the taste space

Peanutty Energy Bars

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on July 30, 2010


So how many food bloggers find recipes in cookbooks and then google to see if someone has already typed up the recipe? Me me me! That’s one thing I love about old or popular cookbooks because you can usually already find the recipes online without typing them all out. Imagine my surprise when I was googling for “Peanutty Energy Bars” from Nancy Clark’s Sports Nutrition Guidebook and I found them posted on Epicurious! With some great reviews, to boot!

Epicurious explains that these bars won a prize at the 2001 Plains Peanut Festival Recipe Contest and I must admit that part of the draw to these energy bars were the peanuts. I had a flop of a peanut butter granola last week, so I was looking for some peanut power redemption.

These were good, almost akin to a filling, complex rice krispie square with the puffed rice, oats, peanut butter and the added fixins like peanuts and dates. It is incredibly adaptable, switching the nuts, dried fruit and nut butters. They packed well with my on my cycling trip but I found the bars to be a bit big, so next time I will cut them into smaller pieces.

The bars were great to make in the summer as they are no bake, just a nuke in the microwave, but a bit tricky to mix together because you have to work fast before the warmed liquids cool. Quite a bit didn’t mix together for me (=leftover breakfast granola) but the stuff that stayed together was yummy. Other than working fast, it also helps to use a huge microwave safe bowl for your liquids.  Adding the dry ingredients to the wet facilitates easier mixing.

Other energy bars on my hit-list to try:

Homemade Cliff Bars by Enlightened Cooking
Chocolate Brownie Power Bars by Enlightened Cooking
Easy Whole Grain, Fruit & Nut Energy Bars by Enlightened Cooking
Fruit, Seed and Nut Power Bars by Enlightened Cooking
Paley’s Energy Bars by Runner’s World
Banana Bread Larabars by Oh She Glows
PB&J Larabars by Teens Eat
Apricot-Oatmeal Bars by Eating Well


This is my submission to this month’s Microwave Easy Cooking featuring Favourites, 365 Days of Microwave Cooking and to Cookbook Sundays.

Peanutty Energy Bars

1/2 cup salted dry-roasted peanuts
1/2 cup roasted sunflower seed kernels, or use more peanuts or other nuts (I used peanuts)
1/2 cup raisins or other dried fruit (I used dates)
2 cups uncooked oatmeal, old-fashioned or instant
2 cups toasted rice cereal, such as Rice Krispies
1/2 cup peanut butter, crunchy or creamy
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup light corn syrup or honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
Optional: 1/4 cup toasted wheat germ or ground flax seeds preparation (I used wheat germ for some added nutrition)

1. Mix together the first six ingredients in a medium bowl. Set aside.

2. Combine peanut butter, brown sugar and corn syrup in a large microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 2 minutes. Add vanilla and stir until blended.

3. Moving quickly, add dry ingredients from medium bowl. Stir until coated. Spoon mixture into an 8-inch square pan coated with non-stick spray. Press down firmly (it helps to spray fingers with nonstick spray). Let stand about 1 hour. Cut into bars.

Makes 16+ bars

Per serving (with my substitutions): 212 calories, 28 g carbohydrate, 6 g protein, 9 g fat, 41 mg sodium, 215 mg potassium

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priti said, on July 30, 2010 at 9:17 AM

    Looks yum and delicious…..

  2. Srivalli said, on July 30, 2010 at 11:41 AM

    Wow what a beautiful plate that is!..thanks for the lovely entry and I enjoyed going through your blog..thanks for leading me here..:)

  3. Laura said, on July 30, 2010 at 11:50 AM

    These look great — love the idea of including rice cereal to lighten things up and add variety to the texture. I may try this with almonds and almond butter…

  4. [...] nothing better than finding a recipe you're looking for already typed up on someone's blog. Especially if they're for tasty homemade energy bars. [The [...]

  5. Brenda said, on August 1, 2010 at 2:29 PM

    These look delicious and I love the healthy ingredients. Bonus! Thank you so much for participating in my Cookbook Sundays. Enjoy the rest of this gorgeous day!

  6. Cynthia said, on August 1, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    Wow these look so good! I’m actually trying out a recipe for homemade chewy granola bars today but perhaps this will be next if all goes well! :)

  7. [...] Despite peddling over 4000-km on my bike this year, I guess I don’t exercise enough to get bored of the high energy snacks. Oats and dates have played prominent roles in many of the snacks, but I [...]

  8. [...] Brownie Power Nibbles Cocoa Mint Nibbles Maca Chip Energy Balls Carob Blueberry Energy Bars Peanutty Energy Bars Paley’s Energy Bars Blueberry Oat Bars Fruit, Nut and Seed Power Bars Cacao-Cacao Chip [...]

  9. [...] Comparing this to my previous Peanutty Energy Bars, this version has a better carbs:protein ratio (3:1) and 1/4 recipe has 157 calories, 15g carbs, 6g [...]

  10. 15 Easy Meals to Boost your Energy said, on January 27, 2014 at 1:50 PM

    […] Recipe and Photo credit to tastespace.wordpress.com […]


What do you think?

