janet @ the taste space

Peaches and Blueberries with Banana Soft-Serve Ice Cream

In Breakfasts, Desserts on August 25, 2011 at 6:40 AM


When Rob’s parents came over for the barbecue, they helped out by bringing some marinaded meat for the grill. They also gifted us with some fresh, sweet corn on the cob for lunch and peaches for the smoothies. And as a bonus, mini cucumbers from their garden, new potatoes, apples and kohlrabi!  And broccolini! These days, there is nothing better than fresh Ontario corn and peaches. The peaches were delectable as I have been snacking on them for breakfast all week.

I also made this stovetop simmered peach and blueberry dish with cardamom, courtesy of My New Roots. It reminded me of the baked rhubarb and apple dish I made with earl Grey tea, cardamom and orange last year, which was one of my favourite desserts. Instead of turning on your oven, though, you simmer peaches and blueberries with cardamom, vanilla and cloves for a warm, almost sultry combination. The level of sweetness will depend on your peaches, so add the maple syrup to taste.

To contrast with the warmness of the fruit, it is nice to pair with something cool. Pick your favourite – yogurt, ice cream, or in my case: banana soft-serve ice cream.

I still marvel at the simplicity of banana soft-serve ice cream and figure I should share the recipe/method for those who have yet to be introduced. Basically, you take a few just-ripe bananas, slice them and freeze them in a single layer. When you want your ice cream, take them out of the freezer, plop them into your food processor and whiz away. Your bananas will go from hard to a thick cream and if you keep going for a few minutes, eventually you get silky smooth ice cream with a hint of banana flavour. This trick also works with other frozen fruit – I’ve done mango and papaya, but banana remains my favourite. I only caution you not to let your fruit thaw first because then it won’t work!

I love desserts that can double as breakfasts. The fruits also worked well overtop my morning oatmeal. I have been going through Bob’s Red Mill steel-cut oats, and found they made much more firmer oatmeal than I was used to. Ricki’s idea to pan-fry the oatmeal sounded ideal. I took leftover oatmeal, cut in large slabs, and fried them with a touch of oil in a non-stick frypan. The outsides were nicely seared with a warm, oozy interior.

Thankfully, my pantry-substitute, Better Bulk, has steel cut oats that give me silky smooth morning oats.


This is my submission to this month’s Veggie/Fruit a Month, featuring peaches, and to Ricki’s Summer Wellness Weekends.

Peaches and Blueberries with Banana Soft-Serve Ice Cream
Adapted from My New Roots

4-5 ripe peaches
1/2 cup wild blueberries (optional, I think next time I would leave them out)
1/2 cup water
2 Tbsp pure maple syrup
1/4 tsp ground cardamom
2 whole cloves
1/2 vanilla bean, seeds scraped (reserve empty bean pod)
pinch sea salt

2 just-ripe bananas, sliced and frozen

1. Wash and pit the peaches, then slice into wedges.

2. Add the peaches and remaining ingredients (including the empty vanilla bean pod) to a saucepan, bring to a boil, reduce to simmer on low for about 20 minutes.

3. Let peach mixture cool slightly.

4. Just prior to eating, take the frozen banana, and whip until smooth in food processor (this may take 3-4 minutes, and test the ability of your food processor).

5. Ladle peaches into bowls and add a scoop of your banana ice cream (or your ice cream of choice). Serve immediately.

Serves 4.

  1. This looks like a heavenly dessert OR breakfast (and I love dishes that can double that way, too). 🙂 So glad you liked the pan-seared oats–thanks for the reminder that I need to make them again!

  2. Simple fruity desserts are ideal during these summer months! And I think I could totally see myself eating this for breakfast. Just saying.

  3. Incredible desserts,looks absolutely delicious..

  4. I am with you on the soft serve love. It also works very well with a few strawberries added too.

  5. wow, what a great trip, peaches, blueberries and banana ice-cream, superb !!!

  6. […] smitten by her food, instead. So far, her recipes have not let me down: the raspberry dream cake, the sultry peaches and blueberries, the 11-spiced lentil salad, the raw tacos with walnut meat, cashew sour cream and a cherry tomato […]

  7. Such a sweet and easy summer treat. Love the oatmeal recipe, too. Both are really clever. Thanks for your FVAM recipe, Saveur!

  8. […] Stewed Peaches with Blueberries and Banana Ice Cream from The Taste Space (I just adore those colors!); […]

  9. Mmm I love the idea of mango soft serve! I love banana soft serve too but I find the banana flavour is always quite prominent. How ripe are the bananas you usually use?

    • The ripeness of the bananas definitely makes a difference! For banana soft serve, I like the bananas just ripe – not overripe. I like the overripe ones for my smoothies. 🙂

      For the mango soft serve, I took the frozen mango chunks and whirled away. I added a bit of agave and lime juice for a different kick. Worked nicely, but more of a sorbet than an ice cream! 🙂

  10. Ooo agave and lime juice with the mango, love the sound of that! And good to know about the bananas. I think I usually wait to freeze them when they’re a bit too ripe.

  11. […] Spinach, Orange, Yam Soup, followed by Chickpea Piccata with mashed parsnips and then cool off with Peaches and Blueberries with a Banana Soft-Serve Ice Cream. Pick and choose from the recipes below to create a cohesive […]

  12. […] Mango Oatmeal Balsamic Lemon-Blueberry Steel Cut Oats Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds Pan-Fried Oatmeal with Peach-Blueberry Vanilla Compote Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha Apple Pie Oatmeal Baked Apple Banana Oatmeal Rhubarb Baked […]

  13. […] guar gum), but neither were that satisfying. Little did I know that my tried-and-true never fail 1-ingredient banana soft-serve ice cream was already at my disposal. All I had to do was add some chocolate protein powder for a very […]

  14. […] A typical peach melba recipe has one boil peaches in a sugar syrup to accentuate its sweetness. I say forget those 3.5 cups of white sugar and resort to grilling instead! Peaches already possess all the sweetness you need: you just have to gently coax it out of them. Next time, I definitely plan on eating this overtop some banana soft-serve ice cream! […]

  15. […] make it more complicated than a frozen banana. I have paired it with raw banana maca pancakes and stewed vanilla-scented peaches and blueberries. For a chocolatey treat, adding chocolate protein powder is a great recovery […]

  16. […] I digressed… We did a tour of the nearby grocers recently. Vegan ice cream cannot be found at my ethnic grocer (I knew that), Walmart, Freshco, nor Metro. The Sweet Potato and Fiesta Farms are our sure-fire bets but I know the Mega Loblaws downtown has it too… not sure about regular non-Mega Loblaws. It probably would be considered a frill at No Frills. Who knew vegan ice cream would be so hard to find? Because shouldn’t everyone be eating vegan ice cream with a sore throat and tummy? Dairy is a no-no with a troubled tummy. I should probably learn how to make it, instead (something a bit more beyond my banana soft-serve). […]

  17. […] Stewed Peaches with Blueberries and Banana Ice Cream from The Taste Space (I just adore those colors!); […]

  18. […] mean, is there anything bananas CAN NOT DO? One frozen whipped banana makes a delicious ice cream. For this creme brulee, you could go all fancy, and add coconut milk, creamer, avocado, tofu […]

  19. […] Eat as-is, add to a salad or serve with banana soft-serve ice cream. […]

  20. […] PS. The peaches would be fabulous with banana soft-serve ice cream. […]

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.