the taste space

Lemon Miso Tofu and Eggplant

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on October 16, 2010

I find most food bloggers have very positive opinions about their food. They generally always love it.

Personally, I try to share recipes that I have loved, as well as normal, and the not-as-great ones. It helps to gauge how great I think the great recipes are. I also keep a list of my favourites for easy identification. I got a bit of flack for calling my Turkish bulgur salad with pomegranate and almonds the best salad ever, but truth be told, it was also called the best salad ever from the blog that I found it on. It also deserves the title. :)


I like to try other food bloggers’ favourite recipes. A while back, Ashley listed her favourite tofu dishes, and I was eager to try her Lemon Miso Tofu and Eggplant, adapted from the Rebar cookbook. With a lemon, miso and wasabi dressing (I substituted Aleppo chili flakes), I knew it would be tasty.  The key is to press your tofu so it can absorb a lot of the marinade. As Ashley suggested, I made this with an overnight marinade for the tofu. I used the same dressing for the eggplant the following day, and in no time, it was ready to be baked for a quick meal.  I preferred the tofu with the marinade the most, but it also worked well with the eggplant. Feel free to use your favourite vegetable. A good, tasty tofu recipe.


This is my submission to Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge featuring sesame, to My Kitchen, My World, featuring Japanese dishes this month, and to Tasty Tofu Treats hosted by Seduce Your Tastebuds.

Lemon Miso Tofu and Eggplant

2 tbsp miso (I used white)
zest and juice from 1 large lemon (3 tbsp fresh lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon zest. the original recipe calls for 1 tbsp zest, though)
1/2 cup soy sauce
2 tsp sesame oil
4 tbsp maple syrup, brown sugar or agave nectar
3 tsp minced ginger
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes or 1 tbsp wasabi powder
1 block extra firm tofu, pressed and drained
2 Japanese eggplant or 1 smallish regular eggplant (mine was 1.75 lbs)

1. Press and drain the tofu. This allows the water to escape and the tofu to absorb more of the marinade. I pressed it around 20 minutes, as I prepared the marinade.

2. Meanwhile, combine miso, lemon zest, lemon juice, soy sauce, sesame oil, maple syrup, ginger, and chili flakes.

3. Next, cut pressed tofu into cubes (mine were 1/2-inch). Arrange them in a single layer in a shallow dish with sides. Pour the glaze over the tofu, toss to coat and marinate in the fridge overnight (at least an hour).

4. The next day, preheat your oven to 375F. Then, slice eggplants into 1/2″ thick coins, then quarter if using a large eggplant.  Drain the tofu and pour the marinade onto the eggplant, toss to coat and let marinate for 30 minutes.

5. Prepare a baking sheet with aluminum foil, parchment paper, etc. Drain eggplant and reserve glaze. Evenly spread out the tofu and eggplant in a single layer over two baking sheets. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the eggplant and tofu are golden and cooked through. Halfway through baking, flip the tofu and eggplant (oops, I forgot and it was ok). Serve hot and use leftover glaze for dipping.

Serves 4.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on October 16, 2010 at 7:56 PM

    I’ve actually made this dish as well–and it was delicious! I loved the marinade, too. Thanks for reminding me about it! I love your photos, too–those close-up shots of the caramelized bits of eggplant and tofu. . . mmmm! Thanks so much for submitting this to the SOS Challenge this month! :D

  2. Deepti said, on October 16, 2010 at 8:10 PM

    A nice presentation! Wonderful combination of tofu and eggplant. Bookmarked for sure.

  3. Ashley said, on October 17, 2010 at 1:54 PM

    Happy to hear you liked it! I agree that the marinade is best on the tofu and have made this recipe with double the tofu and no eggplant. I love how your eggplant looks so delicious and caramelized mmm.

  4. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ricki Heller, Ricki Heller. Ricki Heller said: Lemon Miso Tofu & Eggplant from The Taste Space Blog for the SOS Challenge this month: http://su.pr/1wqNv2 [...]

  5. Maria @ Scandifoodie said, on October 18, 2010 at 1:23 AM

    I’ve made a similar eggplant, miso and tofu dish before and it was delicious! This looks fantastic!

  6. PJ said, on October 22, 2010 at 8:11 PM

    Sounds Delish!!CLicks bring out the depth of the dish!Thanks for sending it to the event :)

  7. [...] with Roasted Garlic and Sage – Christmas Eve Borscht (or Barszcz) – Lime-Cilantro Quinoa Corn Salad – Lemon Miso Tofu and Eggplant – Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes with [...]


What do you think?

