the taste space

Olive Oil Granola With Dried Apricots and Pistachios

Posted in Breakfasts, Desserts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on June 11, 2010

I had been hearing great things about the olive oil granola originally posted by the New York Times, and also spotted on many other food blogs. People rave about homemade granola, and then there’s raving about granola!  Olive oil granola has a fan club!

I love eating granola with Greek yogurt and fruit for breakfast, and I am constantly trying new granola recipes. Homemade granola is great because you can modify the flavours to suit your palate. Now that I have started to dabble in Middle Eastern cuisine, do you think this could be considered a Middle Eastern-inspired granola, with its added fixins? ;) I love dried cranberries, coconut and almonds, which is why they were included in my previous granola recipes, but I rocked the boat to include Turkish dried apricots, Iranian green raisins and pistachios instead. It was delicious!

So what is so great about this olive oil granola? It achieves the perfect balance of salty and sweet. I usually don’t add so much salt to my granola, but the salty tang complemented the sweet aspects of the granola perfectly.  I also loved the flavour and textural contrasts with the plump apricots and green raisins, with the soft yet crunchy pistachios, combined with the sweet maple syrup and coconut and it was all tempered with a salty kick.

Perfect with yogurt, but also great on its own as a bit-sized snack. Your test will be when you decide to stop munching on the addictive granola!


This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Anna from Anna’s Cool Finds and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Olive Oil Granola With Dried Apricots and Pistachios

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 1/2 cups raw pistachios, hulled
1 cup unsweetened coconut
3/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar/coconut sugar (Next time, I will decrease this a bit)
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 cup dried apricots, chopped
1 cup Iranian green raisins

1. Preheat oven to 300F. In a large bowl, combine oats, pistachios, coconut, maple syrup, olive oil, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon and cardamom. Spread mixture on a rimmed baking sheet in an even layer and bake for 45 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes and then pressing down, until golden brown and well toasted.

2. Transfer granola to a large bowl and add apricots and raisins, tossing to combine. Serve with yogurt and fruit, if desired.

Makes about 9 cups.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on June 11, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    I got to try this granola and I can vouch for its amazing deliciousness!

  2. Rose said, on June 12, 2010 at 1:27 AM

    I’ve been meaning to make granola for weeks. I’m definitely making this tomorrow or Sunday. I just added your blog to my RSS feed, btw. I’ve seen so many recipes I want to try and I’ve only looked at the first page. :D

  3. ErinsFoodFiles said, on June 12, 2010 at 3:20 AM

    Oh goodness! This looks delicious! Thanks for the linkback!

  4. Joanne said, on June 13, 2010 at 7:15 AM

    This is definitely Middle Eastern inspired. And if there’s one type of food I love. It’s Middle Eastern inspired food.

    Great mix-ins! Does the flavor of the olive oil stand out?

    • Saveur said, on June 13, 2010 at 8:23 AM

      Hey Joanne, It definitely was yummy, that’s for sure. :) The olive oil flavour was subtle but still present. OI suppose it depends on the quality of your olive oil.

  5. Anna said, on June 16, 2010 at 2:48 AM

    Wonderful post! Thanks for participating!

  6. […] Oil Granola with Pistachios and Apricots (adapted from Tastespace) Print this […]

  7. […] Pie Oatmeal Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 30, 2010 Oftentimes, my breakfast and dessert could be the same dish. I never really thought I had sweet breakfasts, but I […]

  8. […] I might make something a bit more ornate in the evening and chow down the following few mornings. Granola is a prime example of this. Baked oatmeal is delicious but even stovetop oatmeal can be easily […]

  9. […] has a favourite granola recipe. Personally, I have tried many recipes, and love to try new ones for variety. Adapted  from The Stop‘s cookbook Good Food […]

  10. […] I find dried apricots more flavourful and have incorporated them into many salads, granola and energy bars. I have even added them to savoury dishes. When I do find myself with fresh […]

  11. Caroline @TheOliveOrchard said, on April 6, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Sounds and looks delicious. I will be testing versions of this recipe with various intensities of extra virgin olive oil. Likely without the coconut since I’ve never been a huge fan. My prediction is that a fresh, medium intensity EVOO will marry well with the other flavors. A light-tasting olive oil would just get lost in the mix.

    • Saveur said, on April 6, 2011 at 12:35 PM

      If you do any experimenting, definitely let me know how it turns out, Caroline. :)

  12. […] of Melissa Clark, I tweaked her Bulgur Pilaf with Dried Apricots from Cook This Now. Like my Middle Eastern-Inspired Olive Oil Granola, this bulgur salad is flavoured with cinnamon, dried apricots and pistachios. With a nod to my […]

  13. […] Low-Fat Winter Fruit Granola (my Mom’s favourite) Crunchy Coconut Macadamia Granola with Honey Olive Oil Granola with Apricots and Pistachios […]


What do you think?

