the taste space

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds

Posted in Breakfasts by janet @ the taste space on December 20, 2011

I thought my friend with a kitchen with 4 spices was minimalistic.

Not so. It can get much more barren. At least there were pots and pans. And a Magic bullet!

I recently stayed with my friend in her tiny bachelor apartment in New York City. Before heading out to buy some fixins for some meals, I scoured her kitchen… It was pretty bare. Some olive oil and salt. Some pepper. Some knives and a cutting board. A microwave but she didn’t have any pots or pans for her stovetop. My plan for a dinner stir-fry was thwarted. I knew I had to become a bit more creative.

Off I went to Trader Joe’s, a haven for those who don’t cook. Or chop. They take that fun away from you, but it is great for travellers. :)

Armed with chopped kale, lemon, roasted beets and baked tofu, I had the ingredients to make a tasty salad for a few days. I actually wanted to make a wrap, but they don’t sell Swiss chard or even large (uncut) kale leaves. I used the simple dressing from this kale salad with cranberries as a rough guide.  I tried to make a dressing with some hummus, too, but it didn’t work out too well since it was rather dry. Next time, I might try adding more lemon juice, like Kalyn does here.

For breakfast, I picked up some apples and splurged when I spotted all things pumpkin on sale: pumpkin butter and pumpkin pie spice. The golden roasted flax seeds were also a nice touch to add some healthy fats. I had resigned myself to making either overnight oats (sans chia) or buying some instant oats since I couldn’t use the stovetop. Peering through the oatmeal shelf, though, I learned that I could actually microwave the traditional rolled oats for a quick breakfast. Two minutes in the microwave. Why would you even think of using the instant oats when this is nearly just an instant? (OK, maybe I would use the instant kind when I was stuck somewhere without a microwave… like a shoddy hotel room!)

Thankfully, I learn something new every day. Even the real basic stuff I seemed to have skipped over…  I usually cook my oats on the stovetop, but this microwave method surely beats my 45-minute brew of steel cut oats. And cuts down on dirty dishes, too. :)

This is my submission to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend and to Cara’s Healthy Heart Challenge.

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds

1/2 cup rolled oats
1 cup water
pinch salt
1-2 tsp pumpkin butter, or to taste
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (recipe here)
1 tbsp roasted golden flax seeds

1. Mix together the rolled oats and water with the salt in a large microwave-safe bowl (preferably a big bowl so it doesn’t boil over).

2. Microwave on high for 2 minutes. Mix and figure out how much more to microwave. Times will depend on your microwave. I suggest watching it now to make sure it doesn’t boil over!

3. When down, mix the pumpkin butter and pumpkin pie spice into the oatmeal. Top with golden flax seeds.

Serves 1.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy (Savory Moments) said, on December 20, 2011 at 7:33 AM

    I love pumpkin oatmeal. I like to make overnight oats with pumpkin puree and spices. It’s so yummy.

  2. Rob said, on December 20, 2011 at 8:05 AM

    This recipe is a Janet original! I heartily approve :)

  3. sprint2thetable said, on December 20, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    Very resourceful! My pumpkin pie oatmeal has pumpkin puree in it – I can’t believe I never thought to use pumpkin butter. Just in time for breakfast this morning, too. :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 20, 2011 at 9:25 AM

      Pumpkin puree is a great idea, too, except I hate opening the can without a plan for the whole thing! I can’t stand it if it goes bad before I am ready!

  4. Dawn said, on December 20, 2011 at 12:04 PM

    Just brilliant Janet. Way to overcome the lack of cooking paraphernalia! I have yet to make it to a trader joes but it’s on my list.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on December 20, 2011 at 6:48 PM

      Do they have TJ’s in Florida? I don’t think they are ubiquitous across America just yet… it is a fun store, though, for sure!

  5. Joanne said, on December 20, 2011 at 9:29 PM

    You should have come over to my place! I would have kept you well fed :P

    But TJ’s is a great second option. I had no idea about microwaving the instant oats! And i love all this pumpkin spice business.

  6. [...] we asked my kitchen-challenged friend if we could pick up anything from the grocery store for her, she asked for Brussels [...]

  7. Ashley said, on January 3, 2012 at 12:01 AM

    Oo I’ve never tried roasted flax seeds, they sound good! I sometimes microwave my overnight oats. It doesn’t get as thick as cooking them on the stovetop but it’s much easier! And the pumpkin butter in this oatmeal sounds delicious. I’ll have to splurge on it one day!

  8. [...] to bring me back to my normal routine: tea and grapefruit to start the day. I planned for a simple oatmeal+flax+fruit breakfast, but instead was wooed by Ruth’s Chia Goodness at T&T. Basically it is a souped up chia [...]

  9. [...] Cut Oatmeal (aka Mango Shrikhand Oatmeal) Mango Oatmeal Balsamic Lemon-Blueberry Steel Cut Oats Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal with Roasted Flax Seeds Pan-Fried Oatmeal with Peach-Blueberry Vanilla Compote Multigrain Oatmeal with Quinoa and Kasha [...]

  10. [...] shared travelling tips and recipes before, but this is different. I feel like I have discovered a new way to find [...]


What do you think?

