the taste space

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with a Warm Vanilla-Cider Vinaigrette

Posted in Favourites, Salads by janet @ the taste space on October 6, 2011

Some people have the gift to make anything taste great. I can follow a recipe. I can season to taste. But sometimes, I just don’t know what some recipes need to make it taste better.

This is a story of a botched recipe, turned sublime. Last Thanksgiving, Ina Garten’s roasted butternut squash salad was made a few times. The first time, with apple juice, it was nice, and was therefore given the thumbs up for serving at the Thanksgiving dinner.

My friend was helping with the prep work for round 2, but mistakenly made the dressing with 3/4 cup apple cider vinegar instead of apple cider. A big oops! However, she tried to salvage the salad by adding in some brown sugar and vanilla. While the salad was still a bit acidic, the vanilla was a magical ingredient. Instead of being as sweet as the first time, it was more savoury.

Therefore, when I recreated the dish this year, when butternut squash started to make its way into the grocery stores, I wanted the best of both worlds: vanilla within an apple cider vinaigrette. I used baby spinach and toasted almonds, instead of the arugula and walnuts Ina suggested. I also omitted the Parmesan cheese and reduced the olive oil, salt and pepper. Trust me, I didn’t miss anything. There were so many levels of flavour here, I was thoroughly content. The butternut squash is roasted to bring out its sweetness and is soft, bit still keeps it shape. The fruity dressing is tamed with the vanilla and works well with the baby spinach. Toasted almonds nail this as a slam-dunk salad.

Here are some other savoury vanilla dishes I’ve made:

Butternut Squash Soup with Pear, Apple Cider and Vanilla
Vanilla Sweet Potato and Kale Curry
Triple Corn Pancakes

This is my submission to this month’s Simple and in Season, to this month’s Food Palette series featuring the rainbow, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekends, and to both Ricki and Kim’s vegan SOS challenge featuring cranberries.

Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with a Warm Cider Vinaigrette

1.5-2 lb butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch dice
1/4 cup + 1 tbsp olive oil, divided
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
3 tbsp dried cranberries
3/4 cup apple cider or apple juice (I used cider)
2 tbsp cider vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp minced green onions or shallots
2 tsp Dijon mustard
4-6 cups baby spinach, arugula, your green of choice
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

2. Place the butternut squash on a sheet pan. Add 1 tablespoons olive oil, the maple syrup, 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper (to taste) and toss. Roast the squash for 15 to 20 minutes, turning once, until tender. Add the cranberries to the pan for the last 5 minutes.

3. While the squash is roasting, combine the apple cider, vinegar, vanilla and shallots in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Cook for 8-15 minutes, until the cider is reduced to about 1/4 cup. Off the heat, whisk in the mustard, 1/4 cup olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

4. Combine the vinaigrette with the butternut squash. When ready to serve, place the spinach in a bowl, top with butternut squash and sprinkle with toasted almonds.

Serves 4-6.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy said, on October 6, 2011 at 6:42 AM

    The vanilla does sound like it would be good with the butternut. I will have to give it a try. My standby is maple syrup and balsamic vinegar. But the apple and vanilla combination is something I’m going to try.

  2. Johanna GGG said, on October 6, 2011 at 7:10 AM

    vanilla again – how interesting – love the sound of this salad

  3. JL goes Vegan said, on October 6, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    That is a lovely salad. I’ve been less inclined to eat raw spinach so I love the idea of a warm salad over it. It looks so flavorful!

  4. Caitlin said, on October 6, 2011 at 7:34 AM

    roasted butternut squash salads make me swoon.. ::swoon::

    this seriously looks delicious and i am very intrigued by the addition of vanilla’)

  5. dawn said, on October 6, 2011 at 7:39 AM

    That is stunning! And it sounds absolutely delicious.

  6. Jeni Treehugger said, on October 6, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    YAY for cooking mishaps that end up awesome! This does sound really nice actually (I’m not a squash fan) and the photos are sooooo pretty – such beautiful coulous. :-)

  7. Natalie @ Once Upon a Cutting Board said, on October 6, 2011 at 11:49 AM

    I don’t think I would have thought to put apple cider or vanilla in a vinaigrette but it sounds delicious! Another great Thanksgiving recipe :)

  8. Joanne said, on October 6, 2011 at 8:17 PM

    Mmm I made a salad similar to this last year as well but you’re right…I think the vanilla must take it to a whole new level of delicious.

  9. torviewtoronto and createwithmom said, on October 7, 2011 at 6:31 PM

    delicious looking salad colourful thank you for linking it to the event

  10. Vicky said, on October 7, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    Oh yum!

  11. Ricki said, on October 13, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    This sounds just wonderful! And I happen to have a butternut squash sitting on my counter. . . perfect. Thanks for submitting to the SOS this month, too! :)

  12. Cara said, on October 14, 2011 at 4:02 PM

    I love love love throwing warm roasted squash on a bed of baby spinach, letting it wilt just slightly. Throw in some caramelized onions and I’m golden. This dressing sounds like the perfect compliment!

  13. […] a Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with a Warm Vanilla-Cider Vinaigrette – delicious flavour […]

  14. Buylemons said, on October 21, 2011 at 4:36 PM

    I am jumping for joy elated to report that the roasted butternut squash salad I made using your wonderful recipe was successful. Big time. I can’t believe that I did it. (Normally I never seem to get it right on the first try.) So thank you, thank you. It’s no doubt due to your terrific and easy-to-follow instructions.

    So… Life is either a daring adventure or it is nothing.

    Thanks for taking us on your adventure.

    I’ll be back,

    Candy

  15. Ashley said, on October 26, 2011 at 2:01 PM

    Yumm! And so gorgeous.

  16. […] Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with a Warm Vanilla-Cider Vinaigrette […]


What do you think?

