the taste space

Chickpea and Edamame Beans with Watercress and Shiitake Mushrooms

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on May 20, 2011


Sometimes greens go on sale, so when T&T had 2 bunches of watercress on sale for 88 cents, I figured I had nothing to lose by trying a new green. I didn’t even know what I wanted to make, but I knew it would come to me.

Of course, greens can easily be interchanged. Baby spinach may be sweeter, but Swiss chard could work as well. Want something with more bite? Add arugula. Want something with an even stronger peppery snap? Try watercress!

I love Japanese food because it highlights simplicity while balancing all the major tastes (bitter, sour, sweet, hot, salty, and delicate). While most of the Japanese dishes I make play more on the sweet side, I loved the change of pace with this more earthy stir-fry.

Adapted from ExtraVeganZa, I fooled around with the veggies, but the essence of the dish was the same. I swapped watercress for the spinach, used more shiitake mushrooms and edamame beans, and added in snow peas. The primary flavours were ginger as well as the earthy-flavour from the dulse (a kind of seaweed).

My only initial complaint was from the cornstarch, because I don’t really like it. It was more noticeable when the dish was eaten fresh, less so as leftovers. I found it important to deglaze the pan, although next time I would omit it and deglaze with less liquid. Otherwise, it was fine as leftovers. :)

Not sure watercress will make it into my backyard garden, though, as it doesn’t seem to be suitable without lots of water!

This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Lynne from Cafe Lynnylu.

Chickpea and Edamame Beans with Watercress and Shiitake Mushrooms

1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
1 tsp salt
2 cups shiitake mushrooms, stems removed and caps thinly sliced
1 tbsp fresh grated gingerroot
1.5 cups edamame
1 tbsp dulse granules (or flakes)
1 tbsp tamari or soy sauce
2 cups cooked chickpeas, drained (cooking water reserved)
1.5 cups snow peas, ends trimmed
3/4 cup reserved water (or water) (or less)
1 tbsp cornstarch (optional)
175g watercress, roughly chopped (1 bunch) (or spinach)

1. Saute the onion in the oil on medium heat until it starts to turn translucent. Add the salt, mushrooms, and ginger and continue cooking for 5 minutes. Stir in the edamame beans, dulse flakes, soy sauce, and chickpeas. Cook for a few minutes, then add in snow peas.

2. In a separate bowl dissolve the cornstarch in some cold water, then pour the mixture into the pan with the beans. Stir in the watercress and cook until it has wilted. Remove from heat and add lime juice before serving, mix well.  Serve over a bed of brown rice or quinoa.

Serves 4-6.

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sissi said, on May 20, 2011 at 6:58 AM

    Edamame beans once more! They look so beautiful and yummy… I MUST buy them and finally stop dreaming :-) I love watercress, but only have it raw, in salads. Thanks for sharing this new idea!

    • Saveur said, on May 20, 2011 at 7:38 AM

      Hey Sissi, Yeah I am on a total edamame kick! :) I am trying to clean out my freezer before I move. I can’t complain about eating so much edamame at all. :)

  2. Priya said, on May 20, 2011 at 8:20 AM

    Omg, wat a catchy and colourful dish..

  3. Sweet Artichoke said, on May 20, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    Thanks for this very inspiring dish! I love watercress, and would love to taste it with shitake mushroom and maybe give one more chance to edamame (not really a fan so far…)

  4. Tasha said, on May 20, 2011 at 9:45 AM

    You sure find some fantastic deals on produce! Watercress is always really pricey (yet sad looking here). I love the sounds of the dish. I am not familiar with dulse granules or flakes though.

  5. Dawn said, on May 20, 2011 at 11:04 AM

    I love that this dish is hearty with the mushrooms and beans but at the same time vegetarian. I will seek out some watercress.

  6. Joanne said, on May 20, 2011 at 12:58 PM

    I love all of these ginger-based dishes you’ve been making! It’s definitely one of my favorite flavors and a huge part of the reason I like Japanese food so much!

    • Saveur said, on May 20, 2011 at 3:18 PM

      You are right, Joanne. I am totally on a ginger kick these days. Love it! :)

  7. KalynsKitchen said, on May 23, 2011 at 10:34 PM

    I think I’d skip the cornstarch, but otherwise this sounds fantastic!

  8. Cara said, on May 25, 2011 at 8:57 PM

    I love what you’ve done with this but I can also imagine the same flavors in a cool summer salad. Yum!

  9. Simona said, on May 27, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    Very nice! I can see myself having difficulty stopping from getting more.

  10. […] culprit? The savior? Half a cup of grated ginger, tempered by the peanut butter. Boo-yah! Joanne pointed out I was on a ginger kick, and yes, I am loving […]

  11. Ashley said, on July 3, 2011 at 1:25 PM

    I always forget about watercress as a green! This sounds like a really yummy flavourful dish. I like the sound of the dulse in there.


What do you think?

