the taste space

Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie

Posted in Breakfasts, Drinks, Favourites by janet @ the taste space on August 11, 2011


Rob laughs at me because one of my guilty pleasures is ordering fresh juices and smoothies from restaurants. Nothing beats a fresh blend of ripe vegetables, or a creamy smoothie packed with fruits. Feeling guilty about eating something so healthy seems so odd, but when they cost over $5 a pop, that’s when I feel bad. I mean, I could make something similar at home… on the smoothie aspect, that is. Unfortunately my old food processor can’t make fresh juice.

But now that I have a high-speed Vitamix blender (wahoo!), even my smoothies taste better! An immersion blender keeps things a bit on the chunky side, a food processor is better and now I know how the professionals get that secret creamy consistency without the cream (although they could also be adding cream, too, without me knowing). It’s the blender.

I know the Vitamix is not just for smoothie and drinks, but that’s all I’ve made so far (in the 2 days I’ve had it unpacked!). Even the lowly smoothie has been brought to the next level with the Vitamix. I mean, it better. I can buy a lot of drinks at restos for $500. :P

My latest smoothie craze has been devouring local Ontario peaches. Throw in a fresh, ripe, pitted peach, half a frozen banana, vanilla, chia seeds and some soy milk. Blend to reach creamy peachy bliss. Sip and enjoy!


This is my submission to this month’s Veggie/Fruit a Month, featuring peaches, to this week’s Potluck Party for summer drinks, and to Ricki’s Summer Wellness Weekends.

Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie

1/2 banana, sliced and frozen
1 fresh ripe peach (or nectarine)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp chia seeds
3/4 cup soy milk

1. Add all ingredients to a food processor, or blender, or combine with an immersion blender. Blend until smooth.

Serves 1.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on August 11, 2011 at 12:55 PM

    I always think of buying drinks at restaurants as splurges! Granted, they are usually alcoholic, but still. I think this smoothie sounds fabulous. Now that I have my new food processor, I think I can actually make it!

  2. Dawn said, on August 11, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    I do believe this is the first time I ever drooled over a smoothie photo. It looks SO creamy. Yay for the new Vitamix!!!!!!

  3. Susan said, on August 11, 2011 at 11:35 PM

    I would feel much guiltier over the price paid for one of those 600-calorie+ concoctions at Starbucks. This looks golden-fresh and refreshing, not to mention healthy.

    Thanks for sharing your recipe for VFAM – Peaches, Janet!

  4. gfedge said, on August 12, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    I agree with Dawn about the picture – well done. It looks better than an calorie-filled ice cream malted. Love it that it is all fruit and milk thickened with chia, great nutrition. Thanks for posting at D, D, & D!

  5. Ricki said, on August 12, 2011 at 4:03 PM

    I’m the same way–I always order juice when I’m out because then I don’t have to clean the juicer! ;) This looks fabulous. So rich and thick! Thanks so much for submitting it to WW this week! :)

  6. miss figgy said, on August 12, 2011 at 10:42 PM

    congrats on getting a vitamix! I’ve had one for two years and it’s definitely my favorite kitchen appliance. I use it almost every day.

  7. Alicia@ eco friendly homemaking said, on August 14, 2011 at 8:13 PM

    Now this just looks so delicious and refreshing!!

  8. […] Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie is a delicious way to treat yourself to wonderful peach bliss, and I have also used them to make […]

  9. […] was testing new recipes for the weekend BBQ, plotting a plan of attack with my Mom, and it all came together […]

  10. Krithi said, on September 5, 2011 at 10:04 PM

    Home-made is always superior since we know what goes in the making and totally healthy!

    Krithi’s Kitchen
    Event: Serve It – Steamed

  11. Ashley said, on September 6, 2011 at 6:09 PM

    Yaey Vitamix!!! I’m sure you’ll have tons of fun with it. This smoothie is a great way to start!

  12. okella said, on September 6, 2011 at 11:49 PM

    you have inspired me to get some bananas, freeze them and make this awesome smoothie!!

  13. […] hints for Rob that I wanted a spiralizer – which is awesome, by the way. And that Vitamix is heavenly. Dude, I am […]

  14. […] indestructible blender stopped working. My Vitamix became […]

  15. […] For peachy goodness visit Tastespace.wordpress.com. […]

  16. […] Smoothie Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie Chocolate Maca Raspberry Smoothie Cucumber-Beet-Ginger Juice Raw Chocolate Milkshake at My New […]

  17. Tina said, on April 14, 2013 at 5:27 PM

    Trying this asap!


What do you think?

