the taste space

Healthy Cinnamon Granola with Almonds, Cranberries and Dates

Posted in Breakfasts, Desserts by janet @ the taste space on January 22, 2011

Everyone has a favourite granola recipe. Personally, I have tried many recipes, and love to try new ones for variety. Adapted  from The Stop‘s cookbook Good Food For All, I was drawn to Joshna Maharaj‘s healthy granola recipe because it was filled with my favourite fixins – almonds, coconut, cranberries and date with less oil.  It also used a lot of wheat germ and All Bran buds.

A few years ago, I used to eat All Bran buds all the time with yogurt. It was a quick satisfying snack or dessert. I once chatted with a surgeon who was a strong proponent of All Bran buds and psyllium (the main fiber source on All Bran buds). He was a colorectal surgeon and saw people with constipation and colorectal cancer. He was adamant that we could add All-Bran buds to ANYTHING – even pizza! While I am willing to try many thing, I am not THAT adventurous. However, adding All Bran buds to granola just makes sense for a healthy, filling breakfast.

A note about this granola: it is not incredibly sweet. It does not clump well. But it is tasty and best combined with some fresh fruit and yogurt as a lovely breakfast parfait.

This is my submission to this month’s Breakfast Club, featuring breakfasts with yogurt and to this week’s BSI with yogurt.

Healthy Cinnamon Granola with Almonds, Cranberries and Dates (aka Joshna’s Granola)

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup wheat germ
1 cup All-Bran bud cereal
1/4 cup ground flax seeds
1/8 cup sesame seeds
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 large pinch salt
1 cup shredded coconut
1-1/2 cups whole almonds (or other nut, roughly chopped)
1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup warm water
2 cups dried fruit (I used a mix of dried cranberries and dates)

1. Preheat oven to 375F. In a large mixing bowl, combine oats, wheat germ, bran buds, flax seeds, sesame seeds, cinnamon, salt, coconut and nuts. In a small saucepan, mix together honey, vegetable oil, maple syrup and water and heat until mixture is almost boiling. Add to dry ingredients and mix well. Your mixture should be sticky and crumbly.

2.  Spread granola in a single layer on a parchment lined baking sheet (or 2  sheets, if necessary). Toast for about 30 minutes, stirring every few minutes so you get a nice even golden colour. You may need to toast longer.

3. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely. Crumble to create bite-sized pieces. Add dried fruit to granola and toss lightly to combine.

4. Store in an airtight container for 2 weeks. Serve with fresh fruit and yogurt.

Makes 6 cups.

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah, Maison Cupcake said, on January 22, 2011 at 7:23 PM

    I do like a bit of coconut in my granola… it’s about time I made some more.

    Thanks for taking part in this month’s Breakfast Club!

  2. Debbi Does Dinner Healthy said, on January 22, 2011 at 11:45 PM

    This sounds great! I love it in yogurt as a dessert! Thanks!

  3. biz319 said, on January 23, 2011 at 12:06 AM

    Thanks for your entry! :D I actually never thought to add coconut to granola – my daughter would love this!

  4. Joanne said, on January 23, 2011 at 8:48 AM

    I LOVE that this isn’t too sweet! This way you can eat it without feeling like you’re munching on cookie crumbles. Not that that’s bad but…when you want granola you should actually GET granola!

    We’re doing GI pathology right now. Maybe I’ll ask about all bran.

  5. [...] Taste Space made a Healthy Cinnamon Granola with Almonds, Cranberries and Dates – I love granola – can’t wait to try this [...]

  6. Maris (In Good Taste) said, on January 23, 2011 at 7:29 PM

    love homemade granola! such a great snack on top of yogurt.

  7. Soma said, on January 23, 2011 at 11:16 PM

    That would be a luxurious breakfast for me.

  8. Priya said, on January 24, 2011 at 1:18 AM

    I dont bother to start my day with this yummy granola..

  9. The Food Hunter said, on January 24, 2011 at 3:31 PM

    I’m always on the hunt for new things to do with granola…I like the cereal idea in this one.

  10. Priya Sreeram said, on January 25, 2011 at 2:56 AM

    lovely – wholesome goodness!

  11. dddtesting said, on January 26, 2011 at 8:21 PM

    I’ve never been a fan of yogurt with granola, but I do remember eating All Bran when I was younger. I always thought it was the wheat bran in it that made it good for. . . um, “regularity.” ;) The granola looks great, though! :)

  12. [...] Healthy Cinnamon Granola with Almonds, Cranberries and Dates: Taste Space [...]

  13. [...] were bought for sandwiches. Other travelling-friendly breakfast options sans-stovetop would be granola overtop yogurt and fruit or overnight [...]

  14. Ashley said, on March 22, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    Ooo all bran buds on cereal, yea I’m not sure about that! Though I’d try it if someone else were to make it. I love that there’s a full cup of wheat germ in this recipe. I love wheat germ and usually recipes call for such a small amount!

  15. [...] ingredient in All-Bran Buds and Metamucil. During medical school, a surgeon touted its value and I began adding All-Bran Buds to my morning yogurt. However, as the husk itself, a little goes a long way. I used 1 tablespoon the [...]


What do you think?

