the taste space

Sweet and Sour, Hot and Spicy Tofu with Broccoli (aka Matthew’s Delicious Tofu)

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian) by janet @ the taste space on November 18, 2011

What does a vegan eat?

I bet most people think of tofu and veggies.  Replace your typical meat with tofu and you’re vegan, right?

Not in my kitchen! I don’t cook with tofu that often, and if I do, it is usually incorporated into my meal. I’ve made a few stand-alone tofu recipes, and that was even before I went vegan. Figures!

So here I go, with something that seems so traditional old-school vegan. Delicious Tofu. Matthew’s Delicious Tofu. Who is Matthew? I don’t know.. but he likes tofu! This recipe is pretty old school, because Ashley posted the recipe in 2007, from The Garden of Vegan published in 2002! She kept mentioning it as one of her favourite tofu dishes, so I had bookmarked it a few times.

When I made the braised daikon, I knew I needed a protein source and serendipitously decided to finally make Matthew’s Delicious Tofu. I didn’t really know what to expect, other than some delicious tofu. Turns out this is an awesome sweet and sour, hot and spicy fried tofu dish with just the right amount of spice from the garlic and ginger. Maple syrup, soy sauce and lemon juice create the succulent sauce.

This was deceivingly addictive. No, really. I had to stop myself from eating the whole thing. The tofu had great texture and the sauce was marvelous. I served it with a simple side of steamed broccoli and the braised daikon. I thought about making more sauce to go overtop the broccoli, but I liked the contrast of the sweet and zippy tofu with the plain broccoli. It may have been sauce overload otherwise.

Old school recipes need not be so scary. The classics are worth searching out, too. :)

This is my submission to this month’s Bookmarked Recipes and to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Sweet and Sour, Hot and Spicy Tofu (aka Matthew’s Delicious Tofu)

350g super firm tofu, chopped into large chunks (pressed if you have the time, or if you don’t have the time, use super firm tofu)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated
1/4 tsp Aleppo chili flakes
2 tbsp maple syrup
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp fresh lemon juice

4 cups veggies (broccoli, carrot, red pepper, etc), chopped and steamed

cooked rice, to serve

1. In a medium nonstick skillet on medium-high heat, saute the tofu until browned.

2. Meanwhile, steam your veggies and set aside.

3. Reduce heat to medium-low and add the garlic, ginger, and chili flakes. Saute for 5 minutes.

4. Add the maple syrup, soy sauce and lemon juice. Cover and cook until the liquid has evaporated.

5. Serve with steamed vegetables and/or rice.

Serves 2-3.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priya said, on November 18, 2011 at 8:48 AM

    Super delicious tofu, lovely spread..

  2. Ashley said, on November 18, 2011 at 11:37 AM

    Yaeeey I’m so happy you enjoyed it!!! :) I’ve tried tons of tofu recipes but this one is probably still my favourite or at least one of the top few.

  3. Ricki said, on November 18, 2011 at 9:04 PM

    Looks like a total winner! I see I’m going to have to try this one, too! Thanks for submitting to WW this week. :)

  4. Joanne said, on November 18, 2011 at 9:40 PM

    I’m fairly certain my family is convinced that I eat tofu non-stop just because they can’t fathom a life without meat. But I also RARELY eat it! This does sound super delicious though. Really good tofu recipes are hard to find, but you’ve definitely spotted one!

  5. Shaheen said, on November 20, 2011 at 9:01 AM

    Oh this tofu recipe has excited me. I can almost taste it – honest!

  6. Johanna GGG said, on November 28, 2011 at 5:34 AM

    I discovered this a few months ago and have made it quite a few times since – it is truly delicious – some of these old school recipes really do stick around for good reason

  7. Yadsia @ShopCookMake said, on December 5, 2011 at 8:11 PM

    Definitely trying this! I’m so glad I found this recipe.

  8. […] some kale with a bit of daikon and baby bok choy. Actually it looked like this: kale, daikon, broccoli, kale, broccoli, broccoli, kale, broccoli, baby bok choy and broccoli, and broccoli with a side of […]


What do you think?

