the taste space

Apple, Pomegranate, and Arugula Salad with Apple Cider-Honey Vinaigrette

Posted in Appetizers, Salads by janet @ the taste space on September 24, 2010


I can only fight off fall so long. I have started to wear my cycling hat because it is so cold as I whisk down to work in the morning on my bike. Bestwin has butternut squash on sale for 17 cents/lb this week. Let’s ring in the fall produce!

This is another winning salad from Raising the Salad Bar by Catherine Walthers. It has so many unique salad ideas, I love flipping through it. My other favourite recipes from her book include the Wheat Berry Salad with Almonds and Spinach in a Citrus Dressing and the Wild Rice and Wheat Berry Salad with Apple, Cranberries and Almonds in a Citrus Dressing.

This salad features a crisp, sliced apple, with crunchy toasted almonds and juicy pomegranate seeds over a bed of arugula. I used baby arugula which wasn’t that peppery, but arugula would work well with the sweet apple-laced vinaigrette. Another option I might entertain next time is a pomegranate vinaigrette with pomegranate molasses, but I liked the focus on apple. Sadly, salads with dressed greens do not bode well for leftovers, so I halved the recipe to serve 2 and only dressed it before serving.


This is my submission to Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge featuring apples, to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to Jayasri for this month’s Cooking with Seeds featuring pomegranate seeds.

Apple, Pomegranate, and Arugula Salad with Apple Cider-Honey Vinaigrette

1/2 apple, thinly sliced (I used Braeburn, but any crisp apple will do)
2-3 cups baby arugula, washed and dried (or regular arugula or baby spinach)
1/8 cup pomegranate seeds
1/8 cup sliced almonds, toasted
goat cheese, crumbled (optional, I didn’t include it)

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
3/4 tsp honey (or maple syrup if vegan)
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
pinch of kosher salt

1. In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, honey, olive oil and salt. Adjust the salt and pepper.

2. Slice the apple. Toss the slices with a little of the dressing to keep them from discoloring.

3. Just before serving, toss the apples and arugula with just enough dressing to coat the leaves. Divide among two plates. Sprinkle each plate with pomegranate seeds, almonds, and crumbled goat cheese. Use the tip of your whisk to lightly drizzle with a little extra dressing if needed. Serve immediately.

Serves 2.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on September 24, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    Nom! You DO make the best salads. ;) And this is a great way for me to indulge my love affair with pomegranates, too! Thanks for another fabulous submission to the SOS Challenge this month. :)

  2. Joanne said, on September 26, 2010 at 8:55 AM

    And to think, I thought I had lucked out when I found butternut squash for 75 cents a pound. 17 is INSANE! I would have bought twenty pounds!

    This salad looks fantastic. I love the mixture of textures and flavors. You do them up so nicely.

  3. DebinHawaii said, on September 26, 2010 at 9:13 PM

    Such a bright and pretty salad and I love the crunch from the almonds and pomegranate seeds in it. Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays! ;-)

  4. Erin @ EKat's Kitchen said, on September 26, 2010 at 11:45 PM

    Wow! This looks amazing – and has some of my favorite flavors! I love salads and I love playing with (and eating!) different combinations and varieties!

    Erin

  5. […] Posted in Favourites, Salads, Sides by Saveur on September 26, 2010 This has been a week of salads – and I have more to come (I can’t wait to share my Japanese caprese […]

  6. Kim @ Affairs of Living said, on September 27, 2010 at 5:12 PM

    Oh, love this! The pomegrantate seeds add such a colorful and unexpected touch. The perfect salad for fall or winter! Thanks for another great submission. You’re amazing! xoxo Kim | http://www.affairsofliving.com

  7. Jayasri said, on November 14, 2010 at 6:34 PM

    hi
    thank you for this lovely submission very colourful looks so summery, I have never tasted Arugula so I really don’t know the taste…, Pomegranate seeds look so Gorgeous


What do you think?

