the taste space

Ginger-Poached Soba Noodles with Broccoli and Tofu

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by Janet M on September 10, 2010

This weekend, I might die. Hopefully, not literally. But I am nuts. I hope I can still stand on Monday.

All summer, I have been training to cycle between Ottawa and Cornwall and back again. A double imperial century, or 320km. A double metric century, 240km, if we chicken out. Either path will be difficult.

A few of my latest training runs have been cancelled due to rain, so I am hoping that the weather will be nice (no rain, no wind) this weekend. Last I checked, everything was good to go, but nothing matters except the weather on the day. Heck, on Monday it wasn’t supposed to rain either, but at 9am, after 3km, it started to rain. We took shelter for an hour to re-evaluate. It continued to rain. We watched another episode of Dexter. By this time, we decided to forego my last 120km training ride and hit the pool instead.

While loading up on carbohydrates hasn’t been proven to work as well in women, I have been scouting out high carb meals this week. Oatmeal sprinkled with pomegranate molasses, is a new favourite for breakfast. Welcoming pasta back into the mix, including this Japanese-inspired noodle dish I found at 101 Cookbooks.

It was a simple dish with subtle flavours. I thought the ginger would overpower the dish, but it blended seemlessly with the noodles and broccoli. The mint and basil worked well together with the chili flakes in this Japanese dish.

If I was truly carb-loading, I would omit the tofu (72% carbs) but I think tofu adds a certain filling factor, so I kept it in. Good thing I am a woman! ;)


This is my submission to Regional Recipes, featuring dishes from Japan, this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Susan at The Well-Seasoned Cook, to Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Abby of eat the right stuff and to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Ginger-Poached Soba Noodles with Broccoli and Tofu

4 cups dashi or vegetable broth
2 ounces (2 inches) fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced
12 ounces firm tofu, cut into small cubes
4 cups of broccoli, trimmed
6 ounces soba (2 bunches),  or noodles of your choice
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 cup fresh basil, shredded
scant 1/4 cup fresh mint, shredded
juice from half a lime
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 tsp toasted sesame oil

1. Place the broth, ginger and tofu in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. Dial down the heat, and gently simmer for ten minutes or so. Remove (just) the tofu from the pan using a slotted spoon and set aside.

2. Now add the broccolini to the simmering broth. Cook for just a minute, until bright, and remove from pan with fork.

3. Add pasta to ginger broth and cook until done, stirring regularly. Remove pasta with fork, set aside, and pour out most of the broth and all of the ginger slices.

4. Return the tofu, broccolini and noodles to the pot. Stir in the soy sauce, basil, mint, and a squeeze of lime juice. Finish with a couple pinches of crushed red pepper flakes and sesame oil. Taste and season to taste with salt, soy sauce, and perhaps a drop or two of toasted sesame oil.

Serves 4-6.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alisa said, on September 10, 2010 at 11:41 AM

    It looks delicious and I love the mix of broccoli and basil to the dish.

  2. abby said, on September 11, 2010 at 6:10 AM

    great looking dish with a really interesting mix of herbs – thanks for sharing with ppn!

    i hope the rain lets up so you can get back on track with your training :)

  3. Joanne said, on September 11, 2010 at 7:34 AM

    Oh my gosh good luck this weekend! I want to hear all about the race! I know you will rock it.

    I’m so impressed at how on top of Regional Recipes you are. I never knew that carb loading wasn’t as effective for women…heck sometimes I carb load in preparation to THINK about running. Hmmm. Maybe I should re-evaluate that idea.

    This pasta looks fantastic and i love the Japanese flavors.

  4. nandini.p said, on September 12, 2010 at 9:36 PM

    This spells healthy !. Love the flavour of ginger in it and the soba and tofu with brocolli looks so soothing… Goodluck with the race!!!.

  5. DebinHawaii said, on September 13, 2010 at 3:10 AM

    Hope the race went well! I love how fresh and delicious this looks–perfectly healthy too. Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays. ;-)

  6. Susan said, on September 13, 2010 at 9:28 AM

    I could tank up plenty on this fresh and healthy dish just to charge up for my daily run of errands. It’s a given that those who train carb load, but I would think some protein (in this case tofu) would keep feed the muscles while the carbs fuel the stamina. This, of course, coming from one who has never trained for a long-haul event.

    Thanks, Janet, for another great MLLA recipe!

  7. scrumptious said, on September 13, 2010 at 7:38 PM

    Wow, this sounds delicious, simple, flavorful, and unique! Great photos, too! This is just the kind of thing I’d love to make for a weeknight supper.

  8. polwig said, on November 4, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    Great recipe… I love the mint and Basil addition… beautiful… I hope the race went welll and you just motivated me to get off my tush so I can carb load… Love my carbs

  9. Jade C @ MySparX said, on June 11, 2013 at 4:14 AM

    This sounds great. Never thought of adding ginger to flavour the noodles, but I love the idea!! Is it a subtle flavour or does it come through quite strongly??


What do you think?

