the taste space

Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian) by Janet M on December 2, 2011

I live in the largest city in Canada, with a population of 2.5 million, and my favourite restaurant is in a town with only 100,000 people. I’ve only been to Thrive Juice Bar once but it was enough to have me hooked. Sadly, the commute kills me. They aren’t open late on Saturdays, and not open at all on Sundays, which makes it hard to visit.

I really liked their pad thai which was overflowing with Asian vegetables topped with a spicy cashew sauce, with a raw option to replace the rice noodles with even more veggies! The menu says it is filled with daikon radish, snap peas, bok choy, Asian cabbage with a raw cashew pad thai sauce, topped with spicy peanuts and cashews, Thai basil and Thai mint (??), while finished with an almond chili oil and mint lime vinaigrette. Wowzers, eh? I am not even going to try to recreate it home because it seems so complex.

I will, however, try out something more simple. Something just as tasty, even though it was not at all the same. But it definitely made me go Mmmmmm! Yes, I made MamaPea’s infamous Peanut Mmmm Sauce!

Inspired by Thrive, I loaded my dish up with veggies: a huge bunch of baby bok choy, 2 red peppers, broccoli and edamame. For my noodles, I opted for kelp noodles, but feel free to use soba instead. Or as they used to do at Thrive, add more veggies! (Scanning their recent menu, it now seems that the raw option is to add kelp noodles). The sauce is a zippy and creamy peanut-based sauce that coats the veggies ever so lightly. Delicious…. all I can hear is the resonant Mmmmm

This is a super simple dish to make, to boot.  Perfect when you have leftover coconut milk. Whiz together your sauce, then quickly stirfry your veggies to remove their raw edge, but keep them crisp and bright. Add your noodles and simmer a bit with your sauce. Now you’re good to eat!

This is my submission to this week’s Presto Pasta Nights, hosted by Jamie of Cookin’ With Moxie and to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce

1/4 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup water (or 1/2 cup lite coconut milk)
3 roasted tomatoes (1/2 cup) (alternatively use 1/2 cup canned tomatoes)
1/4 cup peanut butter
3 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce or Braggs (I used Bragg’s)
2 tbsp lime juice (from 1 lime)
2.5 tsp minced ginger
1 tsp pressed garlic
1 tbsp agave or maple syrup
1/2 tsp Aleppo chili flakes, or to taste

16 oz kelp noodles, or your noodle of choice (soba)
2 red bell pepper, chopped
400g baby bok choy, fine leaves removed and stems thinly sliced
2 cups edamame, frozen or fresh
1 cup broccoli, chopped

1. If you don’t already have roasted tomatoes, preheat oven to 400F and line a baking sheet with parchment. Place 3 sliced tomatoes on the sheet and drizzle with oil, salt, and pepper. Roast for about 1 hour and 10 mins at 400F. Watch closely during the last 15 minutes of roasting. This should make 1/2 cup tomatoes.

2. For the sauce, combine the coconut milk, water, roasted tomatoes, peanut butter, soy sauce, lime juice, ginger, garlic, sweetener and chili flakes, if using, in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth. Adjust heat to your tastes.

3. Meanwhile, prepare noodles according to package directions. For kelp noodles, that means rinsing under cold water. Drain and set aside.

4. Coat a large non-stick skillet with a drizzle of oil and place over medium high heat. Add bell pepper, bok choy stems, broccoli and edamame and stir fry until crisp tender, about 4-5 minutes.

5. Add drained noodles directly to the pan along with the bok choy greens. Toss to combine.  Add the sauce and toss once again.

6. Simmer an additional 1-2 minutes until everything is coated and the flavours absorbed.  Can serve hot immediately or refrigerate until serving and eat cold. Garnish with cilantro, if desired, and peanuts.

Serves 4.

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. leaf (the indolent cook) said, on December 2, 2011 at 9:40 AM

    Love how everything on your blog looks so healthy and fresh, and this is no exception! The combination of ingredients – beautiful.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 2, 2011 at 9:47 AM

      Thanks leaf. This was a great meal – when you have such fresh ingredients, it can’t help but taste good. :)

  2. Reva said, on December 2, 2011 at 11:07 AM

    Noodle salad with peanut coconut sauce looks super fresh and delicious..:)
    Reva

  3. Wendy @ Celiacs in the House said, on December 2, 2011 at 11:52 AM

    I just tried kelp noodles a few months ago and loved them. What a beautiful dish and its filled with flavors I love.

  4. Joanne said, on December 2, 2011 at 10:46 PM

    I hate it when I find an awesome restaurant only to realize that it’s IMPOSSIBLE to get to on a regular basis! Thrive sounds awesome and if I ever visit you in Canada, we are SO going.

