the taste space

Mango Pistachio Steel Cut Oatmeal (aka Mango Shrikhand Oatmeal)

Posted in Breakfasts by janet @ the taste space on May 21, 2011

Alphonso mango season has arrived.

Last year, Rob and I devoured the Indian Alphonsos as soon as they arrived in Little India. Succulent, sweet, smooth and sweating with juice (sap? cider? to go with my alliterations..), this is one of the best mangoes out there (although, no, I have yet to try Pakistani or Filipino mangoes). Ataulfos are my second favourite.

Rob jumped at the chance to get a crate of mangoes last weekend and shared his bounty with me.  I mean, you could easily just eat the Alphonso plain, in all its glory, but I recounted all my favourite mango recipes from last year: Thai Sticky Rice with Mango, Mango Shrikhand and Coconut Rice Pudding with a Mango Puree.  I was brought to the tropics just thinking about it.

Mango Shrikhand, man that was good. A mango and cardamom-infused yogurt is topped with mango and pistachios. Sounds simple, but works so well.

However, I am not eating yogurt right now, so I figured I would try to merry those similar flavours together for breakfast. With my morning oats, no less. This was how Mango Pistachio Steel Cut Oatmeal (aka Mango Shrikhand Oatmeal) was born.

Unlike my previous Mango Oatmeal, spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg, I did not cook the mangoes in the oatmeal. I consider the Alphonso mango too precious to let it disintegrate. If I had an Ataulfo, then I’d certainly throw that in the pot, though. ;) I let the mango shine overtop the oatmeal, sprinkled with pistachios. With the creamy base with cardamom and saffron, this was a delicious breakfast.

Mango Pistachio Steel Cut Oatmeal

1/4 cup steel cut oats
1 cup water (use a portion of coconut milk to get this extra creamy!)
dash of salt
1/4 tsp ground cardamom
pinch saffron (optional)
agave, honey or maple syrup, to taste
1/4 cup chopped mango (this was half an Alphonso mango for me)
1 tsp pistachios, chopped

1. In a medium skillet over medium heat, toast steel cut oats until fragrant, about 4 minutes. Do not let it burn!

2. Meanwhile, bring water to a boil with the salt. I find the oats to be done toasting when my water begins to boil.

3. Add oats to boiling water. Cover and turn heat down to low; allow the oats to cook for 40 minutes.

4. When creamy and smooth, add in cardamom, saffron and sweetener. Mix well. Top with chopped mango, sprinkle with pistachios and enjoy.

Serves 1.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on May 21, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    And the exciting this…. today we’re getting more alphonso mangos! MORE!

  2. Joanne said, on May 21, 2011 at 2:07 PM

    I love that you play favorites with your mangos. I do too. :P

    This oatmeal sounds delicious! Mango, cinnamon, nutmeg…you didn’t leave out a single one of my favorite ingredients!

  3. Priya said, on May 21, 2011 at 3:47 PM

    Omg, feel like finishing that whole bowl..

  4. Maria @ Scandifoodie said, on May 21, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    I love mangoes! Sounds like a perfect breakkie!

  5. Sissi said, on May 23, 2011 at 4:11 AM

    Since mangoes grow in so many different countries and are imported here all the time, every time from a different region, one thinks they are in season all year round! Apart from making hot mango sauces and chutneys I have only had mangoes in sweet dishes. Must try one day in savoury version! Thanks for the links to other dishes. Your oatmeal with mango looks fabulous!

  6. [...] Mango Pie Posted in Desserts, Favourites by Saveur on May 23, 2011 As I said, Alphonso mango season is here. Rob and I have been devouring the Alphonsos, savouring each one, [...]

  7. Cara said, on May 25, 2011 at 9:08 PM

    wowza. I want this for dessert, now!

  8. [...] swear, I don’t eat mangoes every day (Rob could take that honour for the past few weeks, though). It may seem like it, [...]

  9. Ashley said, on July 3, 2011 at 8:51 PM

    I had no idea there were so many kinds of mangoes! I only know of the Mexican one and Ataulfo, which I thought were the Filipino ones. Love the sound of pistachio in this oatmeal. I don’t eat pistachios nearly enough!

  10. [...] Banana Oatmeal with Cranberries Mango Pistachio Steel Cut Oatmeal (aka Mango Shrikhand Oatmeal) Mango Oatmeal Balsamic Lemon-Blueberry Steel Cut Oats Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds [...]

  11. [...] the last two years, Rob and I have trekked out to buy these sweet and creamy mangoes. This is the first year it [...]

  12. Mango Chana Masala | the taste space said, on March 29, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    […] Nearly every year, Rob will hunt down Alphonso mangoes. The fancy mangoes flown in from India. I am not sure whether they will be coming to Houston, but it does not matter. There are cheap and plentiful Mexican Ataulfos to be found. Last week, we picked up a whole case for $5. (We split it with a friend to keep our eating crop fresh. I know we’ll be replenishing a few times, no worries) […]


What do you think?

