the taste space

15-Minute Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on September 9, 2010

Have you ever had this burning craving for something?

Today it was cheesecake.

I don’t know why, but I wanted cheesecake.  It was all I could think about at work.

Cheesecake.

A heavy, decadent slice of cheesecake.

I have a great no bake Toblerone cheesecake recipe that I haven’t made in years, but I didn’t have Oreo cookie crumbs nor cream at home.  Plus, I wanted one slice, not an entire cheesecake.

I contemplated making Kevin’s no bake blueberry cheesecake, which serves 2, but again I didn’t have any cream or graham cracker crumbs.

If I were to head to the grocery store to buy those items, then I may as well pop over to a restaurant and buy a slice of cheesecake.

So I looked for the next best thing: chocolate. Oozing, creamy chocolate. A molten chocolate lava cake. A cake where the outside is cake-like but you are surprised in the middle with soft, oozing chocolate.

Spotted at The Pioneer Woman, this recipe was perfect for molten chocolate cakes. After I halved the recipe, it served 2. I had all the ingredients in my pantry already.

In the time it took to preheat my oven, I had already whipped up the batter. I spread it between 2 ramekins and in 15 minutes, I had my chocolate fix! Quick, easy, decadent and now a very satisfied feeling.

This was the first time that my stomach screamed at me to finish taking my photos. Especially as I watched the ice cream melt before my eyes, amongst the warm oozing chocolate filling… Thankfully, as good as it looked, it tasted even better. I quickly snapped a few photos so I could eat this in all its warmed glory.

There was a dense chocolate cake exterior, but inside the middle was soft and silky. Thick, but decadent. Unbelievably rich and filling. As a note for next time, I used bittersweet 72% chocolate and found the cakes a bit sweet. Next time, I’ll scout out unsweetened chocolate or decrease the sugar.


This is my submission to the Chocolaty Dreams Virtual Party.

Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes

2 oz semisweet chocolate (I used 72% dark chocolate but next time will try unsweetened)
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 egg yolk, room temperature
3 tbsp flour

1. Preheat oven to 425F.

2. Coat 2 ramekins with oil and place on a cookie sheet.

3. Microwave chocolate and butter in a large bowl on high for 1 minute until the butter is melted. The chocolate won’t be melted and that is ok. Whisk the butter with the chocolate until it melts.

4. Stir in the icing sugar until well blended.

5. Whisk in the egg and egg yolk.

6. Stir in the flour.

7. Divide the batter between the ramekins.

8. Bake for 13-14 minutes until the sides are firm and the centre if soft. Let stand one minute.

9. Invert cakes on dishes and top with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream, etc.

Serves 2.

Tagged with: , , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on September 9, 2010 at 7:11 AM

    Life is good with cake for dinner :)

  2. Ricki said, on September 9, 2010 at 1:04 PM

    Okay, you are seriously killing me here. That looks AMAAAAAAY-ZING. I haven’t had lava cake in I don’t know how long, but if I ever do again, I clearly have my recipe. Dinner, dessert, breakfast–whichever!

  3. Heidi said, on September 9, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    This looks really yummy.

    Guess you could not wait for all the ice cream to melt before you gobbled it all up.

    It is not one of those super healthy recipes that you normally post. Have you fallen off some wagon lately?

  4. Adrienne said, on September 9, 2010 at 2:53 PM

    Well, I am just so obviously going to make this. I mean, I don’t really have a choice, do I :)

  5. Priya said, on September 9, 2010 at 3:10 PM

    Omg, droolworthy cake…

  6. Amy said, on September 11, 2010 at 6:52 PM

    I am baking these right now and I cannot wait to eat one. They look sooooo good! I have to get the vanilla ice cream out to soften a little.

  7. Kevin (Closet Cooking) said, on September 14, 2010 at 9:06 PM

    Those molten chocolate cakes look so good! Great shots!

  8. [...] love you‘ better than a healthy, tasty meal, right? Or is it just me? While I do enjoy desserts, I am more likely to fawn over mangoes, raspberries, pomegranate molasses, baked eggs, marinaded [...]

  9. Lea said, on December 29, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    MMMMMMMMM……
    that looks soooooo amazing, but how do we know if the inside is safe to eat? if the top is firm and all, the inside still might not be done :(
    anyway that looks awesome!!!

    • Saveur said, on December 31, 2010 at 12:45 PM

      Hey Lea, The inside is supposed to be nice and oozing with chocolate but it can be hard to tell when it is done since you can’t stick a toothpick in! Other than eating it, I don’t know how to tell either… eek! ;)

  10. The American Palate said, on May 24, 2011 at 4:25 AM

    mmmmmmm Gooogy chocolate cake! Thanks for sharing such beautiful photos and this great recipe!
    This really did take just 15 minutes from counter-oven-plate. Wish I ad some ice cream too! Would have been a killer combination Yum Yum

    Cate


What do you think?