    I love the sound of this dish! Anything peanutty gets my attention without fail.

  5. Ashley said, on December 3, 2011 at 3:14 PM

    Yummmmmm I know I’d love this! I’ve been curious about that mmm sauce so it’s good to see you enjoyed it!

  6. Gretchen @gfedge said, on December 4, 2011 at 8:34 AM

    Who needs a restaurant when you can cook like this? Thanks for sharing on Wellness Weekends!

  7. Dawn said, on December 4, 2011 at 6:15 PM

    Hi Janet! I think I have everything for this but the kelp noodles! I have to fly back to Jersey on Tuesday so I’m not sure I’ll have time to make it before I go. :( I can’t WAIT to try this though!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 4, 2011 at 11:29 PM

      Hey Dawn, Hopefully your veggies will wait for you when you return. This is such a flexible dish, too – throw whatever you have in there with the sauce. Just use any noodles, no need for the kelp. :)

  8. [...] Actually it looked like this: kale, daikon, broccoli, kale, broccoli, broccoli, kale, broccoli, baby bok choy and broccoli, and broccoli with a side of Napa cabbage. I’ll be honest: broccoli was on sale. A few weeks [...]

  9. Ruth said, on December 7, 2011 at 6:47 AM

    Your dish sounds fantastic… so thanks for sharing with Presto Pasta Nights. I love being able to cook something wonderful that was inspired by a terrific restaurant. I must admit, having lived in Toronto and now living in Halifax … 275,000 and have yet to find a truly great vegetarian/vegan restaurant, I’m always dreaming of those I left behind, like Fresh. So where oh where is Thrive Juice Bar?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 7, 2011 at 9:24 AM

      Thanks Ruth. Sometimes you have to bring the fabulous to the kitchen!! But yeah, Thrive is in Waterloo of all places! When I went there, I had actually cycled from Toronto to Waterloo and it was so nice to arrive to meals bursting with veggies. :) I remember they gave us a free wheatgrass shot, too. But I didn’t really like the taste of it. :P

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 7, 2011 at 9:51 AM

      Hey Ruth – Have you seen Fresh’s cookbooks btw? I think they just released a new one. If you are pining for some Fresh, that’s how to do it in Halifax. ;) I’ve posted two recipes already from them and found it better than the resto: Sweet Potato Fries with their Miso Gravy and their Dragon Bowl.

  10. Jamie said, on December 7, 2011 at 11:38 PM

    I’m allergic to peanuts but have soy-butter that I am hoping to use as a viable substitute for peanut sauce – I might try out this recipe with it! Thanks for posting!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 8, 2011 at 11:53 AM

      Hey Jamie, I’ve never tried soy butter, but even almond butter or other nut butters would definitely work for this. :)

  11. [...] raw pad thai on their menu. But it is not anything like the real version. I prefer Thrive‘s version the most but just because it tastes good. Usually one gets a medley of shredded veggies with or without kelp [...]

  12. [...] from The Taste Space made Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce. If you are in the mood for Thai food and love peanut sauce, do try this recipe! I have yet to [...]

  13. [...] Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce [...]

  14. [...]  I decided to go super healthy for lunch.  I found a post somewhere on the internet, HERE, for a thai like stir fry.  They suggested using kelp noodles.  Let me tell you a little [...]

  15. Stacked High « Newest Obsession said, on January 25, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    [...] 4:30 pm: Kelp noodles with coconut-sunflower seed butter sauce modified, but not perfected from this recipe. [...]

  16. [...] was a quick noodle stir-fry. With the garam masala, it was savoury. It lacked the sweetness from coconut-peanut sauce, and originally I thought it was rather pungent but truthfully, as I ate the leftovers, that was [...]

  17. [...] them into smaller balls if I knew they would be going on top of a salad. I also found out that the Peanut Mmmm Sauce and even moreso, the Mojo sauce were great burger [...]

  18. [...] the dressing made this quite a light peanut dressing. I normally pair coconut milk with my peanut dressings, so this was a nice change. Light and refreshing, yet still substantial. Perfect to eat during this [...]

  19. [...] Dressing Confetti Veggie Salad with Mustard Curry Dressing Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce Spicy Peanut Udon Noodles with Tofu and Broccoli Creamy Green on Green Pasta (aka Raw Kelp Noodles [...]

  20. [...] Vegetables are commonly added to sauce to make them smooth (cauliflower, zucchini, sweet potato and roasted tomatoes come to mind), and I have even added carrots to smoothies before (for [...]


What do you think?

