the taste space

Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding

Posted in Breakfasts, Favourites by Janet M on September 2, 2010


I am a breakfast eater.

I don’t like late brunches because I have to eat something right away in the morning. Something about hypoglycemia if I wait too long.

But there are a few times when breakfast doesn’t sit well with me.

And that’s when I am nervous.

Nervous about writing an exam that morning, or tripping on my bridesmaid dress while I help my (now) sister-in-law walk around the altar 3 times, or you know, the butterflies before cycling to/from Woodstock (a possible 300km round-trip, but we ended up taking the go-train for a portion of the trip once the total downpour started so our total was 250km). Those butterflies don’t let much sit well in my stomach even if I know this is the most important time to be eating.

But I think I have found my favourite pre-jitters breakfast: Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding.

Adapted from Diet, Dessert n Dogs, this is a healthy breakfast creamy pudding (sans creme) with oats and nuts, speckled with juicy, succulent blueberries. And it glides down so easily. A small portion is surprisingly filling and the fresh blueberries really make this a knock-out morning treat. Who says lunch and dinner should have all the fun? Bake this once and have a delicious breakfast all week. Personally, I preferred it cold, but it is also good warmed up.

Here are other variations that have sparked my interest:

Baked Apple Puddings by Have Cake, Will Travel
Baked Cherry Pie Breakfast Pudding by Oh She Glows

This is my submission to this week’s BSI featuring milk.

Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding

1/2 cup lightly toasted hazelnuts, with skin
1/2 cup lightly toasted cashews
1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant)
3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (I used sweetened applesauce and omitted the maple syrup)
2 Tbsp maple syrup
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp fine sea salt
1-1/4 cups milk (almond milk, etc if vegan)
1 pint fresh or frozen blueberries (do not thaw first if frozen)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease a 4-6 cup (1-1.5 L) casserole dish. I used an 8×8″ casserole dish as well as a larger ramekin since it didn’t all fit inside.

2. Grind nuts until finely ground in a food processor. Add in oats and blend until finely ground. Add the remainder of the ingredients except the blueberries and process until perfectly smooth and creamy, scraping the sides and bottom once to incorporate everything.

3. Pour mixture into the casserole dish, then gently fold in the blueberries (scatter a few extra blueberries over the top as they won’t sink).

4. Bake in preheated oven for 40-50 minutes until the edges begin to puff and crack and the top appears dry.  Allow to cool somewhat before serving; may be served warm or cold.  Store, covered, up to 4 days in the refrigerator.  May be frozen.

Serves 6.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on September 2, 2010 at 8:18 AM

    So glad you liked it! You’ve summed up exactly how I feel about this dish. And I’ve decided my preferred way to eat it is cold, too (which makes those quick breakfasts on the go so much more convenient!) :)

  2. sanyukta gour said, on September 2, 2010 at 4:05 PM

    thanks for the delicious entry dear…its listed on my event page below my post

  3. Melanie said, on September 2, 2010 at 10:58 PM

    I feel the same way about breakfast. Love it! If I don’t get something in my tummy within 30 minutes from when I get up, I get cranky. I always resort to oatmeal. But I’ve never tried baked oatmeal, so this one’s a definite “must try”. Thanks for sharing! : )

  4. Reshmi said, on September 3, 2010 at 1:38 PM

    Even for me oatmeal is my breakfast for most of the days but I’ve never tried for this recipe… now I’ve too..

    http://rasoithekitchen.blogspot.com/

  5. [...] Oatmeal with Cranberries Posted in Breakfasts by Saveur on September 16, 2010 Rolled oats are no stranger to the breakfast table and oatmeal is a regular standby in my morning routine. After [...]

  6. Rose said, on September 17, 2010 at 3:54 PM

    I’ve been wanting to make this ever since you posted it, but I am too lazy to wait 40-50 minutes to bake something in the mornings… I’m making this in a couple hours and it’ll be our breakfast for the weekend. So excited! :D

    • Saveur said, on September 17, 2010 at 10:08 PM

      Let me know how you like it. :) I preferred it cold, straight out of the fridge as leftovers.

      • Rose said, on September 18, 2010 at 4:47 PM

        It turned out really well, though it took about 100 minutes for it to cook in my oven (it’s older than television, unreliable, etc). I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I was surprised/delighted when I realized it was like a breakfast cake. :D I changed the ingredients a bit according to what I had on hand (almonds and walnuts instead of cashews and hazelnuts, no applesauce, and used mixed frozen berries). We both really enjoy it, and look forward to tomorrow’s leftovers… I’m already thinking of different ingredients to make with it next time.

      • Saveur said, on September 19, 2010 at 3:02 PM

        It is great because it is so adaptable with the fruit and nuts. I am happy it was tasty even though it took so long to bake. 100 minutes, oh my!

  7. [...] from Cara’s Cravings, this is a variation on the Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding I posted in September (based on Ricki’s original recipe). Back then, it was my pre-cycling [...]

  8. [...] on our bikes. Anything within 180km was fair game. We cycled from Toronto to see his parents in Woodstock and the following year, I cycled to Kitchener/Waterloo for a party. While it was fun, there was [...]

  9. […] Janet mixed up some Baked Blueberry Breakfast Oatmeal Pudding (and turns out we both prefer it cold!); […]

  10. […] Apple Banana Oatmeal Baked Pumpkin Cranberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookie Baked […]


What do you think?

