the taste space

Syrian Eggs Scrambled with Rhubarb (Beid Ru’and)

Posted in Breakfasts, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on July 6, 2010

People eat not only with their mouth, but also with their eyes.  If something looks hideous, will it taste any good?  Of course! I have faith in the power of the underdog, but I know that all our senses go into how food tastes. The perfect meal includes fresh, great-tasting ingredients cooked just slightly to let their colour and flavours shine through. This is coupled with the food perched in perfect balance, as the presentation and warm plate go a long way. And, obviously, the most important part of the meal is who you are sharing it with, with the fantastic flutter of your heart, while enjoying your quiet environment and quaint ambiance.

That is the perfect meal and I rarely go all out for the consumption of food. I try to master part 1 and 2, with fresh ingredients and cooking them nicely.  Sometimes I utterly fail in the presentation department and oftentimes I eat in front of my computer by myself (fail, yet again). This brings me to this dish, which I swear is utterly unphotogenic but tastes great.  I think scrambled eggs are hard to photograph on the best of days, but theses light and fluffy eggs are scrambled with allspice, which turns their typical golden yellow an unappealing brown. The rhubarb pierces through, though, as little red jewels. Topped with dried mint, this savoury dish is a feast for the tastebuds, but not a masterpiece for the eyes.

I am hoping the allure of soft rhubarb with the homeliness of allspice within fluffy eggs will entice you to try this lovely Jewish Syrian dish, courtesy of Aromas of Aleppo by Poopa Dweck. The photos are not likely to win me any new friends. :P  Due to its savoury nature, I thought this was great as a vegetarian main, but the scrambled eggs has me screaming breakfast and brunch. Another fabulous cookbook, Olive Trees and Honey, explains this breakfast or lunch meal is typically served alone, with toast or rice, along with Syrian white cheese and apricot jam. Enjoy!

This is the last of my savoury rhubarb recipes (my others were tofu in a zesty rhubarb sauce, a lentil and rhubarb stew with Indian spices and a raw rhubarb, cucumber and mint salad) and I was incredibly surprised at rhubarb’s versatility. I can’t wait for next year’s crop to provide me with more inspiration. This is my submission to this month’s Breakfast Club featuring eggs.

Syrian Eggs Scrambled with Rhubarb (Beid Ru’and)

1 garlic clove, finely chopped (~1/2 tsp)
1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 pound rhubarb, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces (~1 cup)
3 eggs, beaten
1/4-1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/2 tsp fine sea salt
1/2 tsp dried mint leaves, or to taste

1. In a medium skillet, saute the garlic in the oil over medium heat for 2 minutes, or until soft. Add the rhubarb and cover. Reduce the heat to low and cook for 10-15 minutes, or until the rhubarb is soft.

2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the eggs, allspice and salt. Stir.

3. Uncover the skillet, raise the heat to medium and pour the eggs into the rhubarb mixture. Stir with a large spoon for 2-3 minutes, or until the eggs are set. Before serving, sprinkle with mint over the eggs. Serve with a piece of toasted bread.

Serves 1-2.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on July 7, 2010 at 7:46 AM

    Wow! You seem sad that you had to eat by yourself. Is that an invitation for me dinner over for dinner?

  2. Sarah said, on July 8, 2010 at 2:27 AM

    Wow, what an interesting recipe! I think I can still get hold of some rhubarb to try it.

  3. Helen (Fuss Free Flavours) said, on July 8, 2010 at 4:00 AM

    I cannot imagine how it tastes and how the eggs and rhubarb go together. I do love Middle Easten food so imagine I would like it.

    I think I need to get some rhubarb and have a go.

    Thanks for taking part in Breakfast Club!

  4. [...] from the taste space made Syrian Eggs Scrambled with Rhubarb. I had no idea rhubarb was an ingredient in Syrian cooking, though not knowing much about Syrian [...]


What do you think?

