the taste space

White Bean Basil Pesto

Posted in Appetizers by janet @ the taste space on October 20, 2011


This was the flop of the party.

I am sharing it with you so that you learn from my mistakes.

A High Protein and Oil-Free Basil Pesto sounded delicious to me. The creaminess and protein came from a whipped white bean puree packed with loads of basil. Like the last bland dish from Angela, I ended up adding even more nutritional yeast and miso to up its appeal. Creamy, salty and full of basil.

Not everyone agreed with me. They didn’t even try the dip, since it looked like green frank-o-monster goop… and ended up oxidizing to an unappealing brown over the course of the afternoon.

My parents and I ended up polishing it off after all the guests had disappeared. I think it would work better as a sandwich spread than a dip with veggies anyways. Not only because the colour wouldn’t matter but that’s the way pesto works best. Slather it onto some crackers topped with roasted veggies. Crostini may be better next time.. but then I would have had to be in charge of appetizers for the party. ;) Now we’re talking.

Thankfully, I made sure the hummus was in tip-top shape so we didn’t have too many naked veggies.


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Susan from The Well-Seasoned Cook.

White Bean Basil Pesto

1 cup tightly packed fresh basil leaves
1 garlic clove
1 15-oz can cooked navy/cannellini beans (1.5 cups)
1 tbsp water
3 tbsp nutritional yeast
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice (from 1/2 lemon)
1 tsp miso
1/2-3/4 tsp kosher salt (vary with the amount of miso)

1. Mix all ingredients in a food processor or high-speed blender until smooth.

Makes 1.5 cups.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rob said, on October 20, 2011 at 6:56 AM

    I would have ate it!

  2. Jeni Treehugger said, on October 20, 2011 at 9:05 AM

    I would have eaten it – it looks and sound dippalicious!

  3. Joanne said, on October 20, 2011 at 2:11 PM

    Oy I’m sorry this was a flop but I actually really love green food, so I would have been dipping away!

  4. Florence said, on October 21, 2011 at 4:53 AM

    I really like your blog, your pictures are awesome! I nominated you for the “Liebster Award” over at my blog: http://anchorsandfeathers.blogspot.com/2011/10/liebster-award.html

  5. realfunfood said, on October 21, 2011 at 6:48 AM

    The recipe sounds like it would be fantastic because I love white beans and basil! I’ve heard a lot about Oh She Glows, but I’ve been to her site and I just don’t like it. I assumed that her recipes must be amazing for it to be that popular.

  6. Cara said, on October 22, 2011 at 2:29 PM

    I appreciate your honest feedback here! It sure does sound like a good recipe.

  7. […] recipes.  I find her overnight oats a bit too liquidy for me, her split pea and spinach soup and white bean pesto dip severely underflavoured and more recently, her tahini-avocado chickpea salad also lacked spunk. […]

  8. Ashley said, on November 2, 2011 at 10:10 AM

    Too bad this didn’t turn out as you’d hoped. :( It sounds like it should be really good.

  9. […] Lemon Basil Almond Pesto Hazelnut-Sage Pesto White Bean Basil Pesto […]


What do you think?

