the taste space

Toasted Pumpkin Seeds and Cranberries

Posted in Appetizers by janet @ the taste space on March 25, 2011

Since I decided to cut out refined sugars and flours, I have found it quite easy to add more fruits, vegetables, legumes and whole grains into my meals. That’s because I cook for myself. I stopped eating the free meals at work and try not to eat out at restaurants. The quandary came, though, when I went away on vacation,where I wasn’t particularly interested in immersing myself in local cuisine. I found some vegan TexMex options (spinach citrus ensaladas and guacamole) but really took refuge at a vegetarian restaurant just outside the heart of downtown San Antonio. I went back a few times!

I didn’t know I would find such a delightful resto, so I planned for not finding many vegan-friendly options. In addition to making a bean salad and portable overnight oats, I made some snacks as well.

I spotted this simple snack in Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health (also posted here). It was easy to put together, tasty with the savoury flavours and healthy, to boot (provided you don’t eat too much!). Here, pumpkin seeds (pepitas) are roasted with soy sauce and thyme until nice and golden, then they are tossed with sweet dried cranberries. The sweet-savoury combination works well together. Stored in resealable plastic bags, it is also easy to bring with you for an emergency fix if you have a hard time finding something to eat.

For other ideas when travelling, some of my favourite food bloggers have recently shared their tips when travelling as a vegan here and here.

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Wellness and this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Cinzia from Cindystar.

Toasted Pumpkin Seeds and Cranberries

1.5 cups pepitas (raw green pumpkin seeds)
1 tablespoon tamari or soy sauce
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
3/4 cup dried cranberries, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Spread pepitas on a baking sheet and toast in oven for 7 to 8 minutes, just until they begin to darken.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, olive oil and thyme.

3. Remove the toasted pepitas from the oven, and while still hot, drizzle them with the soy sauce mixture and stir to coat. Put them back in the oven and toast for a couple minutes more, taking care not to let them burn. Remove from oven and allow to cool. Stir in cranberries. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a week.

Makes 2 generous cups.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on March 25, 2011 at 1:10 PM

    Ooo I definitely LOVE the sweet and savory mix in these! I would find it hard to stop munching on it!

  2. Dawn Hutchins said, on March 25, 2011 at 2:40 PM

    So simple and so delicious. I love salty and sweet together.

  3. Priya said, on March 25, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    I wont bother to munch some anytime..

  4. cindystar said, on March 29, 2011 at 1:10 PM

    … as to say… the fastest, the easiest!
    thanks for this lovel snck!
    so sorry for the incovenient but yor email never got my box :-(((
    anyway, will add you to the recap straight away, and hope to see you again at whb with email addresses working fine! :-)))

  5. Ashley said, on April 17, 2011 at 1:41 PM

    Wow good for you for cutting out refined sugars and flours!! I do dream of doing that sometimes but it’s hard. I just try to minimize them. Looove the sound of these pumpkin seeds with cranberries. I want to make them today actually haha.

  6. […] I visited San Antonio last year, I discovered Greens, a gem of a restaurant and a haven for vegetarians on the outskirts of […]

  7. […] shared travelling tips and recipes before, but this is different. I feel like I have discovered a new way to find great lodging while […]

  8. […] French Barley Salad Bulgur Chili Chinese Cabbage and Fermented Black Beans Spanish Green Bean and Lime Bean Stew Japanese Winter Stew African Pineapple Kale Peanut Stew Italian Stew with Winter Squash and Chickpeas Thyme-Spiced Toasted Pumpkin Seeds and Cranberries. […]


What do you think?

