the taste space

Hearty Adzuki Bean Soup

Posted in Soups by janet @ the taste space on March 15, 2011


The worst part of vacationing is returning back to the real world. Especially when you go from 30°C in Texas to -10°C in Toronto: it hurts that much more; that slap in the face that I am still living in winter. No, I can’t take out my bike just yet… maybe in another couple of months, once the salt has been washed away.

When I came back, I had a fridge nearly devoid of produce and was looking for an all-pantry meal. I picked up Urban Vegan while down south, so I perused it looking for something hearty and filling. Just as advertised (recipe also posted here), this was a hearty adzuki bean soup.  It was also quick to make since adzuki beans do not need any pre-soaking.

This hit the spot! This is a thick, filling soup with sea-like flavours from the kombu. I usually remove kombu after cooking beans, but this time I actually pureed it right into the soup. It was really thick as written with 6 cups of broth (it could be a nice bean dip at that stage), so thin it out afterward to your desired consistency. Do not skip the toasted almonds, as I really think it made the dish.

This is my submission to both Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge and this month’s No Croutons Required featuring adzuki beans.

Hearty Adzuki Bean Soup

6 cups vegetable broth (depending on how thick you want the soup)
1 1/2 cups dried adzuki beans, rinsed and picked over
1/2 cup dried shiitake mushrooms
1 small onion, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1 2-inch piece kombu
1/4 cup toasted, slivered almonds, for garnish
2 tsp toasted sesame oil, or to taste, for drizzling
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Bring broth to a boil. Add all remaining ingredients, except almonds and sesame oil, and simmer, covered, for about 1 hour, or until beans are very soft. Puree with an immersion blender or in a regular blender. If needed, add in more water to create your desired consistency. Drizzle with sesame oil, garnish with some toasted, slivered almonds, and serve.

Serves 6.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priti said, on March 15, 2011 at 6:20 AM

    Interesting n yum ….gud one

  2. Rob said, on March 15, 2011 at 8:41 AM

    I think biking season is closer than you think. The salt should be mostly gone by now. There were two straight days of rain last week!

  3. Priya said, on March 15, 2011 at 11:32 AM

    Woww thats a comforting bowl of soup..

  4. Joanne said, on March 15, 2011 at 2:00 PM

    it’s definitely hard to get back into the swing of things after being away…but also refreshing to get back in the kitchen, no?

    I love the sound of this soup…the thicker the better if you ask me!

  5. sally said, on March 16, 2011 at 12:02 AM

    I’ve actually never cooked with adzuki beans before. This looks like a great recipe to start with!

  6. megi said, on March 16, 2011 at 10:51 AM

    I love adzuki beans and I love pureed soups, I should give this recipe a try before it gets too hot to make soup.

  7. Kim Christensen said, on March 16, 2011 at 3:04 PM

    That sounds wonderful. I love kombu in soups, and I think blended with azuki beans it would be lovely. Thanks for participating in this month’s challenge! and what a good way to deal with an empty fridge and pantry :)

  8. dddtesting said, on March 20, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    What a great idea to puree the kombu right into the soup. This sounds delicious–and so, so healthy. Thanks for submitting it to the SOS this month! :)

  9. torwen said, on March 23, 2011 at 1:58 PM

    Shiitake and azuki … sounds great. My first attempt in cooking azuki beans ended in a bleached out and too soft mush, so I froze them. There must have been a higher plan behind it! They would be ideal for a pureed soup. Lovely, thanks for the recipe and the rescue of my beans :))

  10. […] week was a bit of a tease. Just two weeks earlier, I was lamenting how it would be months before I could take my bike out.  I was shocked when the […]

  11. Ashley said, on April 11, 2011 at 9:01 PM

    Ooo I look forward to seeing what you make from The Urban Vegan! I really need to get some kombu.

  12. […] This is why I have a hard time making recipes that are purely from pantry staples (except after returning from vacation and being welcomed by an empty […]


What do you think?

