the taste space

Miso Glazed Black Cod

Posted in Mains (Fish) by janet @ the taste space on May 28, 2010

This is another super simple show-stopper of a dish (even simpler than the sinfully delicious mushroom bourguignon) but you need a bit of advance prep. Or in my case, the 5 day miso marinade was perfect when I spotted black cod on sale but already had my meals planned for the beginning of the week. Once you buy fish, you need to cook it soon. But you can wait a bit while it marinades in miso.

This is the popular Black Cod with Miso, made famous by Nobu.  I was excited to try it at home after I had it at an overpriced Toronto restaurant, since it was darn tasty. Incredibly tasty! Flaky, buttery, melt-in-your-mouth fish with a sweet and salty miso sauce. Absolutely heavenly. I knew I could recreate heaven in my kitchen, so off I went.

There are a few recipes for black cod with miso, but I eventually picked something that didn’t call for a pound of miso but still came courtesy of Nobu Matsuhisa. It was in Food & Wine (July 2008).

I ended up skipping the the step to grill the fish, and ended up baking the fish for around 20 minutes. The fish was really good but not as mouth-watering as what I had at the Spice Route.  I suppose that is why you pay $23 for the teeniest piece of fish. Next time, I will try to follow the recipe a bit more closely to see if that helps lock in the juices. Don’t get me wrong, it was still delicious (and pleased even fish haters), I just know it can be better. I am salivating just thinking about the next time. :)

This is my submission to Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice for Magazine Mondays.

Miso Glazed Black Cod

3 tablespoons mirin
3 tablespoons sake
1/2 cup white miso paste
1/3 cup sugar
Six 6- to 7-ounce skinless black cod fillets, about 1 1/2 inches thick

1. In a small saucepan, bring the mirin and sake to a boil. Whisk in the miso until dissolved. Add the sugar and cook over moderate heat, whisking, just until dissolved. Transfer the marinade to a large baking dish and let cool. Add the fish and turn to coat. Cover and refrigerate overnight for up to 5 days.

2. Preheat the oven to 400°. Heat a grill pan and oil it. Scrape the marinade off the fish. Add the fish and cook over high heat until browned, about 2 minutes (I didn’t do this step). Flip the fish onto a heavy rimmed baking sheet and roast for 10 minutes, until flaky. Transfer to plates and serve with pickled ginger.

Serves 6.

Tagged with: , , , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. tasteofbeirut said, on May 28, 2010 at 10:12 PM

    You have tweaked my curiosity ! I really feel like I must taste this now!

  2. Joanne said, on May 30, 2010 at 7:22 AM

    Buying fish always makes me so anxious because I know I have to use it within a day or so! I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way.

    This miso marinade sounds delicious. I love the flavor of miso…such umami-infused goodness!

  3. Soma said, on May 31, 2010 at 5:37 PM

    I have never cooked cod. But seeing this, i think i need to get over my fear of trying our fishes i haven’t.

  4. Ivonne said, on June 21, 2010 at 9:38 PM

    I had Black Cod at Nobu in Miami and I still remember how delicious it was. This looks gorgeous!

  5. […] Janet of The Taste Space made Blueberry Rhubarb Cranberry Crisp with Pistachio Crust from the June 1999 issue of Gourmet. Earlier, she made a Miso Glazed Black Cod from the July 2008 issue of Food & Wine. […]

  6. GIGI said, on June 24, 2010 at 11:20 PM

    Black cod is awesome!!! I always see this recipe (never had it) and wonder why people always have to put a sauce on this buttery delicious (on it’s own) fish… try just simply broiling sometime, you’ll be pleasantly surprised for sure!

    • Saveur said, on June 25, 2010 at 5:28 AM

      I will have to try that next time, Gigi. I love fish, so I am sure it will be great as well. :)

  7. Erina said, on February 19, 2011 at 7:19 PM

    Yum! Don’t you just love Black Cod?

    Here’s a recipe I recently made that was also quick and oh-so-good.

    Seared Black Cod served on Pommes Paillasson topped with Chanterelles

    http://wp.me/puWta-bO

  8. […] make baked eggplant with miso, which I adored at restos and could easily make at home. I also made miso-crusted black cod and a few other dishes which were great but then I went to Turkey… and forgot about […]


What do you think?

