the taste space

Creamy Raw Kale Salad with Avocado, Apple and Beet

Posted in Salads by janet @ the taste space on February 17, 2011

A big round of applause for Rob for posting some awesome recipes over the past week!

Gosh, sometimes life just becomes incredibly hectic.  At times, it can be hard to juggle work, research, social commitments, and all of a sudden there is crunch time! Rob saw I was stressed and offered to help with the blog (what a sweetie, eh?). :)

No worries about food, because I was still cooking up a storm. In fact, I feel almost guilty about taking so long to tell you about this lovely kale salad. I have shared the recipe countless times since I made it, but have yet to blog about it. Trust me, it is fabulous.

This is a kale salad. A salad made with raw kale. I know you are raising your eyebrow, thinking that kale is so bitter and tough, why would you eat it raw? Well, it is more of a wilted kale salad because you massage it into silky oblivion, kneading in the flavours.

I was (loosely) inspired by the raw kale salad in Lucid Food, and kept it as a creamy salad with the addition of avocado. It is combined with a splash of olive oil and garlic for a luscious dressing. I chose to top the salad with a tart Granny Smith apple as well with grated raw beet (yes, you can eat it raw) instead of carrot which made the apple turn a brilliant shade of magenta. Toasted almonds add another layer of nutty crunch.

A perfect salad for potlucks, and even for leftovers (gasp!) because you actually want this to be a wilted salad.

This is my submission to this month’s No Croutons Required featuring creamy soups and salads.

Creamy Raw Kale Salad with Avocado, Apple and Beet

5 cups kale, thick stems removed and coarsely chopped
1/2 ripe avocado, diced
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
1 small garlic clove, peeled and minced
1.5 tablespoons olive oil
1 small beet, washed and grated (yes a raw beet!)
1 Granny Smith apple, chopped
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted

1. Place kale in a large bowl with the avocado. Add salt, garlic, and olive oil. Mix very well, “massaging” the greens for about 3 minutes. The kale will turn darker, become more pliable and shrink.

2. Add beet and apple to massaged kale. Toss gently. Taste and season with additional sea salt, if necessary. Sprinkle with toasted almonds.

Serves 4.

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on February 17, 2011 at 8:47 AM

    Loved Rob’s contributions! And I LOVE raw kale salad! It’s one of my all-time favorite salads. Isn’t avocado just the best? And yay for apples and beets! I usually include tomato and/or carrot in mine–have never tried anything sweet like this. But I know I’d love it. I am sooooooo going to try this! :D

  2. Priti said, on February 17, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    Salad looks yum and colourful …just so perfect

  3. Heidi said, on February 17, 2011 at 9:29 AM

    I made this and it is absolutely delish!

    Thanks for posting.

  4. Joanne said, on February 17, 2011 at 1:25 PM

    I’ve heard such good things about massaged kale salads but still haven’t gotten around to giving it a go. WIth all of these fab mix-ins, I’m sure it must have tasted amazing!

  5. Rose said, on February 17, 2011 at 1:49 PM

    Welcome back! Cory and I are still working our way through the black bean and apricot salad (which we both love), but since I have all the ingredients on hand – I’m going to try this salad for dinner as well. :D

  6. Priya said, on February 17, 2011 at 5:50 PM

    Salad looks soo catchy,fresh and interesting..

  7. Dawn said, on February 17, 2011 at 5:52 PM

    AWESOME recipe. I’m supposed to be getting kale with my csa today and will buy beets at my natural food store. Definitely making this one!

  8. Cara said, on February 17, 2011 at 10:28 PM

    Massaging the kale with avocado = I totally need to give raw kale salad another chance!

  9. Cooking Pretty said, on February 18, 2011 at 1:07 PM

    I like raw beets too :)

  10. Caitlin said, on February 18, 2011 at 4:34 PM

    i love massaged kale salads. i could eat one every night for the rest of my life! yours looks super yummy!

  11. Nancy/SpicieFoodie said, on February 20, 2011 at 8:35 PM

    This salad looks delicious! All of those flavors and textures must taste amazing.

  12. Sonnet said, on February 21, 2011 at 1:07 AM

    This looks so yummy! I love kale salads and will have to try this out! :)

  13. Ashley said, on March 31, 2011 at 11:30 PM

    Yummm nice to see the photos that go along with the recipe you sent me a while ago!! I haven’t bought kale in way too long, but I really want to try out a raw salad like this so I should. Rob’s contributions were excellent. :) I loved that he added avocado to vegan overnight oats!!

  14. […] I have already been smitten by raw kale salads, it was at Rawlicious that I discovered spiralized zucchini noodles (oh yes, I want a spiralizer! […]

  15. […] soon after assembly. Once dressed, lettuce doesn’t last that long (more the power to wilted kale salads!). This year, when I spotted a tomato-based Mexican salad at Namaste Gurl, I was smitten. Her […]

  16. […] this would quickly become boring! This is when it becomes exciting, because the experimentation in raw foods has created some luscious treats, perfect during the hot summer when you don’t want to […]

  17. […] know you’ve probably heard of raw massaged kale salads before (if not, you’re missing out!). You may even massage your cabbage for […]

  18. […] Creamy Raw Kale Salad with Avocado, Apple and Beet […]

  19. […] toasted sunflower seeds. I massaged some of the dressing directly with the collards (like I do for my raw kale salads) and then drizzled more dressing for the rest of the veggies. As you can see, the […]

  20. […] Creamy Raw Kale Salad with Avocado, Apple and Beet […]

  21. […] of massaging the kale, I let the heat of the noodles wilt them. Easy, peasy. Because as much as I love raw kale salads, I usually am able to trick convince others into doing the massaging. I hate […]

  22. […] on the kale […]


What do you think?

