the taste space

Mango Gazpacho

Posted in Appetizers, Soups by janet @ the taste space on August 1, 2011


My mom judges how good a dish tastes by whether there are leftovers. No leftovers means it must have been tasty, right?

So when she made Spanish Chickpea Salad with Capers and Roasted Red Peppers for a potluck, I asked her how she liked it. “It was all gone!” But how did you like it? “It was great!”

When she made Bulgur and Cantaloupe Salad with Hazelnuts and Mint for her barbecue, I asked her how she liked it. “It was all gone!” But how did you like it? “I didn’t even get to try it, it was gone so fast!” Wowzas!

Personally, I don’t subscribe to the if-there-are-leftovers-they-didn’t-like-it camp. It all depends on how much food is available. I tend to err on the side of too much food so that no one can say they left hungry. Granted, this means I make dishes that will make great leftovers for me, and usually a large batch of the recipe, at that.

Recently, my brother and sister-in-law were over for dinner while Rob was out-of-town and trust me, I erred on the side of more food. I included this soup as an after-thought, after I had already decided to double the recipe for the main dish. They still demolished the meal, which was sad for Rob, because he wasn’t able to try any of the leftovers. Because I definitely had Rob in mind (mango lover extraordinaire) as I prepared this last-minute mango gazpacho.

Adapted from The 30-Minute Vegan, this is a wonderful chilled soup with summer salsa flavours. Gazpacho is a Spanish chilled soup typically filled with tomatoes, peppers and onions that is partially pureed to give it a chunky soup-like consistency. In this Thai-fusion version, mango is added to the traditional tomatoes and bell peppers, along with cilantro and parsley. The sweetness from the mango is countered beautifully by the zippiness from chili flakes and chile powder. It took me a bit longer than 30 minutes to chop everything for the soup, but it was a very simple soup to prepare. I found it tasted best after a long chill, almost 6 hours, which is a perfect make-ahead summer appetizer.

This is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to My Kitchen, My World for Spain, to E.A.T. World for Spain, and to this month’s Simple and in Season, to Ricki’s new Summer Wellness Weekends and to this month’s No Croutons Required for raw salads/soups for Lisa’s birthday (I’d also serve this with Savoury Hemp Crackers as a side, Raw Tacos with Walnut Taco Meat, Cashew Sour Cream and Tomato Salsa as our main and Raw Tropical Mango Pie for dessert).

Mango Gazpacho

3 cups mango, cut into small cubes (about 3 medium-size mangoes)
2 cups tomato, chopped small (I used 1 pint cherry tomatoes, chopped)
1/4 cup diced red onion
1/4 cup minced fresh cilantro
1 cup red bell pepper, chopped small (from 1 small bell pepper)
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
1 garlic clove, pressed or minced
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lime juice
1 teaspoon chile powder
pinch cayenne
1 teaspoon sea salt, or to taste
1 tablespoon minced fresh Italian parsley

1. Mix all of the ingredients together well in a large bowl.

2. Transfer 2 cups of the mixture to a blender and blend on high speed for 20 seconds and return to the bowl. Mix, and if desired, chill for at least 30 minutes.

Serves 4.

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priya Sreeram said, on August 1, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    oh wowee ! looks cool

  2. Joanne said, on August 1, 2011 at 1:57 PM

    Hmmm I always have leftovers given that I make enough food to feed an army, so I definitely see things from your point of view!

    I’m always kind of unexcited about gazpacho….until now. MANGOES = heaven.

  3. Cara said, on August 1, 2011 at 2:16 PM

    Considering I’d much prefer to eat mango salsa by the spoonful rather than bother with a chip that just gets in the way, this sounds perfect!

    • Saveur said, on August 1, 2011 at 4:01 PM

      So true, Cara! Now you can have your mango salsa fix by the spoonful. :)

  4. michellepfennighaus said, on August 2, 2011 at 1:38 PM

    Man, I love gazpacho. I hate when someone says “it tastes like salsa!” right when I have a mouthful though.

  5. [...] As I said, I invited them over for dinner and giggled as I planned my menu. I nonchalantly pointed out that I didn’t want to cook in this atrocious heat so I would make tacos. I told them to come with an open mind and a hungry belly!  You see, I wanted to make raw tacos. [...]

  6. fresh365 said, on August 3, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    Oh I could really go for a bowl of this right now! Looks so refreshing!

  7. Ricki said, on August 4, 2011 at 10:24 PM

    Such an interesting combination of ingredients for a gazpacho! Gazpacho is one of my hubby’s favorites and he’s always on the quest for “the perfect gazpacho.” I may have found it! :D Thanks so much for submitting to WW this week! :)

  8. [...] this meal, you have Mango Gazpacho diving into French lentils with an earthy undertone from the cinnamon and cumin, frolicking with [...]

  9. DebinHawaii said, on August 7, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    I have been on a gazpacho kick lately–loving the more unusual ones like this one. ;-) Thanks for sharing it with Souper Sundays.

  10. Richa said, on August 15, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    happened upon here from the wellness weekends at Ricki’s..
    I love this gazpacho combination! mango will do it for me anyday! Lovely pictures too!

  11. Ashley said, on August 30, 2011 at 2:16 PM

    This looks so yummy and fresh!! I always have (and usually want) leftovers so that I don’t have to be constantly cooking.

  12. [...] Ontario. A vegan recipe followed from The Taste Space team, using mango’s which was a vegan Mango Gazpacho A really delicious-looking Cauliflower, Spinach and Chickpea Balti Grilled Potobello Mushrooms [...]

  13. [...] and I surprised them with a handful of macaroons for dessert (they are, thankfully, not afraid of raw foods).  They were as equally surprised as my mom that I was making sweets. Anyhow, Rob and I are [...]

  14. [...] like a glorious medley of vegetables and flavours. While I am no virgin to raw soups (remember that mango gazpacho?), the difference between juice, smoothie and soup always runs through my head. Plus, raw soups can [...]

  15. JadeSparX said, on October 19, 2012 at 7:34 PM

    MUST try this soon!! Really hoping I can still get mangoes over here right now <3

  16. Lisa said, on March 1, 2013 at 1:47 PM

    Goodness! I’m in heaven just thinking about that menu. Thanks so much for sharing with NCR.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on March 1, 2013 at 1:50 PM

      No prob, Lisa. It was fun to frolic down memory lane. I will add Indian raw meals to my lengthy list of things to make. :)


What do you think?

