the taste space

Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal

Posted in Breakfasts by janet @ the taste space on June 13, 2010

While I love oatmeal for breakfast, granola with yogurt and fruit has usurped its position as my go-to breakfast lately. However, when I spotted rhubarb baked oatmeal at My Kitchen Addiction, I knew I had to try it.  I had no clue what baked oatmeal was, but the rhubarb drew me in.

Baked oatmeal is an kind of like a big fluffy piece of creamy oatmeal and in this case, speckled with pieces of soft rhubarb, which brought it to the next level. At the same time, sweet and savory, this breakfast is perfect for the weekend, or for a brunch, where you can pop it into the oven and serve it easily. It is relatively healthy with oats, flax and applesauce is used to replace the fat. The sugar is needed to sweeten the rhubarb in the dish and it matches flawlessly. For me, the leftovers were perfect as I ate this as a quick breakfast for the remainder of the week. Enjoy!

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Rachel at The Crispy Cook.

Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal

1 cup milk
1/2 cup applesauce (I microwaved a peeled, chopped apple with some water on high for ~8 minutes until it was mushy = easy, simple applesauce!)
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup ground flaxseeds
1 cup rhubarb, diced

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Spray a small baking dish (about 8 by 8-inches) with cooking spray and set aside.

2. In a mixing bowl, combine the milk, applesauce, egg, and vanilla.  Whisk until smooth.  In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients (oats, brown sugar, and baking powder).

3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until just moistened.  Gently stir in the rhubarb.  Pour the oatmeal mixture into the prepared baking dish.

4. Bake for about 25 minutes, until set and golden on top.  Serve warm.

Serves 4-6.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jessica said, on June 14, 2010 at 1:16 AM

    I love Rhubarb! This looks absolutely fabulous!

  2. Jen @ My Kitchen Addiction said, on June 14, 2010 at 7:19 AM

    So glad you liked the rhubarb baked oatmeal! Now I’m getting hungry for it again… I’ll have to go hunt down some more rhubarb. :)

  3. Rachel said, on June 15, 2010 at 3:03 PM

    Thanks for sending this recipe over to Weekend Herb Blogging. I like the idea of making a breakfast casserole that you can keep reheating and serving for quick breakfasts through the week. Yum!

  4. Marisa said, on August 3, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    Oooh this looks good! And it needs no overnight soaking or as long a cooking time as my oats. I will definitely be trying this one out. :-)

  5. [...] While I do make some elaborate breakfasts, but if I make a lot, I want to have tasty leftovers. Baked oatmeal is great for that. Baked eggs, not so much. This is why I break out these recipes when my parents [...]

  6. [...] Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 16, 2010 Rolled oats are no stranger to the breakfast table and oatmeal is a regular standby in my morning routine. After the Nutrition [...]

  7. [...] have made baked oatmeal before (with rhubarb and apple/banana) but this one was definitely the creamiest of them all. But the great thing is [...]

  8. [...] Compote Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha Apple Pie Oatmeal Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Savoury Oatmeal with Soy Sauce and Nutritional Yeast Savoury Oatmeal with Goji Berries, Nori and [...]

  9. […] Breakfast Pudding Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookie Baked […]


What do you think?

