the taste space

Dragon Quinoa Bowl with Roasted Vegetables and a Miso Gravy

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on November 23, 2011


I have become hard to please at restaurants. I’ve already lambasted Fresh for their limpy soba noodles and hit-or-miss salads, but now that I am armed with their miso gravy, I can conquer the world! Or at least make sure their recipes are a hit when I make it myself.

On their menu is their Dragon Bowl: brown rice or soba noodles topped by grilled tomato, zucchini & tofu steaks with rich miso gravy, sesame seeds, cilantro & green onions.

But now I can make Fresh’s Dragon Bowl, My Way.

Forget the brown rice, or their gummy soba noodles, I want my grilled vegetables overtop quinoa!  Marinate some tofu in soy sauce and sesame oil and pan-fry it to perfection. Pick your favourite vegetables (zucchini, bell pepper, eggplant and broccoli are what I had on hand), douse them in a bit of olive oil and chopped garlic, grill them on your barbecue (or broil in your oven), smother in miso gravy and then sprinkle sesame seeds and green onions overtop.

Pure bliss.

This miso gravy makes everything taste great!

Why this is called a dragon bowl, I have no clue. All I know it tastes great.


This is my submission to this month’s Simple and in Season and to this week’s Weekend Wellness.

Dragon Quinoa Bowl with Roasted Vegetables and a Miso Gravy

340g extra firm tofu, cubed or cut into slices
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp toasted sesame oil

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 Asian eggplant, sliced into 1/2 cm pieces
2 red bell peppers, thickly sliced
1 zucchini, cut into thick slabs
1 tsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, minced

1 cup broccoli, cut into large florets

1-2 green onions, finely chopped
1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)
1 tbsp sesame seeds, toasted

1/4 cup miso gravy, to taste

1. Marinate your chopped tofu with the soy sauce and toasted sesame oil for 5 minutes or longer, if possible. When ready, add tofu to a non-stick skillet over medium-low heat and cook until nicely brown on most sides. This could take 10-15 minutes. Stir often towards the end. Set side.

2. Bring water to boil in a small pot, add the quinoa and salt and bring to a boil again. Cover and reduce heat to low for 15 minutes. Turn off the heat and keep the pot covered for an additional 5 minutes. Strain off any excess liquid and set aside to cool.

3. Mix together eggplant, bell peppers, zucchini, oil and garlic. Grill on barbecue, flipping half-way, until tender. If no grill, broil in your oven at 500F until golden.

4. Steam broccoli until tender crisp.

5. To assemble each salad, place quinoa in a bowl, mix in 1-2 tbsp of miso gravy, to taste, top with vegetables and tofu, and sprinkle with green onions, cilantro and sesame seeds.

 Serves 4.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dawn said, on November 23, 2011 at 7:45 AM

    I love it when i can make it better than the resto. I am going to try this with tempeh!

  2. Ashley said, on November 23, 2011 at 10:22 AM

    I looooooooove grain/veggie/protein bowls like this. Okay maybe that describes a lot of dishes but it makes sense in my head. I have one of the Fresh cookbooks and have only tried one of the bowl recipes from it but it was really good. This one sounds super amazing too, great creation!! :) Wish I could have it for lunch.

  3. Joanne said, on November 23, 2011 at 9:17 PM

    One of my favorite things to do recently is to look at the ingredients in a restaurant’s recipe and totally recreate it to my liking! Sometimes that’s the only way you can get what you really want to eat. Love this bowl!

  4. […] Or my millet bowl, topped with cooked spinach, leek and toasted pumpkin seeds. Or my more recent Dragon quinoa bowl, topped with roasted veggies in a miso […]

  5. Cara said, on November 29, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    I have also been known to make new-and-improved versions of restaurant dishes at home. It’s definitely one of the drawbacks of being a good cook that sometimes I eat stuff in restaurants and think to myself, “I could make this so much better myself!”

  6. […] with a bit of daikon and baby bok choy. Actually it looked like this: kale, daikon, broccoli, kale, broccoli, broccoli, kale, broccoli, baby bok choy and broccoli, and broccoli with a side of Napa cabbage. […]

  7. […] oz kelp noodles, or your favourite clear noodle (cooked) Baked or fried tofu, optional – this one could work Your favourite peanut sauce – I will be trying this one […]

  8. […] and Roasted Red Pepper Soup Six Shades of Red Soup (Beet, Potato and Red Lentil Soup with Dill) Japanese […]

  9. […] More loveliness from Janet at The Taste Space, this time a Dragon Quinoa Bowl with Roasted Vegetables and a Miso Gravy. Who needs meat? This is quinoa, topped with zucchini (courgettes) bell pepper, eggplant […]

  10. […] Garlic Corn Rob’s Grilled Pineapple with Lime and Chile Flakes Lemon Asparagus Quinoa Toss Dragon Quinoa Bowl with Roasted Vegetables and a Miso Gravy Wheat Berry Salad with Pomegranate-Roasted […]


What do you think?

