the taste space

Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge

Posted in Breakfasts by janet @ the taste space on March 27, 2011


Amaranth and quinoa are two seeds that were once considered sacred by the Aztecs and Incas. They were used in ceremonial rituals before their cultivation were forbidden by Spanish colonizers. Certainly these are powerful foods: armed with more calcium than milk and high in protein, fiber and other minerals, and feared by the Spanish. ;)

Then there are chia seeds, which I routinely add to my oatmeal and overnight oats, that are packed with healthy omega-3s and fiber.

I have been trying to incorporate more of these “high-yield” superfoods into my meals. What better time to start your day with a breakfast filled with these seeds. While eating quinoa for breakfast is not new to me, I was interested in combining all of these ancient Latin American seeds into a tasty breakfast.


Initially spotted in Radiant Health, Inner Wealth (also posted here), I modified Tess’ recipe to include chia seeds and therefore also changed the fluid volume.  With both currants and raisins, you don’t need to use much agave nectar (or maple syrup), so certainly add to taste. The Indian flavours of cinnamon and cardamom worked well with the sweetness from the agave and raisins.  The porridge had more substance, slightly more body from the pebbly grains which was a nice change from my smooth oatmeal.


This is my submission to Breakfast Club featuring whole grains, to this week’s Healthy Vegan Fridays and AWED featuring Indian cuisine.

Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge

1/4 cup dry amaranth
1/4 cup dry quinoa, washed well and drained
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1-1/4 cups water
5 whole cardamom pods (preferably green)
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup nondairy milk
1 teaspoon agave nectar (or pure maple syrup)
2 tablespoons raisins and/or currants

1. In a small pan, bring the amaranth, quinoa, water, cardamom, ginger, cinnamon, and vanilla to a boil over high heat, stirring well.
2. Reduce heat to low and simmer for about 15-20 minutes, or until the grains are tender and the liquid is absorbed.
3. Remove the cardamom pods and add the remaining ingredients. Stir well and serve.

Serves 2-3.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jane Redhead said, on March 27, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    This recipe sounds yummy! I have been doing a slow cooker (overnight) steel cut oat porridge all winter. I love my slow cooker. Would it be possible to do this and your other quinoa porridge in a slow cooker overnight?
    I have just discovered this wonderful site through the Satin Moon Quilt shop in Victoria !!

    • Saveur said, on March 27, 2011 at 10:04 AM

      Hey Jane, Thanks for stopping by! I haven’t tried this is a slow cooker, but you could give it a try. The seeds are very robust, so I think it would work. Thankfully they don’t need as much cooking as steel cut oats (which I also really like).

  2. Priya said, on March 27, 2011 at 10:28 AM

    Porridge looks super healthy and inviting, i dont bother to have to kick start my day..

  3. Helen @ Fuss Free Flavours said, on March 27, 2011 at 2:13 PM

    Sounds ultra healthy. I did not get on with aramanth porridge, but will try again by mixing with other grains.

    As ever in awe of your photography skills, my photo of that bowl would be horrible.

  4. Joanne said, on March 27, 2011 at 2:40 PM

    I am a BIG quinoa lover but amaranth is new to me! This breakfast sounds seriously charged with superfoods…I’m pretty sure I would feel like superwoman if I ate it every day!

  5. Umm Mymoonah said, on March 28, 2011 at 8:16 PM

    Looks wonderful, this is really a super porridge with all the goodness. Thank you for sending it to AWED :)

  6. Krista said, on March 30, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    I eat quinoa porridge several mornings a week, and have never thought of Indian spices– thanks for spicing up my morning!

  7. […] last, but not least, I created a virtuous Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge filled with quinoa, amaranth and chia seeds while being spiced with cinnamon and […]

  8. Ashley said, on May 12, 2011 at 10:56 AM

    I’m on day 3 of the RHIW 2 week cleanse and had planned to make this as a morning snack! Happy to hear that it was good and I love your addition of chia seeds.

  9. […] success with combining grains into my morning porridge (technically combining seeds since it was a quinoa-amaranth-chia concoction), I decided to try again with another multigrain breakfast.  I spotted this combination of […]

  10. […] is the best stock substitute and I use it all the time!) – Creamy Low-Fat Hummus – Edamame Miso Dip – Indian-Spiced Superseed Porridge – Lemon Ginger Miso Medicine – Zucchini Chips to Dry For (recipe elsewhere) – 15-Minute Zippy […]

  11. Emma said, on February 16, 2013 at 6:03 AM

    Finally tried this today, and really enjoyed it, although my uni kitchen isn’t so well stocked as my home one and I decided on star anise as a sub for cardamom. Obviously completely different, but similarly fragrant :) Topped with a bit of cold coconut (carton-type) milk, it was perfect. I was also pleasantly surprised with how filling it was too as the portion isn’t huge. Look forward to trying this again with the cardamom or other mix-ins.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 16, 2013 at 7:32 AM

      Awesome! Star anise sounds like a completely different direction (it can be quite overwhelming) but it is the mix of grains that makes this yummers, too. Glad to hear you enjoyed it. :)


What do you think?

