the taste space

Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal

Posted in Breakfasts by janet @ the taste space on November 22, 2010


I love bananas, but sometimes they go brown a bit faster than I’d like. That’s ok, though, because bananas are great for baking. My first instinct, is to make the gorgeous apple banana cake (the bananas entirely replace the butter and oil) or the delicious banana oatmeal chocolate cookies (no butter, no eggs, no flour and no added sugar). I have also used ripe bananas to make a super fluffy and creamy stovetop oatmeal, and I thought it would be great to turn my baking escapades towards breakfast: let’s make baked oatmeal even healthier.

Baked oatmeal is a way to get that creamy goodness of oatmeal for multiple servings. Whether you want to serve a small army or in my case, feed me all week.

You can be equally creative with baked oatmeal, adding in your own favourite fixins and flavours.

For this version (adapted from a few places), I used the bananas more as a base for the oatmeal, so that it did not need any additional fat. It made it nice and creamy with a hint of sweetness. I added in chunks of apple, and because I used Pink Lady apples, they kept their shape well. Very well. They kind of separated the creamy oatmeal. This meant my oatmeal was a bit disjointed, but I liked it! Apple butter was used for a touch of sweetness and cinnamon and nutmeg provided a savoury background. Beautiful comforting fall flavours, great as a virtual hug in the morning. Bake this once and you have breakfast for the week. :)

Because I am trying the vegan route this month, I wanted to highlight chia seeds as an egg replacer. Here, I mixed 1 tbsp of chia seeds with 3 tbsp of warm water, and set it aside to soak for 10 minutes. You get a goopy mess, but it works well. I didn’t need to crush my seeds, either.


This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging hosted by Anh from Food Lover’s Journey and to this month’s Breakfast Club for baking.

Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal

2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup wheat germ
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tbsp apple butter (or your sweetener of choice)
1 1/2 cups milk (or almond milk, etc)
2 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 tbsp chia seeds soaked in 3 tbsp water for 10 minutes (or 1 egg)
1 tsp vanilla
1 apple, chopped
1/4 cup chopped almonds

1. Combine oats, wheat germ, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside.

2. In another bowl, combine apple butter, milk, chia egg, vanilla and bananas. Combine the wet with the dry ingredients. Add chopped apple and stir to distribute.

3. Lightly spray an 8×8″ pan with cooking spray and pour in the banana-oats mixture. Bake at 375F for 15 minutes. Sprinkle almonds over top and bake for another 5 minutes. Serve warm.

Serves 4-5.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on November 22, 2010 at 7:44 AM

    My roommates and I constantly have bananas going brown and we usually store them in the freezer for future baking expeditions. I love the sound of this baked oatmeal. What a glorious thing to wake up to.

  2. Priya said, on November 22, 2010 at 4:52 PM

    Wat a healthy and complete breakfast to start a day..

  3. Priya sreeram said, on November 22, 2010 at 8:15 PM

    something differnt n delicious looking! will try this one

  4. Tammy McLeod said, on November 23, 2010 at 10:57 PM

    This looks great. I love that you put apples in it too as I have one kid who won’t do bananas.

  5. Foodies Review said, on November 25, 2010 at 11:16 PM

    That looks really delicious. I love bananas and apples, can’t wait to make this recipe.

  6. Dawn Hutchins said, on December 2, 2010 at 10:50 AM

    Loving this. I will try this for breakfast!

  7. Ashley said, on January 28, 2011 at 5:16 PM

    I eat oatmeal pretty much every morning now but have yet to try baked oatmeal! Love your healthy version of it. And I loooove chia seeds. I add 1 tbsp of it to my oats every morning.

    • Saveur said, on January 29, 2011 at 9:00 AM

      I love chia seeds with my stovetop oatmeal as well! Yum! :)

  8. [...] have made baked oatmeal before (with rhubarb and apple/banana) but this one was definitely the creamiest of them all. But the great thing is that they kept their [...]

  9. [...] I love my breakfasts to feature all kinds of fruit, I have recently been smitten by savoury oats for breakfast. Playing [...]

  10. [...] with Peach-Blueberry Vanilla Compote Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha Apple Pie Oatmeal Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Savoury Oatmeal with Soy Sauce and Nutritional Yeast Savoury Oatmeal with [...]

  11. Katie Bryson said, on May 27, 2013 at 10:42 AM

    Wow this looks gorgeous and super healthy. I love all the flavours and textures you’ve managed to pack into this hearty looking breakfast – will definitely be giving it a whirl. Thanks for sharing with Breakfast Club this month :-)

  12. HELEN said, on May 28, 2013 at 12:16 PM

    wow this sounds lovely, anything with cinnamon in is a winner for me!

  13. Fuss Free Helen said, on June 3, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    You always have the most delicious and appetising looking healthy recipes Janet! Love this one and will be trying it.

    Thanks so much for sending to Breakfast Club, next month’s challenge is open http://tangolikeraindrop.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/breakfast-club-june-high-fibre.html and the theme is high fibre

  14. […] Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Baked Pumpkin Cranberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Baked Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Pudding Apricot Oatmeal Breakfast Clafoutis Rhubarb Baked Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookie Baked Oatmeal […]


What do you think?

