the taste space

Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Guacamame or Edamame Guacamole)

Posted in Appetizers, Favourites, Sides by janet @ the taste space on December 10, 2011


Christmas arrived early this year. Twice.

After julienning a bunch of veggies, it was enough to convince Rob to invest in a spiralizer.

After eating the kale chips at Raw Aura, it was enough to suggest that a dehydrator may be a good idea, too.

Rob can be bad at keeping secrets. He leaked that he wanted to buy me a dehydrator for Christmas in September.. or maybe October. I rationalized that it was in both our interests to get it while we were still brimming with autumn harvests (mainly our herbs and peppers). Hehehe… Rob had tried drying his chili peppers in the oven on the “keep warm” setting and it took many days to dry completely. Not that energy or time efficient. So…. the dehydrator arrived early and we dehydrated our summer bounty of chili peppers. Then moved on to apple chips, dehydrated pineapple and kale chips.

But it wasn’t much of a surprise when the dehydrator arrived. Rob didn’t even hide when it was available to be picked up from the store. :P

What was a surprise was when my first issue of the Nutrition Action Health Letter arrived in my mailbox this week. I’ve written about this fabulous publication three times before, which I describe as the Consumer’s Reports of healthy food. I usually read my Mom’s leftover issues, but this time she bought me my own subscription. Yahoo! However, someone goofed (not my Mom) and I received the December 2011 issue. Not really a problem because I love this issue, but it arrived before Christmas.. totally spoiling the Christmas Day surprise. :(

The December 2011 issue, itself, was a great issue. The feature article is all about which foods actually improve your health based on scientific research. Want to lower your cholesterol? Your best bet in to focus on foods high in unsaturated fats like oils, nuts and fatty fish. The second best option is to consume foods high in soluble fibre like beans, oats and psyllium. As they explain, it is important to replace foods with trans- and saturated fats (meat, butter, cheese, cream, etc). It can be too easy to add additional calories through nuts, which are caloric-dense, but if you increase your refined carbs as a result of decreasing your fats, your triglycerides could increase, too (not good). They also talk about the best foods to protect your eyes, prevent colon cancer, staying regular and lowering your blood pressure (yes, the DASH diet is better than any single medication on the market).

Previously, my favourite article has been their ratings of vegetables where kale tops their list. I know all veggies are good for you, but I am such a numbers girl. However, with my new subscription they sent me a small pamphlet with ratings of other staples: fruit, beans (!!!), grains, lean meats and spreads. Of course, I was drawn to the best of the beans ratings.

While I know each bean is different, I always thought they were nearly similar nutritionally – full of fibre, folate and other vitamins. Only Nutrition Action would rate them! They based their ratings on the percentage of daily value of that each cup of cooked bean possessed for fibre, protein, folate, magnesium, iron, copper, zinc, vitamin B6 and potassium.

Interestingly enough, at the top of their list was edamame and at the bottom of the list was tofu, both soy products. Compared to other beans, edamame (soybeans) are unique because they contain more iron and protein (also fat!) with decreased levels of folate and fibre. This explains why they are so creamy. :)

In honour of winning the title of “best bean”, I thought I’d share a fabulous avocado-edamame dip: guacamole with edamame… guacamame? Or, as Tess called it in Radiance 4 Life: Green Velvet Guacamole. I modified the recipe slightly by increasing the lime juice and garlic for some added zip. If you like bits in your guac, feel free to add chopped tomatoes and onions.. or whatever floats your boat. The edamame adds creaminess and body to your dip but more importantly, additional fibre and protein than you would get from an extra avocado.

I love frozen edamame (ok only the pre-shelled kind, otherwise I start to curse), because they are easy to throw into all sorts of dishes- stir fries, soups and salads. Need only a cup? Not a problem!

Here are some of my favourite recipes with edamame:

Edamame Miso Dip (Hummus, Asian-style!)

Kelp Noodles, Baby Bok Choy, Broccoli and Red Pepper with a Coconut-Peanut Sauce

Smoky Tempeh and Chard Stew with Edamame

Asparagus, Strawberry and Basil Salad with Mosto Cotto


This is my submission  to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Guacamame or Edamame Guacamole)

1 medium avocado
1/2 cup frozen edamame, steamed or thawed
3 tbsp lime juice (juice from 1 lime)
2 cloves of garlic, pressed or minced
1/2 tsp sea salt

1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth (or your desired texture).

Serves 2 – if you’re lucky!

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on December 11, 2011 at 7:12 AM

    I definitely always thought that beans were nutritionally similar as well! Craziness! Learn something new every day. Now I’m going to stock up on edamame and start incorporating it into my life FOR REAL. This guac looks like the perfect place to start.

  2. [...] are tons of gift guides floating around, but having just written about my awesome Nutrition Action Health Letter gift, I figured it wasn’t too late to share [...]

  3. Ashley said, on December 12, 2011 at 10:02 AM

    I looove guacamole, but haven’t tried it with edamame yet (which I also love). Must try this! Too bad you won’t have as many Christmas surprises, but the dehydrator and subscription sound like great gifts. :) I love the NAL too but sometimes they print things that I don’t agree with. Like I’ve read about how mushrooms have a lot of great properties, yet they rate them so low. I know they can only pick a few things to score them on otherwise it would be hard to rate them but still!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 12, 2011 at 10:05 AM

      Yeah I think garlic is way at the bottom of their lists, too… it just is based on the criteria they use… ;) In my mind, a variety of veggies is always best… otherwise I’d get really bored!! :)

  4. [...] (Now that I have a dehydrator, I have no excuses!) [...]

  5. [...] Green Velvet Guacamole from The Taste Space. The secret ingredient adds protein and texture. [...]

  6. [...] bought me the Cadillac, I mean Excalibur, of dehydrators for Christmas. While I quickly made some snacks and treats (apple chips, zucchini chips and kale chips, galore!), [...]

  7. [...] everyone has their favourite guac recipe. I haven’t experimented much but I loved this creamy guacamole with edamame.  You see, I don’t buy avocados that often. They are expensive in Canada. I [...]

  8. [...] Maca My Day – Dark Chocolate Raspberry Shake – Strawberry Vanilla Milkshake – Breakfast Quinoa – Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Edamame Guacamole) – Supercharged Hummus – Lemon Asparagus Quinoa Toss – Asparagus Walnut Sunshine Salad – 15-Minute [...]

  9. [...] made some fabulously creamy edamame dips (edamame miso dip and edamame guacamole), so I knew this wouldn’t disappoint. I liked Gena’s suggestion for ginger and lime. [...]

  10. [...] Guacamole with pineapple and cucumber or edamame [...]

  11. [...] my versions. Chunky like my pineapple and cucumber guacamole but ramped up with chickpeas like my edamame guacamole. Filled with fresh cilantro, a zip from green onions and citrus tang from lime, this worked really [...]

  12. […] of the recipes I have tried can be found here, but some highlights include: Creamy Low-Fat Hummus, Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Edamame Guacamole), Baked Lemon Cilantro Pakoras, 15-Minute Zippy Garlic-Basil Marinara with Zucchini […]

  13. […] Green Velvet Guacamole (aka Guacamame or Edamame Guacamole) […]


What do you think?

