the taste space

Paley’s Energy Bars

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on October 30, 2010

I spent the summer training for a double imperial century bike ride and have since rejuvenated my cycling energy within the past couple of weeks. You see, I finally bought a road bike. This summer, I was using a flat-bar hybrid which is a great bike, but not ideal for cycling such long distances. With my upright seating position, I often felt like I was a parachute in the wind!

They say athletes get tired of the same snacks day after day. Flavour fatigue. Despite peddling over 4000-km on my bike this year, I guess I don’t exercise enough to get bored of the high energy snacks. Oats and dates have played prominent roles in many of the snacks, but I wanted to try something different.

Adapted from Runner’s World, these energy bars are similar to other bars based with dried fruit, but instead of dates, it uses figs as the main component. Dried cranberries and raisins add extra flavour with roasted hazelnuts adding healthy fat. There is only a minimal amount of honey so these are not overtly sweet. Technically, they travelled well and kept their shape during the summer heat.

This is my submission to this month’s Virtual Party featuring snacks.

Paley’s Energy Bars

3/4 cup dried figs, stemmed and cut in half
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup hazelnuts, toasted
2 tablespoons honey (or agave nectar if vegan)
2 tablespoons oat bran

1. Place the first five ingredients in a food processor and pulse just until the batter comes together. Empty the batter onto a sheet of parchment or wax paper. Sprinkle with oat bran and press out the mixture with your hands until it is even in height all the way around, about 1/2 inch high, or roll into a log within parchment paper. Wrap tightly in plastic and let harden overnight in a cool place. Cut into bite-size pieces.

Makes 12 bars.

Each bar: 74 calories (14g carbs, 1g protein, 2g fat)

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ruchikacooks said, on October 30, 2010 at 6:58 PM

    Thats one healthy mix in that bar. Thanks for the entry Janet!

  2. divine2009 said, on October 30, 2010 at 7:30 PM

    very healthy! thanks for sharing!!

  3. rebecca said, on October 30, 2010 at 8:16 PM

    these look great and wow love the salad in the previous post thanks so much for visiting my blog Rebecca

  4. polwig said, on November 4, 2010 at 12:06 AM

    I love bars like that especially with dates… Congratulations on finishing the race… Yeah !!! When is your next one ?

    • Saveur said, on November 4, 2010 at 8:15 AM

      Thanks for your positive comment! :)
      I am tentatively committing to a longer ride in June 2011: Ottawa to Kingston, a hilly 178km each day for 2 days! Aye!

  5. Ashley said, on November 4, 2010 at 11:50 AM

    Wow good for you for completing a double imperial century bike ride!! I just bought a hybrid/commuter bike this summer because I want to get into long distance cycling. I have some issues with my knee though so I was trying not to go too hard. I really hope to do a ride like that someday!! I’m curious what your training plan was like since you said you had never done long distance cycling before? These little energy bars look so good, like a homemade Larabar and I’m sure they taste better!

  6. Joanne said, on November 5, 2010 at 6:33 AM

    congrats on your century ride chica! I didn’t realize that you were a biker. That is awesome!

    I really need to try these energy bars for some mid long run fuel. They sound delicious as well as chock full of good healthy ingredients!

    • Saveur said, on November 5, 2010 at 9:42 PM

      Thanks Joanne! While I have cycled the crazy double century, I still don’t really consider myself a true cyclist. Sometimes I wonder how long it will take for people to figure out I am an impostor. ;)

  7. [...] Janet’s Paleys-Energy bars [...]

  8. [...] Oh gosh, am I ever happy to be back at home! Thankfully I was able to enjoy the summer weather this weekend. 22°C, baby! Rob and I took advantage of the glorious weather by taking out our bikes for our first (real) bike ride of the year. I know it has only been 3 months, but I had forgotten how much I love riding my road bike. [...]

  9. [...] Nibbles Cocoa Mint Nibbles Maca Chip Energy Balls Carob Blueberry Energy Bars Peanutty Energy Bars Paley’s Energy Bars Blueberry Oat Bars Fruit, Nut and Seed Power Bars Cacao-Cacao Chip Cookies (recipe elsewhere) Dark [...]


What do you think?

