the taste space

Pomegranate Red Pepper Hummus

Posted in Appetizers, Favourites, Sides by janet @ the taste space on October 25, 2011


While Rob snacked on the local Icelandic delicacies including sweet rye bread, fish and lamb (not the fermented shark meat!), he still thought his best meal was at Glo. I went nearly every day and sometimes he would join in for a meal. His favourite meal was a totally non-Icelandic Moroccan vegetable tagine with couscous. I am still impressed at how wonderful Glo was, considering Iceland has a total of 300,000 people living on the whole island and nearly all produce needs to be imported.

I was warned that I may only find tomatoes and cucumbers in the grocery stores, but trust me, there was much than that available. There were lots of (although at times underripe) fruit at my breakfast buffet in Rekjavik, and the veggies were unparalleled at Glo. In the rural areas, the food was a bit more slim picking, but I had stocked up while in the city. Glo even sells day bags, where you can buy 3 raw meals encompassing breakfast, lunch and dinner with juice and snacks. All for the same price as a fancy dinner Rob would enjoy.

There were some traditional Icelandic products that I enjoyed. They have some fabulous homegrown herbal teas and I brought some home. We also spotted some new Yogi teas, including a delicious Aztec Sweet Chili and Mayan Cocoa Spice that we’ve already finished (eek!). Sadly, I don’t think they even sell them in Canada. :(

In anticipation of not finding much to eat, I made another batch of hummus for the trip.

In retrospect, it was so obvious. Rob preferred the Indian-flavoured Bombay hummus, whereas I preferred this Middle Eastern-spin on hummus that I spotted on Anissa’s blog.

A creamy tahini-based hummus is given the royal treatment with red pepper and pomegranate molasses. Muhammara meets hummus.

While I am happy to have found a new recipe for my red pepper paste, substitute a roasted red pepper for the red pepper paste. The paste is just so much easier since it comes out of a jar.

And yes, pomegranate molasses makes the world so much tastier. :)

This is my submission to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Pomegranate Red Pepper Hummus

2 cups cooked chickpeas
100 ml tahini
juice of 2 lemons, or to taste
1 1/2 tbsp mild red pepper paste
1 tbsp pomegranate molasses
1 tsp salt

1. Drain and rinse the chickpeas. Put in the food processor. Add the tahini, lemon juice, red pepper paste and pomegranate syrup and process until very smooth.

2. Transfer to a mixing bowl. Add salt to taste. Mix well. If the hummus is too thick, thin it by adding a little water, or a little more lemon juice, if it is not already tart. Taste and adjust the seasoning.

Makes 2.5 cups.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah said, on October 25, 2011 at 4:16 PM

    This is enough inspiration for me to pick up some pom molasses!

  2. Jacqueline said, on October 25, 2011 at 6:00 PM

    Oh my that looks delicious. Now I will have to look at the last one :)

  3. Joanne said, on October 25, 2011 at 6:47 PM

    Honestly, I have a serious compulsion to add pom molasses to just about everything. it’s a problem (not). I can’t believe I haven’t mixed it into hummus yet! Yum!

  4. Jeanette said, on October 25, 2011 at 7:44 PM

    I have a bottle of pomegranate molasses that’s been sitting in my cupboard – so glad to find this recipe to try it in.

  5. Richa@HobbyandMore said, on October 27, 2011 at 8:33 PM

    i need to get a bottle of pom molasses.. the hummus looks yummm! love love it.

  6. Cara said, on November 1, 2011 at 7:21 PM

    Having fallen in love with a sweet and spicy hummus recipe of my own, I am totally into this too!

  7. Ashley said, on November 3, 2011 at 1:01 PM

    Ooo I am definitely going to have to make this!! I’m not sure which hummus I’ll like more, the bombay or this one hmm.

  8. […] Turkish Spicy Lentil and Bulgur Soup with Dried Mint and Red Pepper Pomegranate Red Pepper Hummus […]

  9. […] the traditional recipe, you can easily mix things up with different flavours – any takers for pomegranate red pepper or Indian-spiced? This time, I opted for a spin off of Gena’s Ginger Lime Edamame Hummus […]

  10. […] a dessert option with peanut butter and chocolate! I have also souped up traditional hummus with pomegranate molasses and red pepper paste. Carrots and hummus have become my go-to snack […]


What do you think?

