the taste space

Blueberry-Oat Bars

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on August 23, 2010


I almost didn’t take photos of this dish.

But not because the bars weren’t photogenic.

They just didn’t have the substance to back up their looks.

To be honest, I was a bit disappointed with the first few bars I tried. The bars weren’t really sweet at all and the filling had that cornstarch feel to it. I didn’t think it was fit for dessert. Adapted from Fat Free Vegan, these blueberry oat bars boasted no refined flour, no white sugar, no added fat, no soy, and no gluten. Another healthy recipe that fools you, I thought. The decreased sweetness was partly my fault, though, as I substituted brown sugar for agave nectar in a 1:1 ratio without modifying the liquid content, which is a no-no. Who knew agave nectar was 1/3 more sweet than brown sugar? I digress…

Then I wrapped one up and brought it with me on my long bicycle rides. And this is where the bar shined. It travelled well, in spite of the gooey centre, and its lack of sweetness was perfect. I am figuring out what I like to eat pre-, post- and during exercise, and I am definitely shunning sweet, dry and heavy dishes. These bars were perfect specifically because they were not that sweet, they were very moist and they were filled with carbs (only 1g of fat per serving).

I had already eaten 2/3rds of the bars before I decided to snap some photos. Thank goodness I still had some left! :D

This is my submission to this month’s Tea Time Treats and this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Astrid from Paulchen’s Foodblog.

Blueberry-Oat Bars

2 cups blueberries
1/4 cup agave nectar or honey (I used brown sugar)
1/4 cup orange juice
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons cornstarch mixed with enough water or juice to form a smooth paste (I would decrease this next time, and not use a lot of water!)

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (6 ounces) unsweetened apple sauce (I used sweetened)
6 tablespoons (3/8 cup) agave nectar or honey (I used brown sugar)
6 tablespoons (3/8 cup) water
1 teaspoon vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Oil an 8×8-inch baking dish.

2. In a small saucepan, combine the blueberries, brown sugar or agave nectar, and juice. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. When it boils, stir in the vanilla and the cornstarch mixture. Continue to stir as the mixture boils and thickens. Remove from heat and set aside.

3. Put 1 1/2 cups of the oatmeal into a blender and grind it to a fine powder. Pour it into a medium-sized mixing bowl and add the remaining oatmeal, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt. Mix well. Stir in the apple sauce, brown sugar or agave nectar, water, and vanilla, and mix well.

4. Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan, smoothing well to cover the bottom of the pan. Spoon the blueberry filling over the batter, and cover the blueberries with the remaining batter.

5. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned. Allow to cool before cutting into bars.

Makes 16 bars.

Each bar: 102 calories, 21.5g carbs, 1.1g fat, 2.2g protein

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. indie.tea said, on August 23, 2010 at 7:25 AM

    They DO look delicious. I’ve found that a few of my recipes taste better the next day, or in a few hours, too. Maybe thats the case with the bars?

  2. Rob said, on August 23, 2010 at 7:26 AM

    Yay carbs!

  3. Joanne said, on August 23, 2010 at 10:36 AM

    Now that I’ll be marathon training again, I’m looking for good wholesome sources of energy to take with me on my long runs. These look perfect! i’m glad you shared them even though you weren’t thrilled at first.

  4. Treat and Trick said, on August 23, 2010 at 1:36 PM

    Hi…This is the perfect bar I’m looking for, full of health benefits…

  5. satya said, on August 23, 2010 at 4:23 PM

    blueberry oats bar looks so perfect …
    Satya
    http://www.superyummyrecipes.com

  6. CurryLeaf said, on August 25, 2010 at 4:00 AM

    Spectacular Bars.Love blueberries but they are very rare in India and cost a bomb.
    Thanks for the keeper recipe of cocoa nibbles and comments on the salad.I have just posted another Turkish soup and another one is waiting for its turn.Will mail you b4 the deadline.

    • Saveur said, on August 25, 2010 at 3:34 PM

      I am happy you liked the cocoa nibbles. I can’t wait to see what else you have lined up for AWED. :)

  7. avivafriedman said, on August 25, 2010 at 9:29 PM

    Wow! I followed you back to your blog…these recipes and the photos are gorgeous! And, noticing you’re from Toronto, you should compete in the vegan bake-off at Harbourfront in October (these are vegan I think!).

    • Saveur said, on August 25, 2010 at 9:31 PM

      Thanks for the encouragement! I have never competed in a bake-off but it could be fun. I’ll check it out, for sure. :)
      Will you be there as well? :)

      • avivafriedman said, on August 25, 2010 at 9:34 PM

        Maybe :) I might have to defend my blueberry pie champ title (though I honestly can’t say how well I’d do in a vegan bake-off)!

  8. [...] from Toronto (Canada) made some yummy looking Blueberry Oat Bars and explained that they are a perfect companion during your exercises. No excuses left [...]

  9. Johanna GGG said, on August 30, 2010 at 10:01 AM

    in the end it is the taste not the expectation but expectation is a powerful filter to our judgement – though I expect I would love these bars

    • Saveur said, on August 30, 2010 at 10:33 AM

      I completely agree, Johanna. When expectations fall flat, even if it still tastes great, you still end up disappointed. Emotions definitely play a part in taste, too.

  10. Kevin (Closet Cooking) said, on September 13, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    What a great way to enjoy some blueberries!

  11. [...] peddling over 4000-km on my bike this year, I guess I don’t exercise enough to get bored of the high energy snacks. Oats and dates have played prominent roles in many of the snacks, but I wanted [...]

  12. [...] Maca Chip Energy Balls Carob Blueberry Energy Bars Peanutty Energy Bars Paley’s Energy Bars Blueberry Oat Bars Fruit, Nut and Seed Power Bars Cacao-Cacao Chip Cookies (recipe elsewhere) Dark Chocolate Mint [...]

  13. Karen said, on September 4, 2013 at 8:38 AM

    A STUNNING entry for Tea Time Treats thanks Janet and as usual, really beautiful photos too! Karen

  14. Alison said, on September 9, 2013 at 7:41 AM

    I never thought of trying blueberries, it sounds lovely

  15. […] 3. Blueberry-Oat Bars by Janet of Taste Space – This is another iconic autumn mix of oats with blueberries, and I think these bars would be the perfect treat for a lunch box as well as afternoon tea! […]


What do you think?

