the taste space

Two-Bite Hemp Brownies

Posted in Desserts by Janet M on December 14, 2011


When you start baking desserts with non-traditional ingredients, you may start to doubt yourself. If you thought black bean cookies were weird, how about hemp seeds and stevia?! Coconut sugar? What the heck? How will they taste?

Ricki is the baker extraordinaire who creates all sorts of vegan treats with wholesome ingredients. However, I am usually daunted by her long ingredient lists… that usually have uncommon ingredients. I was immediately smitten by her two-bite hemp brownies, and after a trip to Ambrosia, I finally had hemp seeds, coconut sugar and stevia. These ingredients allow you to create a low-glycemic fudgy brownie with healthy fats from the almonds and hemp seeds. Yes, I said fudgy!

This was my first time using stevia, a plant-based zero calorie sweetener. It has a distinct aftertaste. That’s the only clue that these brownies are on the healthier side. A walk on the wild side.

This is my submission to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend.

Two-Bite Hemp Brownies

1/4 cup coconut sugar
30-35 drops liquid vanilla stevia, to your taste
3 Tbsp water
2 tsp  vanilla extract
1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp (20 ml) olive or nut oil
1 cup raw almonds, with skin
1/4 heaping cup (30 g) hemp seeds
2 heaping Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp fine sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line your mini muffin tray with wrappers or lightly grease and dust with cocoa powder (I used a teflon-coated mini muffin tray). Set aside until needed.

2. In a small container, stir to dissolve the sugar in the vanilla, water and oil.  Set aside.

3. Place the almonds, hemp seeds, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a food processor. Process until you have a powder, which could take a few minutes.  Add the wet ingredients and pulse a few times, until just combined.  Scrape the sides of the processor bowl if necessary.

4. Divide batter amongst the mini muffin cups.  They should be very full as they won’t rise much. Bake in preheated oven 15-18 minutes, until a tester comes out just clean (a few moist crumbs are ok).  Allow to cool 10 minutes before removing from the pan. Cool completely before eating. Store at room temperature for a few days.

Makes 9-12 brownies.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ricki said, on December 14, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    Kudos on a brave trek to the “wild” side!! Hope you enjoyed the brownies. I’ve found that the trick with stevia is “less is more”. When I make these, I always aim for a little less sweet. Especially when stevia is combined with cocoa or chocolate, it can swing from “good” to “aftertaste” pretty quickly. I think you’ll find that if you use a few drops (maybe 5) in your smoothies or oatmeal, for instance, you won’t notice the same aftertaste. (Which brand did you buy? My fave in Canada is NOW. In the US, it’s NuNaturals). :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 14, 2011 at 9:36 AM

      Thanks for the recipe and tips, Ricki. I definitely taste the stevia, even if I add a few drops to my unsweetened almond milk but I guess I should experiment further. :) I have the NOW vanilla stevia, I think, if that makes a difference.

  2. Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table said, on December 14, 2011 at 9:24 AM

    I love “odd” ingredients! These look perfect – and much better for you that those pre-packages varieties!

  3. Joanne said, on December 14, 2011 at 10:21 PM

    I’ve tried really hard to bake with stevia before but just can’t get around that aftertaste! The texture of these sounds spot-on though!

  4. Ashley said, on December 17, 2011 at 10:03 PM

    I’ve never used stevia before. I’ve had it in teas I think and don’t really like the aftertaste. But these little brownie bites look really good! Love the sound of the fudgy texture.

  5. Lauren A. said, on December 19, 2011 at 3:38 PM

    These look yummy! How do you think they would be if i cooked them in a regular sized muffin tin? How should I adjust the cooking temperature or time?

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 19, 2011 at 9:46 PM

      Hey Lauren, If you make big muffins, then they’d definitely need longer cooking.. but if you kept it at 1.5 tbsp batter per cup, then it might even be less cooking time since they will be flat. Not sure if that helps, but it is the best advice I can give! You’ll just have to test as you go.

  6. […] they may not be the best brownies, compared to all other brownies, they are definitely wonderful and possibly my favourite protein snack, to date. (For those […]

  7. […] me to guest post on her blog. I have been reading it for years and enjoyed many of her creations (hemp brownies, the best vegan cheesecake, warm chickpea and artichoke salad and cocoa mint nibbles). All the […]


What do you think?

