the taste space

Wheat Berry Salad with Almonds and Spinach in a Citrus Dressing

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on March 7, 2010

One of the best compliments of someone’s cooking is when others use your recipe regularly. Many people may ask for a recipe, but they may not venture to make it. It likely gets added to the ever-growing list of recipes to your ‘to-try’ file (and oh, am I guilty of that!). The biggest compliment is when a great cook adds your dish into their repertoire… especially when that fabulous cook is your mom, who can do no foul in the kitchen.

This is one of those dishes that my mom has lifted from my files and I figured it was about time I shared it with everyone else. I have already professed my love for wheat berries, the nutty, chewy kernels of wheat and this was the recipe that got me hooked. Wheat berries are combined with a sweet citrus dressing, paired with some greens (mixed, spinach, watercress, whatever!) and crunchy nuts. This makes a light yet filling salad, perfect all year round.  I adapted this recipe from Raising the Salad Bar by Catherine Walthers.

Now a diversion regarding food photography: I attended a talk by food photographer Robert Wigington through the Toronto Camera Club last week. Granted food bloggers are very generous with their tips on how to get that perfect photo, and some have photographed their own cookbooks, but I get curious how the professionals do it.  I actually eat the food I feature in my photos, and try not to let the food get too cold. Robert has shot food photos for numerous cookbooks, magazines as well as for companies like President’s Choice. I liked how he highlighted the importance of the food stylist, who makes and styles the food.. But not necessarily with the real recipe – a roast turkey would be cooked for 20 minutes, not hours! He rarely eats the food, probably because it isn’t real!  While shooting a shot of a pizza slice with dripping melted cheese, he could go through 10 pizzas over a morning of photographing, just to get that perfect shot.

My favourite tip from the night, though, was how he loved reflections to convey whether a dish was moist or juicy. Usually I try to eliminate odd shadows or reflections, but I think these shots show how the reflections from the dressing work well with the first photo. The second one, below, doesn’t look as appealing and I blame it on the lack of shine.

I am submitting this for to this week’s Healthy Vegan Friday, this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Susan from The Well-Seasoned Cook.

Wheat Berry Salad with Almonds and Spinach in a Citrus Dressing

1 cup wheat berries, rinsed
2 cups baby spinach/mixed greens/watercress, washed and dried
1 large carrot, peeled and grated
1/2 cup dried cranberries, roughly chopped
Grated zest of 1 orange
Grated zest of 1 lime or lemon
1 cup almonds/pistachios/walnuts, toasted and chopped

Juice of 1 orange
Juice of 1 lemon or lime
1 tbsp minced shallot or green onion
2 tsp maple syrup
3 tbsp olive oil
1/4 tsp salt

1. Add the wheat berries to a large saucepan filled with enough salted water to cover them by several inches. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer, partially cover and cook the wheat berries until they are plump and tender, about 75-90 minutes. Test as you cook; cooked wheat berries are still somewhat chewy. Drain and set aside to cool completely.

2. Add the spinach to the wheat berries, along with the carrot, cranberries and citrus zests.

3. To make the dressing, in a small bowl, whisk together all of the dressing ingredients. Just before serving, combine dressing with the wheat berries and gently mix. Garnish with toasted nuts. If you are not serving the salad the same day, store it and the dressing separately, covered, in the refrigerator.

Serves 6-8.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Susan said, on March 8, 2010 at 3:23 PM

    This salad is stunning – so colorful and healthy.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe for WHB!

  2. Lauren said, on March 8, 2010 at 7:15 PM

    This is a gorgeous salad! I haven’t had wheat berries in a while, but this post reminded me how much I love their chewy texture and stellar nutritional profile.

  3. Kevin said, on March 8, 2010 at 10:15 PM

    Nice looking salad!

  4. cahidesultan said, on March 9, 2010 at 2:19 PM

    Muhteşem gözüküyor!

  5. Joanne said, on March 9, 2010 at 10:12 PM

    They do say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery! This is a gorgeous salad. I love wheatberries as well. i can see this becoming a regular rotation in my kitchen too!

  6. mangocheeks said, on March 10, 2010 at 3:55 PM

    Your so right, it is always a huge compliment.

    Thsi salad looks really healthy a new combination for me, esp as I’ve never weaten wheatberries. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Aster said, on May 23, 2010 at 5:54 PM

    Thanks for posting this. Yesterday I was looking for a salad with spinach which is in season now and wheat berries which are just good. We took it to a party today and it was a big hit.

    Cheers.

    • Saveur said, on May 24, 2010 at 6:31 PM

      Hi Aster, I am so glad everyone liked it! It is one of my favourite salads. :)

  8. […] salad ideas, I love flipping through it. My other favourite recipes from her book include the Wheat Berry Salad with Almonds and Spinach in a Citrus Dressing and the Wild Rice and Wheat Berry Salad with Apple, Cranberries and Almonds in a Citrus […]

  9. […] of two of my favourite wheat berry salads, a bright citrus dressing pairs incredibly well with plump, nutty wheat berries. The salad […]

  10. Jennifer said, on March 13, 2013 at 9:40 AM

    Excellent idea for Wheat Berry! I need to get into Wheat Berries MORE! :)


What do you think?

