the taste space

Thai Veggie Patties

Posted in Mains (Vegetarian), Salads by janet @ the taste space on December 5, 2011

I may have a blog, but I still feel inept with the latest technology. I am still using Microsoft Office 2003 and I have no cell phone. I constantly have to ask Rob how to work his Android phone and navigate his Apple laptop. And sometimes, I make boo-boos with my posts… my top recipes of 2011… yeah, don’t postdate that for January 1, 2011. Because that isn’t post-dated at all. :P Sorry for the New Year’s teaser, especially since it is still in my Google Reader despite its deletion on my blog. Although the worse is that you have to wait until mid-December for that fabulous cookie recipe! ;) Until then, I have another recipe with hidden beans… and hidden  broccoli!

Veggie burgers? Veggie patties? Bean cakes?

These are the first veggie “burger” I have made. I think veggie patty is a better descriptor since it isn’t as “meaty” as typical burgers. What can you expect from chickpeas, broccoli and oats? Well, when they are combined with peanut butter, sesame oil, garlic, ginger and cilantro, it is a pretty powerful flavour-house.

This recipe is courtesy of MamaPea through her cookbook Peas and Thank You (recipe also posted here). The patties were simple to whip together in a food processor and I appreciated their complex flavours.  The hint of peanut butter, with the spices worked really well together. I just wish they were a bit more firm (perhaps more oats?). If you camouflaged the burger in a bun, you might not notice the texture. However, I opted to plate mine overtop zucchini noodles with scattered pineapple and Napa cabbage, drizzled here with sweet chili sauce. As a salad topper, they were great! Next time, I might bake them into smaller balls if I knew they would be going on top of a salad. I also found out that the Peanut Mmmm Sauce and even moreso, the Mojo sauce were great burger spreads.

This is being submitted to this month’s My Legume Love Affair, hosted by Kiran and to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Thai Veggie Patties

1/3 cup old-fashioned oats, ground into a coarse flour
1.5 cups cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed if canned
2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoons lime juice
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic
2 teaspoons minced ginger
2 tablespoons natural peanut butter
2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
3/4 cup broccoli slaw

-hamburger buns, lettuce, pineapple, sauce, etc that you like!

1. In a food processor or blender, grind oats. Add chickpeas, soy sauce, lime juice, sesame oil, garlic, ginger, peanut butter, cilantro and broccoli slaw and pulse until mixture is combined yet still slightly chunky. Chill mixture for 30 minutes.

2. Coat a skillet with cooking spray or canola oil and heat over medium-high heat. Score bean mixture into quarters and form each portion into a patty. Fry in skillet for 5 to 6 minutes on each side.

3. Do as you please with these veggie patties: serve on top of toasted buns with pineapple, or serve on top of your favourite veggies and smother it in a dressing. I thought it worked well with sweet chili sauce, a coconut-peanut sauce and was delectable with the Canary Island-inspired Mojo sauce.

Makes 4 patties.

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Priya said, on December 5, 2011 at 6:47 AM

    Wonderful platter,inviting.

  2. Dawn said, on December 5, 2011 at 7:41 AM

    Don’t feel bad…I can’t believe I even have a blog up and running. And office 03 is on my computer at work!
    Love the thai cakes!!!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 5, 2011 at 10:56 AM

      My new desk has Microsoft Office 2007 and even that is giving me difficulties trying to figure out how to do everything as quickly as I normally do… gah! technology! :P

      Change is good in the kitchen only, right? ;) Spice is the variety of life… no?

  3. Amy (Savory Moments) said, on December 5, 2011 at 8:06 AM

    I like that these patties are made with chickpeas and oats because while I enjoy veggie burgers, I can’t eat a lot of soy and/or gluten that tends to make up the bulk of a lot of veggies patties/burgers. But, beans are wonderful! I, too, and behind the times in the world of technology….

  4. Caitlin said, on December 5, 2011 at 8:28 AM

    i feel that way about technology, too. i still have an older phone that has no internet capabilities and i can’t text pictures(or receive them), which is annoying. my husband is all about technology, though :/

    these veggie patties look delicious! i usually shy away from making any type of “burger” recipe, but i love the ingredients in this one and also the simplicity ;)

  5. Cara said, on December 5, 2011 at 12:15 PM

    Burgers? Patties? Nah. How about thai flavored falafel! I think that’s what I’ll do, when I make them :)

  6. Joanne said, on December 5, 2011 at 10:05 PM

    I really need to start making some of MamaPea’s recipes…they all look SO GOOD.

    I did notice that post slip-up…and I’m sad I have to wait. But you’re doing a very good job of pacifying me with this burger.

  7. eva @5fruitsNveggies said, on December 6, 2011 at 12:39 PM

    yep, i made these! and the broccoli that was included in the patties concerned me at first–thinking they’d be watery–but oh my, they actually gave the patties moisture and held together!…..my kids loved them!

  8. […] kale, daikon, broccoli, kale, broccoli, broccoli, kale, broccoli, baby bok choy and broccoli, and broccoli with a side of Napa cabbage. I’ll be honest: broccoli was on sale. A few weeks in a row. I’ll try to make my next […]

  9. Ashley said, on December 9, 2011 at 9:49 AM

    Haha yea I was wondering about that top recipes of 2011 post and why some of the links in it didn’t work. ;) I look forward to the cookie!! These veggie patties sound super delicious! A bean recipe I can get on board with. :) I love that there’s peanut butter and cilantro in there.

  10. […] Now for the cookies you’ve been waiting patiently for… […]


What do you think?

