the taste space

(Battle of the) Lemon Zucchini Cookie

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on December 15, 2011

Of all the cookies this week, the Ginger Oatmeal Raisin Cookies probably win for packing in tons of nutrient-dense foods.

I consider this an unhealthy cookie with zucchini as a bonus. There are not many nutrients to gain from white sugar, butter and white flour. But hey, if you are going to indulge, you may as well reap the benefits of some hidden veggies. ;)

As you can tell, I am actually unearthing an older post that I had written up many moons ago, prior to my vegan days. I don’t why, but it takes me a while to post up my sweet treats. Last year, I posted about the Key Lime Meltaways I had made the year earlier! I suppose I like to post things in season.. and come January, cookies don’t seem so mouthwatering.

I made these during the fall, when zucchini was brimming from my friend’s garden. I was heading to a party and decided to have a bake-off of two different lemon zucchini cookies (I know, I couldn’t decide which one to make, so I made both!). I quizzed people at the party about the “secret ingredient”. Despite the hint with the little green flecks, no one could figure out zucchini was hidden in there. You really couldn’t taste it amongst the lemon and vanilla flavours. Instead, it adds moistness.

Despite both having similar ingredients, I preferred the recipe from Food52 (pictured above). It produced a cookie that was more airy but firm at the same time. Martha’s cookie from Everyday Food (September 2009) was more dense and the cornmeal added a different texture (pictured below). I also made bigger cookies with Martha’s recipe. Don’t get me wrong, they are both nice cookies, and a great alternative on a cookie platter. However, if you have a choice, shun Martha. I actually have no problems shunning Martha, because when I battled her Earl Grey Tea Shortbread cookies, her recipe was the loser. By a long shot.


PS. Since I made these in my pre-vegan days, I haven’t tested out the vegan alternatives with oil and chia eggs. There are vegan zucchini cookies that look similar, so I think the alternatives could work. Baker’s discretion, though!

This is my submission to Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice for this week’s Magazine Mondays and to this month’s Cookie Blog Hop.

The Better Lemon Zucchini Cookie

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch coarse salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature (or oil)
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg (or 1 tbsp chia + 3 tbsp water)
2 tablespoons fresh lemon zest (I used the zest from 2 lemons and 1 orange)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup shredded zucchini (around 1 small zucchini)

1. Preheat oven to 375F.
2. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
3. Combine butter and sugar in a mixer, beat until light and fluffy.
4. Add egg and mix until incorporated. Add lemon zest and zucchini, mix until fully combined.
5. With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients until all of the flour has been added and is completely mixed in. Do not overbeat.
6. Drop by rounded teaspoon onto a prepared cookie sheet and bake for 14-16 minutes, or until edges of cookie are golden.

Makes 40.

Martha’s Lemon Zucchini Cornmeal Cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature (or oil)
1 cup confectioners’ sugar (icing sugar)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 teaspoon packed finely grated lemon zest
1 teaspoon coarse salt
1 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
1/2 cup fine cornmeal
1 medium zucchini, grated on small holes of a box grater (about 1 cup)

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar with a wooden spoon until pale and fluffy. Stir in vanilla, lemon zest, and salt. Add flour and cornmeal and mix until mixture is crumbly. Add zucchini and stir until a thick dough forms.
2. Drop dough by rounded tablespoons, 2 inches apart, onto two parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake until cookies are light golden brown at edges, 25 to 30 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Let cool completely on wire racks.

Makes 25 cookies.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elpiniki said, on December 15, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Hi there! Lovely cookies!

  2. Joanne said, on December 15, 2011 at 3:04 PM

    I love zucchini in baked goods and the lemony flavor probably makes it taste fresh to compliment the the veggie inside! Delicious all around.

  3. Michelle @ Find Your Balance said, on December 15, 2011 at 4:31 PM

    The thing that really just hit me was the idea to use chia seeds instead of egg. Wow, yes! Of course. I’d always just heard of using flaxseed.

  4. Amy (Savory Moments) said, on December 16, 2011 at 7:48 AM

    I’m going to have to keep these in mind next late summer when we are always looking for ways to use up all the zucchini! They look delicious and fresh.

  5. Ashley said, on December 17, 2011 at 10:59 PM

    Whaaaaaaaat I LOVE Martha’s earl grey shortbread!! You’re crazy haha. I use the Tazo Earl Grey tea as it’s so deliciously aromatic. Anyway they’re not vegan so not like you’ll be making them now. I’ve never tried zucchini cookies before but the combination of lemon and zucchini sounds really good!

  6. Ivonne said, on January 24, 2012 at 12:10 AM

    Can’t wait for zucchini season again!

  7. [...] a lot of MM links to catch up on so here’s who’s joining me for the first MM of 2012: Janet of the taste space made Lemon Zucchini Cookies from Food52 and Caramelized Onion and Cabbage Chowder with Sweet Potatoes and White Beans from Vegetarian [...]

  8. Jill said, on July 9, 2012 at 10:36 AM

    Hi, just made your cookies and they were really good but I baked them for 12 minutes and they were burnt….probably only need about 8 or 9 minutes.


What do you think?

