the taste space

Coconut Rice Pudding with Mango

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on May 9, 2010

While in Turkey, I had wonderful Turkish rice pudding (Sütlaç) that was silky smooth and sprinkled with cinnamon.  I never liked rice pudding as a kid (sorry Mom!) but can I blame that on my own bland taste buds as a child or the rice pudding?  My brother loved the stuff, so I don’t know.. In any case, this, my friends, is a delicious grown-up rice pudding.  I approve.

After making the Mango Sticky Rice and Mango Shrikhand, I decided that mango, coconut and cardamom work really well together, so I rearranged them a bit to make this wonderfully delicious (and easy!) coconut rice pudding that was topped with a mango puree. The coconut rice pudding was delicious on its own, with flavours bursting from the coconut and cardamom with the creamy rice speckling the pudding.  I mashed half a mango and added it on top of the pudding, which was great, but certainly do not hesitate to make this pudding without the mango. You can eat it plain or top with other fruit – banana, raspberries, kiwi, etc. The nuts are totally optional as well. I used chopped macadamia nuts but think toasted pistachios would have been better, or simply not use any nuts at all. It can be served cold or warm. Personally, I couldn’t wait long enough before diving in, so I had it warm… Eating it chilled would be just as delicious and perfect for a cool summer day.

This recipe was adapted from Closet Cooking who also has a host of other mango recipes on my to-try list!

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Marija from Palachinka.

Coconut Rice Pudding with Mango

1 14 ounce can coconut milk
1/4 cup short-grain rice (I used sushi rice, but Arborio is good too!)
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 tsp cardamom
1/2 mango (pureed or mashed)
1 tsp chopped macadamia or pistachio nuts (optional)

1. Place the coconut milk, salt, sugar and cardamom in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.
2. Once at a boil, add rice and reduce the heat and simmer for 25-35 minutes, stirring occasionally (every 5 minutes or so to prevent sticking).
3. Remove from heat and let cool.
4. Top pudding with mango puree or mix in and then garnish with chopped nuts.

Serves 2, if you have restraint. I didn’t.. it fed 1.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kevin (Closet Cooking) said, on May 12, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    You are on a mango kick! It looks great!

  2. Marija said, on May 17, 2010 at 7:40 PM

    I’ve tried a couple of Kevin’s recipes too and loved them all!

    Nice photos of this one :)

  3. Ashley said, on May 19, 2010 at 1:41 AM

    I don’t think I liked rice pudding growing up either but now I looooove it. This looks amazing! I love coconut milk in anything. Thanks for the recommendation for that orzo recipe – sounds yummy!

  4. [...] Coconut Rice Pudding with Mango [...]

  5. [...] all my favourite mango recipes from last year: Thai Sticky Rice with Mango, Mango Shrikhand and Coconut Rice Pudding with a Mango Puree.  I was brought to the tropics just thinking about [...]


What do you think?

