the taste space

Maple-Chili Grilled Tofu with Blueberry-Peach Salsa

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Sides by janet @ the taste space on August 16, 2010


During the summer, grocery stores overflow with local ripe fruit and vegetables. It would be a shame not to catch some fresh Niagara peaches, fresh vine-ripened tomatoes, or cash in on cheap, overflowing zucchini during their seasonal peak. There is nothing better than fresh produce.

Right now, peaches from Niagara are tricking into stores. They arrived earlier than previous years due to the hot weather, and I am embracing their early arrival.  Sweet, juicy peaches are incredible but sadly don’t last very long. Last summer, I made a succulent peach tea cake, when I bought a few 3L containers of peaches. I have restrained myself so far, and only bought a handful of peaches. But I did buy a big clamshell of blueberries, so expect to see a few more blueberry dishes here.

I spotted a lovely summer savoury dish on Fat Free Vegan, with maple-chili grilled tofu steaks with a blueberry-peach salsa. I adapted the recipe to suit my own tastes, substituting Aleppo chili flakes for the heat, increasing the peach to blueberry ratio, and swapping lime juice for the lemon juice (I am slowing going through the 18 limes I picked up for $1 at Bestwin). I also don’t like parsley so I used mint instead, which was a great choice.

The salsa was the highlight of the dish: peaches and blueberries work surprisingly well together, especially when mixed in a slightly spicy and sweet-tart dressing.  The maple-chili tofu was good, too, but can’t compete with the perfect allspice-marinated tofu in my tofu in a zesty rhubarb sauce. I don’t think the salsa would mix well though with that tofu, unfortunately, so this is the next best thing. :)

This is a wonderful way to play with the flavours of the summer. Enjoy!


This is my submission to Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge featuring mint, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend, and to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Simona at Briciole.

Maple-Chili Grilled Tofu with Blueberry-Peach Salsa

14 ounces extra-firm tofu
1 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tbsp lime (or lemon) juice, freshly squeezed
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes (oops, I forgot this)

2 tbsp fresh lime (or lemon) juice
2 tbsp chopped fresh mint
1/2 tsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1/4 cup diced red bell pepper
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
2 peaches, still slightly firm – not too ripe

1. Place tofu on a slanted cutting board and lay a plate with a light weight ontop to press while you prepare the marinade.

2. Combine soy sauce, 1 tbsp maple syrup, 1 tbsp lime juice and 1/4 tsp chili flakes  in a large ziplock bag or bowl.

3. Cut the tofu into 8 slices about 1/2-inch thick.  Place them in the marinade, turning so that both sides of slices are coated with the mixture.  Refrigerate for at least an hour, turning halfway through.

4. Combine 2 tbsp lime juice, mint, 1/2 tsp maple syrup, salt, 1/4 tsp chili flakes, red pepper, and red onion in a medium-sized bowl and set aside.  Put blueberries in food processor. Pulse 4-5 times until berries are coarsely chopped. (Some berries will remain whole; do not over-chop.) Cut peaches into 1/2-inch cubes. Combine berries and peach with the red pepper-lime mixture. Mix well, cover, and refrigerate until ready to serve.

5. Heat a barbecue grill, electric grill, or non-stick skillet; spray lightly with non-stick spray if necessary.  Cook on each side until light brown.  Serve with the blueberry-peach salsa on the side.

Serves 4.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on August 16, 2010 at 8:53 AM

    This sounds absolutely divine! And with the small amount of maple syrup, I bet I could even have this on the ACD–whoo hoo! Love, love, LOVE the combination of peach and mint. This is a total winner. Thanks for submitting it to the SOS Challenge!

  2. Priya (Yallapantula) Mitharwal said, on August 16, 2010 at 12:30 PM

    wow, that is a delicious and colorful presentation. Mouth watering :)

  3. Richard said, on August 16, 2010 at 4:51 PM

    Awesome combination and great picture.

    We would love to feature the recipe on our site: http://www.maplesyrupworld.com/.

    Give us a shout!

    Richard

  4. Simona said, on August 23, 2010 at 2:26 AM

    Your salsa sounds really divine and based on the photo, I am sure I’d be happy to clean the plate. Thanks!

  5. […] sour, spicy and bitter is making more and more sense. It has been a winning combo for my recent dishes, including the winning […]

  6. […] Peaches and blueberries are a wonderful combination, which I learned after maknig the delicious peach and blueberry salsa earlier this month. But what’s with this browned butter? I’ve never used it before but […]

  7. Hannah said, on September 4, 2010 at 1:04 AM

    Oh my heavens, I’ve never seen a tofu dish as visually gorgeous as this one! I’ve just bookmarked it, so that I can come back when Australia hits summer and I can access the ripe fruits necessary for this dish…

  8. […] Taste Space: Maple Chili Grilled Tofu with Blueberry Peach Salsa: […]

  9. Jenn@slim-shoppin said, on November 8, 2010 at 3:11 PM

    I still haven’t tried tofu at home!

    I’ve had it prepared fantastically at Ben Pao in Chicago, but have yet to try this at home. I love the combination of flavors you used!

    Great BSI entry!

  10. […] crumbles, and an utterly delicious peach tea cake. Peach is also wonderful in a salsa, and I have paired it with a maple-chili grilled tofu […]

  11. […] with tofu that often, and if I do, it is usually incorporated into my meal. I’ve made a few stand-alone tofu recipes, and that was even before I went vegan. […]


What do you think?

