the taste space

Gingerbread Pumpkin Vegan Overnight Oats

Posted in Breakfasts, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on December 19, 2010

Let me let you in on a secret. I actually haven’t done any holiday baking yet. I made the Key Lime Meltaways last year for Christmas. It took me nearly a year to post all my cookies from my holiday baking escapades, and one vegan cookie that wasn’t worthy of being posted (no one liked it!).

While I am still plotting my attack of Middle Eastern-inspired cookies for this year (feel free to recommend your favourites!), my current decadence has been over breakfast. But this decadence is guilt-free.

Adapted from Oh She Glows, this is a version of overnight oats that I have been eating for breakfast some time now. The premise of overnight oats is that you mix rolled oats with milk overnight to create a creamy pudding of sorts. I also add in chia seeds, which are tasteless but feel like small tapioca pearls after they have absorbed the milk. Chia seeds are great because they are relatively low calorie while providing a good source of omega-3s, fiber, protein and other vitamins. After a few hours, the chia seeds plump up nicely and add body to these overnight oats.

In this version, the pudding is fortified with pumpkin puree, savoury spices (cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger) and the gingerbread taste comes from blackstrap molasses. Not to be confused with typical molasses (which is what typically goes into gingerbread cookies), blackstrap molasses are more bitter, as it is derived after the third extraction of sucrose.  Therefore it is less sugary and more nutritious. It is a good source of calcium, iron, magnesium and potassium. Rolled oats, chia seeds, pumpkin, blackstrap molasses… all excellent foods and great together for a healthy breakfast treat.

This is my submission to this month’s Breakfast Club, featuring healthy breakfasts.

Gingerbread Pumpkin Vegan Overnight Oats

1/3 cup regular rolled oats
1-2 tbsp chia seeds
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg
pinch sea salt
3/4 cup milk (or almond milk, etc)
1 tbsp blackstrap molasses
1/4 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 tbsp pure maple syrup, to taste
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a medium sized bowl mix the oats, chia seeds, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Stir. Now add almond milk and whisk. Next add the molasses, pumpkin puree, maple syrup, and vanilla and whisk until fully mixed. Place in fridge for at least 1.5 hours or overnight.

Serves 2.

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Helen @ Fuss Free Flavours said, on December 19, 2010 at 7:10 AM

    That looks the perfect thing for the morning after the night before!

    Would you believe that it is nigh on impossible to buy chia seeds in the UK?

    Thanks for taking part in Breakfast Club.

    • Saveur said, on December 19, 2010 at 11:05 AM

      It is a bit difficult to find chia seeds here in Canada too. Rather it is easy to find expensive chia seeds in grocery stores, but to get the no-name generic stuff, at a more reasonable price, you have to head to the health food stores!
      I love them though.. I hope it goes more mainstream. :)

  2. Peggy said, on December 19, 2010 at 12:32 PM

    I’ve always wondered about overnight oats! If they turn out this beautifully every time I think I’m definitely going to be a fan!

  3. Priya said, on December 19, 2010 at 2:53 PM

    Extremely tempting..

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Vegan Cooking. Vegan Cooking said: Gingerbread Pumpkin Vegan Overnight Oats « the taste space – steam … http://ow.ly/1awrfa […]

  5. Ricki said, on December 19, 2010 at 6:58 PM

    Looks great! I tried the overnight oats last summer and really enjoyed them. I prefer warm breakfasts in winter–bet this would taste great that way, too!

    • Saveur said, on December 20, 2010 at 8:25 AM

      I have never thought of warming up the overnight oats.. I wonder how that would taste. Great idea, though, Ricki! :)

  6. tasteofbeirut said, on December 20, 2010 at 9:25 PM

    The concept of overnight oats is a new one to me but I would like to explore it further; I also really like all the ingredients that you have chosen here, the chia seeds are another unknown but interesting option and the mellow pumpkin, well, who does not love pumpkin! All in all, an excellent and original breakfast dish.

  7. Joanne said, on December 21, 2010 at 10:09 AM

    I haven’t started my baking either! So we’re both in the same boat :P

    These overnight oats sound fabulous! Gingerbread pumpkin…could they scream any more of the holiday spirit!

  8. […] KNOW! I would devise a new variation of everyone’s beloved overnight oats! I was very excited. Overnight oats are great, but wouldn’t they be better if they were […]

  9. Ashley said, on February 22, 2011 at 12:35 AM

    Mmm I love overnight oats, especially with chia seeds. This gingerbread pumpkin version is something I must try!

  10. […] me a while to post up my sweet treats. Last year, I posted about the Key Lime Meltaways I had made the year earlier! I suppose I like to post things in season.. and come January, cookies don’t seem so […]

  11. […] something, though. I didn’t know what. I added some blackstrap molasses to make this more gingerbread-like. I definitely preferred the sharp bite from the molasses. But as I licked my way through my […]

  12. […] 1 medium onion, finely chopped 1 can tomato paste (~1/2 cup) (optional, but I used it) 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses (substitute molasses for a sweeter taste) 1/4 cup pumpkin seed butter sweetener, to taste (Jae […]

  13. […] with my other breakfast puddings with oats and almond milk (chocolate cherry overnight oats and gingerbread pumpkin overnight oats), I knew I had to get rid of the fresh ingredients and milk. Oats need a long overnight soak, so to […]

  14. […] oats with chia seeds. I’ve shared versions with chocolate & cherries, avocado and gingerbread pumpkin, but this one was a classic vanilla-cinnamon […]

  15. […] Gingerbread Pumpkin Overnight Oats – The Taste Space […]

  16. […] Bible, to share ideas how to use blackstrap molasses. I have talked about blackstrap molasses before. With its inherent bitterness, it is also a sweetener packed with calcium, iron and potassium. You […]


What do you think?

