the taste space

Romaine Wrap with Hummus, Almonds and Prunes (aka an Impromptu Cycling Lunch)

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on May 4, 2011


Memories are funny things. You tend to remember the good parts, and, slowly, the painful parts disappear.

It is important evolutionarily, actually, because otherwise women wouldn’t go through childbirth a second time!

I am also experiencing amnesia this year. I trained last summer to cycle between Ottawa and Cornwall (325 km) over 2 days.  I had wet rides in the rain, tough climbs up hills, and super sore after coming home from Cornwall. But all of that is overshadowed by the triumph of completing such a goal (having done no long distance cycling ever) and how much fun it was to explore the larger GTA by bike with Rob at my side (usually in front, to be precise). It was a wonderful summer.

My goal this year is to cycle from Ottawa to Kingston and back (a hilly 355 km over 2 days) in early June with my father, Rob and some other friends.

Rob and I have tried to get out to cycle, but the rainy weather and work commitments have prevented us a few times.  While it was raining all week, Saturday conferred a perfect spring day which we capitalized to do our first (metric) century ride of the year (101 km). I picked one of my favourite routes, up to Aurora, which we adapted to include a trip to Ambrosia, a natural food store that Ricki introduced me to (yes, we adapt cycling routes too, not just recipes!). I have been to the Thornhill location a few times, and figured with their bountiful selection of produce and snacks, it would be a great stopping point for lunch on our cycling trip.

Armed with water bottles filled with homemade sports drink, energy date bars (cocoa fudge and gingerbread recipes to come!) and some hummus for lunch, Rob and I set out for Newmarket with gusto!

Let me tell you, though, I had forgotten how hard it is to do these long cycles. We are keeping these as endurance rides, so I like to ride at an easy pace to be able to last the full ride.  I used to be able to cycle 100 km without thinking twice, but now, so early in the season, my legs are sore after an hour.  I still have another 5 hours to go. I just get used to the pain and relish the hourly breaks.  I would get sore last year, too, I just had forgotten.


As planned, Rob and I stopped at Ambrosia for lunch, and I quickly realized this was not nearly comparable to the wonderful Thornhill location.  The only produce they had was organic Romaine lettuce. Gah! My plan to eat a Swiss chard wrap with sprouts and carrots with hummus was foiled! I ended up picking up the lettuce, and scavenged the bulk section for other tasty nibbles. I love picking up things on sale, so I was drawn to the raw almonds and prunes (both on sale). Almonds for crunch and prunes for carbs, I figured. I also picked up a dash of flax seeds for good measure.

And while I had no clue what I was really making, I was incredibly content with the mishmash of ingredients. I used the Romaine leaves as a base, topped it with a lemony-miso hummus, sprinkled some flax seeds overtop and added some almonds and prunes. Rolled it up and devoured. It worked wonderfully together, with both a mix of textures, but also complementary flavours. It was too good not to share with you, even if all I had were travel photos.


The nice surprise, though, afterward, was wandering through the adjacent Filipino food market. This is where I picked up a handful of tiny milk bananas, succulent and sweet, just right for eating. And yes, it also tasted great rolled up in Romaine. ;)


The Aurora loop is great though, because it is a (relatively) painless uphill for the first half, and by the time you are tired, it is mostly downhill with some rolling hills. After our scavenger lunch, we were rested and energized to ride home. I was able to arrive home with enough spare time to clean up and make dinner before my guests arrived. Yes, sometimes I am that nuts. I had forgotten how rough the ride would be, to be honest. A dinner party after a century ride. I think I’ll just remember how great it was to finally have my brother and sister-in-law over for dinner. ;)

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays.

Romaine Wrap with Hummus, Almonds and Prunes

3-4 leaves of Romaine lettuce (or Swiss chard, collards, etc)
1/4 cup hummus (your favourite)
sprinkle of flax seeds
handful of raw almonds
handful of prunes

1. Assemble your wrap: Spread hummus in the middle of the lettuce, sprinkle with flax seeds, top with almonds and prunes. Roll up the sides, then roll it up lengthwise. Hold tight to eat and devour!

Serves 1.

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on May 4, 2011 at 6:49 AM

    They were definitely good ad-hoc wraps. Tasty and healthy. I ate a bunch… and then had some bananas, too!

    And I know you will get better at biking again :) If you did it last year, then you can do it again!

  2. Caitlin said, on May 4, 2011 at 7:25 AM

    that seriously looks sooo yummy to me! lettuce+hummus+prunes is definitely a combo i will have to try in the near future!

  3. Joanne said, on May 4, 2011 at 1:08 PM

    The same is certainly true for marathoning…I tend to forget by the next day how hard it’s been. And proceed to sign up for more and more. Ah, these addictions of ours. That high just feels so good when the event is over!

    these wraps sound delicious! i love the medley of items you’ve included!

    • Saveur said, on May 4, 2011 at 6:13 PM

      Definitely an addiction, Joanne… but a lovely one in my eyes… that and food-blogging. ;)

  4. Dawn Hutchins said, on May 4, 2011 at 4:53 PM

    You have my stomach growling!! Signing off to go eat dinner ASAP. I am making these ASAP. The flavor combo is fabulous!

  5. Helen @ Fuss Free Flavours said, on May 4, 2011 at 5:46 PM

    Looking good Janet. Lovely energising food.

    Are you trying to up your raw food intake too? I must get round to blogging my raw hummus recipe.

    • Saveur said, on May 4, 2011 at 6:12 PM

      My increase in raw foods has just come naturally, Helen. It works well, though, especially as spring produce gears up. :)
      I’d love to see your raw hummus recipe! Rob inadvertently made a raw hummus (just soaked the chickpeas but didn’t cook them) but I wasn’t a fan.. I’ll have to see what yours is like!

  6. Priya said, on May 5, 2011 at 3:21 AM

    Wat a fabulous wraps, love raw foods..

  7. Maria @ Scandifoodie said, on May 7, 2011 at 4:34 AM

    That looks really delicious!! Perfect quick snack :-)

  8. […] Yam and Black Bean Stew with Orange and Cilantro Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Soups by Saveur on May 7, 2011 So what kind of meal would you make if you were hosting a dinner party after cycling 100km? […]

  9. DebinHawaii said, on May 8, 2011 at 9:02 PM

    You certainly made the best out of what you had–this looks like a perfect impromptu lunch or snack. I’m glad you shared it at Souper Sundays. ;-)

  10. Ashley said, on June 18, 2011 at 1:02 PM

    Wow that is a really interesting lunch Janet!! And a banana in a lettuce leaf?? Intriguing.

  11. […] honeydew. Hidden within a fruit salad, it can go unnoticed. Or shunned when it takes centre stage. I enjoy combining fruit into savoury dishes, and my curiosity was piqued when some friends […]

  12. […] some veggies to dip and you are good to go! While it can also go a bit more fancy with a collard wrap or a hummus dressing for a raw kale salad. While I prefer the traditional recipe, you can easily […]


What do you think?

