the taste space

Walnut, Cranberry and Cinnamon Rugelach Pinwheels

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on August 12, 2010

When I cook, I mostly take the easy route. I don’t consider my recipes to be that challenging. Once you have the ingredients, and possibly a few kitchen utensils (big and small), you are good to go! But sometimes, I get this inkling to try something beyond the easy. I could make traditional rugelach, a Jewish pastry with a cream cheese dough in the shape of a crescent, filled with nuts, raisins and apricot jam. Or I could make rugelach PINWHEELS filled walnuts, dried cranberries and cinnamon. Forget the crescents, the pinwheels had me smitten when I spotted them at Smitten Kitchen and Technicolor Kitchen. OK, OK. In truth, my (new) sister-in-law (back when I made this she was still my brother’s fiancee) makes fabulous traditional rugelach, so I knew I couldn’t compete – and I didn’t want to – so I wanted to try something different with my favourite ingredients (cranberries and cinnamon).

So I combined both recipes into something I could work well with, using an egg to help stick the final topping. The dough was easy to put together and easy to roll. And easy to spread the filling onto it. And even easy to roll it up. But cutting it became trickier. Maybe there is a reason people normally make crescents for rugelach. :P I kept trying to figure out how to keep everything together.  In the end, I could cobble them together and they baked up nicely. When I baked them on their flat side, not standing perched up. A few of the soldiers fell over in the oven. More than a few. ;)

The verdict? My mom raved about them. My grandmother raved more about the World Peace Cookies (and I side with her; it is hard to compete with cookies so good they invoke world peace!). For me, they were not as tasty as I had hoped, after fiddling with the pinwheels for an evening. I like the soft centre from traditional rugelach and the thin pinwheel makes it more crisp. I think I like my sister-in-law’s traditional rugelach better… thank goodness she is a part of the family now. :)


This is my submission to this week’s BSI, featuring flour, and to Blog Bites #6, potluck-style, hosted by One Hot Stove.

Walnut, Cranberry and Cinnamon Rugelach Pinwheels

Dough
1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, room temperature
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 cups sifted bleached all-purpose flour

Filling
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed light-brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 cup dried cranberries, chopped
1 cup finely chopped walnuts
1/2 cup apricot preserves, heated and cooled slightly

Topping
1 egg, beaten
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1. Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment or a hand mixer, combine the butter and cream cheese and beat on medium speed until the mixture is light, fluffy and has increased in volume, 5-8 minutes. On slow speed, add the dry ingredients and beat until the dough is thoroughly combined. Set the mixer on medium speed and beat the dough for 15 seconds.

2. Using a rubber spatula, scrape the dough onto a piece of plastic wrap. Wrap the dough tightly and press it down until it is 2.5 cm (1 in) thick. Refrigerate the dough at least 2 hours or overnight.

3. Meanwhile, make filling. In a medium bowl, mix together granulated and brown sugar, cinnamon, cranberries, and walnuts; set aside.

4. On a lightly floured surface, roll out 1 piece of dough into a rectangle about 1/8-inch thick. Spread a thin layer of preserves over dough; sprinkle with filling mixture. Roll dough into a log beginning with one of the long sides; wrap in plastic wrap. Transfer dough log baking sheet. Repeat process with remaining piece of dough. Place dough logs in refrigerator; let chill at least 1 hour.

5. Preheat oven to 350F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside. Mix together the cinnamon and sugar for the topping; set aside. Baste log with egg mixture (this will make it sticky).

6. Slice chilled dough logs crosswise, about 1/4 inch thick. Toss each cookie in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place cookies 3 inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake until lightly browned, 18 to 20 minutes. Lift parchment paper from baking sheets and transfer to a wire cooling rack; let cool.

Makes 50 cookies.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Faith said, on August 12, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    Thanks so much for the sweet comment you left on my blog! These look delicious! I love cranberries and cinnamon together — every Thanksgiving I make cranberry chutney and my secret ingredient is cinnamon. These cookies sound wonderful!

  2. Joanne said, on August 12, 2010 at 11:23 PM

    Aww very sweet to give a shout out to your SIL’s cooking/baking! I loved the rugelach I made back in January and I think your pinwheel idea is super cute! The filling sounds lovely.

  3. daphne said, on August 13, 2010 at 6:03 AM

    What gorgeous looking pinwheels!!! I love what u have done with cranberries, walnuts and cream cheese- yummy!!!
    Thank u for dropping by my blog! I think yours is gorgeous!

  4. fattydumpling said, on August 13, 2010 at 11:39 AM

    These look so delicious, the sound of pastry with walnuts and cinnamon is good. I’d like to try out both the traditional soft-centred and crispy rugelaches.

  5. [...] Taste Space submitted these Walnut, Cranberry and Cinnamon Rugelach Pinwheels.  If you’re not familiar with rugelach, they are a traditional Jewish cookie that are [...]

  6. [...] baking yet. I made the Key Lime Meltaways last year for Christmas. It took me nearly a year to post all my cookies from my holiday baking escapades, and one vegan cookie that wasn’t worthy of being [...]


What do you think?

