the taste space

Raw Chocolate Macaroons

Posted in Desserts by janet @ the taste space on December 16, 2011

Rob and I were recently in New York City and bought a few raw treats while visiting Whole Foods. Namely some chai spice and mint chip raw macaroons from Emmy’s Organics. They weren’t as decadent as the macaroons from Rawlicious; they were a bit more crumbly, too, but I definitely enjoyed the flavours. One package managed to sneak its way back to Toronto.

Rob was out one night, and I decided to open the last packet: 3 mint chip macaroons. I ate one, then quickly followed it up with #2. I definitely had to leave the last one for Rob, right?

I emailed Rob to let him know I was struggling with leaving him the last one…. and then told him I was leaving.

To go to the bulk food store (aka our other pantry) to buy coconut and cocoa to make my own macaroons.

(Now that I have a dehydrator, I have no excuses!)

I used Happy Foody’s recipe as my main guide- I halved the recipe, used agave instead of maple syrup and melted my coconut oil. I stuck one macaroon  in the freezer for more immediate gratification, but placed the remainder in my dehydrator.

Over twenty four hours later, I had my macaroons. This was no instant gratification. But darn, they were great. The freezer version was too firm and sweet for my liking, but the dehydrated treats were perfection. Not as cloyingly sweet with a chewy middle but a crispy exterior.

In retrospect, making 16 more macaroons was probably not the best antidote to not eating the last macaroon. :P

Although, I definitely spread the macaroon lovin’. My brother and sister-in-law had us over for dinner, and I surprised them with a handful of macaroons for dessert (they are, thankfully, not afraid of raw foods).  They were as equally surprised as my mom that I was making sweets. Anyhow, Rob and I are happily munching through the rest.. :)

This is my submission to this month’s Healing Foods featuring Healthy Food Gifts, to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend and to this month’s Cookie Blog Hop.

Raw Chocolate Macaroons

1.5 cups dried, unsweetened coconut flakes
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup raw agave (or maple syrup) – I may use less next time
1/6 cup melted coconut oil
1/2 tsp vanilla extract (or more, the original recipe was 1/2 tbsp but I goofed up)
1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients and stir well to combine.

2. Roll together a tbsp of the dough onto dehydrator screens (or a plate/cutting board to freeze). Dehydrate for 12-24 hours at 115F until crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside (mine took more like 28 hours). If you don’t have a dehydrator, you can freeze them, too.

Makes 16-20 macaroons.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michelle @ Find Your Balance said, on December 16, 2011 at 8:57 PM

    Thanks! I have an Excalibur that definitely does not get enough use :-)

  2. Joanne said, on December 17, 2011 at 3:44 PM

    Haha I do love your solution. Only have one left? Just make more! I could totally see myself becoming addicted to these!

  3. Richa@HobbyandMore said, on December 17, 2011 at 5:51 PM

    coconut and chocolate.. perfect! i havent made macaroons in too long… i got my mom hooked on some raw balls of goodness.. else she was going to make all laddoo balls loaded with ghee all of diwali in october.

  4. betty said, on December 19, 2011 at 1:00 AM

    this looks SO good, your pictures are beautiful!

  5. Ashley said, on December 20, 2011 at 12:12 AM

    These sound so good!! Do you think it’s justified to buy a dehydrator just to make macaroons?? Haha probably but that’s mostly why I want one.

  6. […] the Cadillac, I mean Excalibur, of dehydrators for Christmas. While I quickly made some snacks and treats (apple chips, zucchini chips and kale chips, galore!), what I really wanted to make were crackers, […]

  7. lawstudentcook said, on January 8, 2012 at 11:43 PM

    These are intriguing and look delicious!

  8. […] Christmas dinner, I had Chickpea Piccata on the menu. My recent meal at Candle 79 in New York City was a definite highlight with their delicious Seitan Piccata and I was itching to try something […]

  9. […] chocolate kale chips, whereas I preferred the Sarah’s maple sesame version. I’ve made raw chocolate macaroons and raw chocolate mint brownies with delicious results. Zucchini wraps, […]

  10. Krista Foley said, on July 13, 2012 at 1:32 PM

    I just made these yesterday. They are fabulous! The dough is delicious on it’s own – they can be dehydrated fully, dehydrated to little fudge balls, or just eaten as cookie dough! Thanks for sharing, I will make these often. They are too addicting. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on July 13, 2012 at 3:00 PM

      I love recipes that are this versatile, as you say. I agree, they are too addicting… but it is nice to be able to whip them out quickly without having to wait for the dehydrator. ;)

  11. Macarons au chocolat « soya & chocolat said, on February 10, 2013 at 8:22 AM

    […] des Raw Chocolate Macaroons de Taste […]

  12. […] Houston, we shared a veritable feast for breakfast and these were my favourite treat. I have made raw (chocolate) macaroons before, but these were simply delightful. Apple, cinnamon and caramel-like dates are pulsed […]

  13. […] have made raw macaroons before (raw chocolate macaroons previously, and non-traditional but lovely raw apple cinnamon macaroons), but they both used the dehydrator, […]


What do you think?

