut butter in hummus, I bet black eyed peas could also be substituted 1:1 with chickpeas in traditional hummus. I found [...]

  8. [...] I have made hummuses (hummi? hummus?) with edamame and white beans instead of chickpeas, with peanut butter and cashews instead of tahini, and even a dessert option with peanut butter and chocolate! I have [...]


What do you think?

