the taste space

Blueberry Mango Quinoa Salad with a Lemon Basil Dressing

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by Janet M on June 24, 2011


I swear, I don’t eat mangoes every day (Rob could take that honour for the past few weeks, though). It may seem like it, though, since I happen to be posting those recipes more quickly. While I don’t share all my recipes, I have a treasure trove of half-finished posts, some with photos, others with a story, and most of them with an ingredient list and a scribbling of my thoughts about the dish.

There is something about meals with mango that makes me want to share the recipe right away. Adapted from Veggie Belly, this is savoury use of fresh mango in a beauty of a salad. Red quinoa is combined with fresh blueberries, chopped mango and dried cranberries and chopped snow peas for crunch. It is then tossed in a subtle lemon-basil dressing and topped with toasted pecans.  Nothing is overpowering, nothing screams at you. Everything works well for a simple, yet flavourful salad. A great way to highlight different summer produce in a healthy salad.


This is my submission to both Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge featuring blueberries, to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays and to this month’s Simple and in Season.

Blueberry Mango Quinoa Salad with a Lemon Basil Dressing

1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed well
1 cup water

1/2 cup fresh blueberries
1/2 cup cubed ripe mangoes
1/2 cup chopped snow peas
1/2 tbsp dried cranberries, roughly chopped
1/8 cup pecans, toasted

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (half a lemon)
1/4 teaspoon lemon zest (full lemon)
1/8 cup basil leaves, chopped finely
Salt and pepper, to taste

1. Place the quinoa and water in a medium skillet and bring to a boil. Then reduce heat, and simmer covered for about 15 minutes or till the quinoa is cooked. Remove the lid, and fluff the quinoa with a fork. Let it cool to room temperature.

2. While the quinoa is cooking, combine the fruits and snow peas in a bowl and refrigerate till you are ready to serve the salad.

3. Whisk together all the dressing ingredients, except the chopped basil. Refrigerate till you are ready to serve. Chop and add the basil to the dressing just before serving. If you add it earlier, it will go black.

4. Assemble the salad just before serving – toss the quinoa, fruits and snow peas together. Toss with the dressing. Serve  immediately.

Serves 2.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priya Sreeram said, on June 24, 2011 at 7:55 AM

    my kinda salad- loved the fruits with quinoa !!

  2. Grace@ FoodFitnessFreshair said, on June 24, 2011 at 8:31 AM

    This sounds fantastic. I’ve been loving all the fruit/grain combo’s I’ve been seeing (and eating) lately!

  3. Priya Yallapantula said, on June 24, 2011 at 12:20 PM

    Yum, looks superb !!!

  4. Priya said, on June 24, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    Thats an incredible,flavourful and satisfying salad..

  5. Joanne said, on June 24, 2011 at 2:17 PM

    Well, I’m glad you keep posting mango recipes because I never tire of seeing all of the new and fun ways that you prepare them! Now. If only I could get myself to NOT eat them before I actually use them in a recipe…

  6. Krithi said, on June 24, 2011 at 2:39 PM

    Superb salad with quinoa and mangoes.. so satisfying and tasty..

    http://krithiskitchen.blogspot.com
    Event: Healing Foods – Banana

  7. Ricki said, on June 24, 2011 at 4:13 PM

    What a perfect summer salad! I adore mango. . . counting the days (months?) until I can eat it again. The combination of quinoa, berries & mango sounds heavenly here! (and heck, so what if you eat it every day?) ;) Thanks so much for submitting this to the SOS this month! :)

  8. Ricki said, on June 24, 2011 at 4:14 PM

    PS I keep forgettng to ask if you’re on twitter so I can mention you when I tweet your posts!

    • Saveur said, on June 24, 2011 at 4:20 PM

      Nope, not on twitter yet, Ricki. Doubt I will ever make the leap. :)

  9. Alyson said, on June 25, 2011 at 2:17 PM

    Yep. Definitely making this on Monday. Looks awesome!

  10. DebinHawaii said, on June 27, 2011 at 12:27 AM

    So healthy and colorful. I have 2 mangoes but I love to eat them plain so much I don’t know if they will make it into a salad–no matter how good it looks. ;-) Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays.

  11. Caitlin said, on June 27, 2011 at 10:47 AM

    wow, this is something i know i will definitely love..wow. i have to make this soon. it loks A-mazing!

  12. Carol @ There's Always Thyme to Cook said, on June 27, 2011 at 4:55 PM

    That’s a very different salad from what I normally serve but it would definitely go over well in my house! It looks fantastic! You had me with the dressing and the mango!

  13. [...] Lunch: Blueberry Mango Quinoa Salad with a Lemon Basil Dressing Dinner: Thai Chicken and Pineapple Stir [...]

  14. [...] within a fruit salad, it can go unnoticed. Or shunned when it takes centre stage. I enjoy combining fruit into savoury dishes, and my curiosity was piqued when some friends recommended the bulgur and [...]

  15. Cara said, on July 17, 2011 at 9:39 PM

    I love the use of snap peas here to add a savory – but still slightly sweet – touch. yum!

  16. [...] Blueberry Mango Quinoa Salad with a Lemon Basil Dressing Asparagus, Strawberry and Basil Salad with Mosto Cotto Creamy Zucchini and Basil Soup Summer Vegetable Pasta Salad with Lemon Basil Almond Pesto Saffron Marinated Paneer Cheese with Fresh Basil, Cashews and Pomegranate Seeds (not vegan, substitute paneer with tofu) Spanish Lentil and Mushroom Stew Asparagus and Chickpea Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce [...]

  17. Ashley said, on July 23, 2011 at 1:13 PM

    I would love to have this in my fridge to snack on. I love the pecans in it!

  18. [...] of rice, quinoa can substitute as a quick-cooking grain. Other times, I will use it as a base for a salad, as I find it works well with Mexican [...]

  19. [...] which looked so comforting, yet so light. A second, truly beautiful entry also followed called Blueberry, Mango Quinoa Salad with Lemon Basil Dressing – thank you so much. The opening line in the post from Chez Cayenne – Recipes from a Spicy [...]


What do you think?

