the taste space

Maple Pecan Muffins

Posted in Breakfasts by Janet M on August 7, 2010


Not all muffins are created equal.

I was salivating when I spotted these muffins at Eat Me, Delicious: maple, pecans and Ashley declared: “[These] are my new favourite healthy-ish muffins, and possibly my new favourite muffins period. I adore them.”   I made them, hoping to bring them as a dessert with ample leftovers for a friend who had just had a baby.  I, obviously, didn’t read the next part where Ashely commented that these were dry like cornbread. I think the tip-off that these were not suitable for dessert was when Ashley said they were healthy muffins.  Thankfully I ate one before I brought them over to my friend’s house, as these are not dessert muffins. They are healthy breakfast muffins.

Not too sweet, despite a half-cup of maple syrup, but crumbly and dry, likely from the half-cup of wheat germ and whole-wheat flour, these muffins are packed with a lot of good nutrients, but the texture was off for me. I’d prefer something a bit more moist and sweet. Granted, once I accepted their fate as breakfast muffins, ate them with a big glass of milk, they grew on me and I slowly appreciated their beauty.

And then I had to whip up another portable dessert for the new mommy.


This is my submission to this month’s Breakfast Club, featuring muffins, and to Blog Bites #6, potluck-style, hosted by One Hot Stove.

Maple Pecan Muffins

1 cup pecans, chopped
2 cups whole wheat flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup vegetable oil

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prepare muffin tray with 12 muffin wrappers.

2. Mix together the pecans, flour, salt, wheat germ and baking powder. In another bowl, whisk together milk, egg, maple syrup, oil and vanilla.

3. Pour the liquids into the dry mixture. Gently fold to mix. The batter can have some lumps. Do not overmix because these muffins can get tough. Spoon batter into muffin cups.

4. Bake for about 15-20 minutes until tester comes clean. The nut topping turns golden, but the muffins will be somewhat pale. Remove muffins to a cooling rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on August 7, 2010 at 7:42 AM

    I’m so glad you posted about these even though you weren’t completely enamored! It always makes me happy when bloggers are honest and don’t try to sugar coat. They certainly look and sound tasty for breakfast and not dessert!

  2. Ashley said, on August 7, 2010 at 12:02 PM

    Aw I’m sorry these didn’t turn out as you’d hoped! They are, as you said, definitely of the healthy muffin variety. And I like muffins that are dry and crumbly like this, but I know not everybody does. At least half, if not more, of the muffins on my blog are healthy and there are lots of healthy muffins on my blog that are more moist (like these 2: http://www.eatmedelicious.com/2010/04/spiced-carrot-muffins.html and http://www.eatmedelicious.com/2009/09/banana-peanut-butter-oatmeal-muffins.html). But I wouldn’t recommend any healthy muffin for dessert! Better to go for the cupcake hiding as a muffin like these orange cream cheese ones (http://www.eatmedelicious.com/2009/04/orange-cream-cheese-muffins-with-pepita.html). :) Perhaps I should make it more clear in my posts which muffins are good for breakfast and which are good for dessert/sharing!

    • Saveur said, on August 7, 2010 at 12:16 PM

      Hey Ashley, Thanks for the suggestions. I notice you love scones, too, which tend to be more on the drier side, as well. I find it hard to be smitten by scones, but your scones posts always tempt me too! :)

      • Ashley said, on August 9, 2010 at 5:54 PM

        Haha yes I do indeed love scones. Feel free to email me or comment and ask about any muffins/scones (or anything) on my blog if you want to know if it’s of the healthier variety or crumbly or moist or whatever so hopefully you will bake up something you love from my blog next time. :)

  3. Helen @ Fuss Free Flavours said, on August 7, 2010 at 3:20 PM

    I think that grating an apple in or adding apple puree could make them far more moist. How about apple and carrot puree? Or juicer pulp?

    Thanks for taking part in breakfast club, check back for the round up and next month’s theme.

    • Saveur said, on August 8, 2010 at 6:58 AM

      That sounds like a great idea, Helen – and it would be a healthy way to add it in. :)

  4. Nupur said, on August 9, 2010 at 7:25 AM

    Your pictures are drop dead gorgeous- thanks for the entry!

  5. [...] from Taste Space sent in some Maple Pecan Muffins that initially she was unsure about, as they are packed with healthy wheat germ and use brown flour [...]

  6. Helen @ Fuss Free Flavours said, on September 27, 2010 at 4:52 AM

    Finally the round up for Breakfast Club Muffins is up!

    http://fussfreeflavours.com/2010/09/breakfast-club-3-muffins-the-round-up/

    Thanks for taking part and we’d love to see you next month!


What do you think?

