the taste space

Smoky Split Pea Soup with Roasted Garlic and Sage

Posted in Favourites, Mains (Vegetarian), Soups by Janet M on January 18, 2012

Split pea soup is underrated. Oftentimes, vegan authors are almost apologetic for including split pea soups in their cookbooks.

If you have a bland split pea soup in your cookbook, then, yes, you should feel ashamed. The folks at Rebar need not be worried, because their split pea soup is fantastic. In my notes next to the recipe, I wrote “silly good” and a few of my adjustments (smoked paprika for the chipotle puree, and yellow instead of green split peas). Do you write in your cookbooks? I feel kind of dirty doing it, but it is the best place to keep your notes!

Like most beans dishes, the spices and seasonings are integral to the final dish. Paired with the sweet peas, you add roasted garlic, smoked paprika and liquid smoke. Carrot, too. And while I added 1/4 cup of fresh sage, it wasn’t a dominant flavour. All the flavours mingle so well together, it creates a soup with different levels. This is definitely a soup I will warm up to again this winter.


This is being submitted to this week’s Weekend Herb Blogging, hosted by Simona.

Smoky Split Pea Soup with Roasted Garlic and Sage

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 small onion, sliced
1 carrot, chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 bay leaves
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 cup fresh sage, minced, divided
1 cup yellow split peas, soaked overnight
4 cups vegetable stock
1 whole garlic bulb, roasted
1/4 tsp liquid smoke
Salt and pepper to taste

1. If you haven’t roasted your garlic yet, start now by chopping off the top, sprinkling with oil, salt and pepper. Wrap tightly in aluminum foil and roast at 400F for 45 minutes. Set aside to cool when finished.

2. Meanwhile, drain the peas and rinse in cold water. Heat the oil in a large pan and sauté the onion until soft. Add carrot, crushed garlic, bay leaves, smoked paprika and half of the sage. Stir and sauté for 10 minutes, then add in the split peas and stock. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer until the peas are soft and falling apart, approximately 45-75 minutes (it will depend on the age of your beans).

2. Remove the bay leaves. Squeeze the flesh from the roasted garlic bulb and add it to the soup pot with the liquid smoke, the remaining sage, and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Use an immersion blender to blend the soup (consider pureeing only a portion). If it is too thick, feel free to add more vegetable stock, especially once it thickens as leftovers.

Serves 4.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Zoa said, on January 18, 2012 at 10:52 AM

    I have the Rebar cookbook but haven’t tried this recipe yet. Maybe today…heh, I find I’m saying this about pretty much everything you post. I’m a chipotle fool so I would keep that in but I like your switch of yellow for green split peas!

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 18, 2012 at 7:33 PM

      What else have to tried from the cookbook, Zoa? Sometimes I want to make everything in it, and other times I anguish over the long ingredient lists. ;)

      I know you are into preparing single portion meals… it would be an interesting (but time consuming!) way to try out many new recipes.. ;)

      but if you make it, definitely let me know how you like it. :)

  2. Sarah B @ Bake + Bike said, on January 18, 2012 at 2:20 PM

    Wow that definitely sounds like a special split pea soup! So many intense flavours!

    The Rebar cookbook is a gem- I remember making the yam and peanut soup and it was delightful.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 18, 2012 at 7:31 PM

      Hey Sarah, Yeah, I have loved everything I’ve made from the cookbook so far. The borscht was also very good. :)

  3. Joanne said, on January 18, 2012 at 9:58 PM

    Smoked paprika is, I think, the key to making so many of life’s dishes so much better! This is not bland by any means!

  4. jane said, on January 22, 2012 at 11:34 AM

    I agree that split pea soup is underrated! I love it! This sounds really good!

  5. Ashley said, on January 22, 2012 at 2:15 PM

    Oo great idea to replace the chipotle with smoked paprika!! I don’t really like chipotle, plus I never use up that whole can, so I will have to try this substitution out. :) I used to be super anti-writing in books but now I always write in them.

  6. Simona said, on January 23, 2012 at 2:08 AM

    I must admit I have yet to prepare a soup with split peas. I have no excuse and no reason, since I like split peas. I am intrigued by the fact that sage was not dominant: I am often worried about using too much sage. I occasionally write in cookbooks, but only in pencil. Thank you so much for your contribution to WHB!

  7. Caffettiera said, on January 30, 2012 at 8:56 AM

    I like split peas soup as well, it is so easy and filling, but you are right, you need a good recipe for it. This smoky and garlicky take sounds like a winner.

    I do write in my cookbooks as well although never on the page (they are already splashed of food). I add little post-its. It is vital on American cookbooks since I don’t have measuring cups and I don’t want to do the conversion every time. Sometimes I have used the post-it trick when I want to give a recipe book as a gift: I highlight my favourite recipes by adding my notes. I hope it gives a bit of a personal touch.

    • janet @ the taste space said, on January 30, 2012 at 9:51 AM

      I love the post-it note idea for cookbook gifts! SOmetimes I find old post-its get sticky if ever removed, which is why I don’t use them. But I love the personal touch when gift giving. :)

      • Lana said, on January 22, 2013 at 5:04 PM

        I see bay leaves in recipe but I don’t see you describing how to use them…what did you do with them? did you add them at the last moment?

      • janet @ the taste space said, on January 22, 2013 at 5:22 PM

        Oh thanks for pointing that out! I added it while the peas were simmering and then removed it prior to pureeing it. I will fix the recipe.

      • Lana said, on January 22, 2013 at 5:23 PM

        GreatI I’m simmering them now, so perfect timing. Will let you know how it will come out! :-) Thank you for your fast repley!

      • Lana said, on January 22, 2013 at 5:26 PM

        Also, Whole Foods did not have yellow split peas, so I’m making the soup with green peas. I’m sure it still will come out delicious!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on January 22, 2013 at 5:27 PM

        Awesome! Please let me know how you like it! :)

      • Lana said, on January 22, 2013 at 6:36 PM

        So, I’m done cooking the soup. Because I used green peas instead of yellow, my soup a little bit different color; however, It is so yummy, that I didn’t wait for my husband to get home. I love pea soups anyway, but this one has a unique taste thanks to baked garlic and liquid smoke. Very flavorful and not hard to make. Wish I could include a picture with my post. I think you should add that option. :-) Thank you, Janet for a great recipe!

      • janet @ the taste space said, on January 22, 2013 at 9:21 PM

        Woohoo!!! So happy it was a resounding success! :)

  8. [...] Smoky Split Pea Soup with Roasted Garlic and Sage Quinoa Falafels with a Cheezy Broccoli Bowl Mexican Salad with Black Beans, Tomato, Avocado in a Creamy Tomato Sauce Smoky Tempeh and Chard Stew Moroccan Vegetable Phyllo Rolls with Balsamic Maple Sauce [...]

  9. [...] Edamame Collard Wrap with Green Onion-Miso Vinaigrette – Smoky Split Pea Soup (I preferred this soup) – Hottie Black Eyed Peas and Greens (recipe elsewhere) – Chickpea Piccata – Red Lentil and Root [...]

  10. [...] Smoky Split Pea Soup with Roasted Garlic and Sage Finnish Double Pea Stew with Apples Iraqi Eggplant and Seitan Stew Split Pea Dal with Ginger and Lime Ethiopian Split Pea Puree (Kik Alicha) Ethiopian Split Pea and Squash Stew with Collard Greens Swedish Yellow Split Pea Soup with Dill at Power Hungry Curried Squash and Split Pea Soup at Choosing Raw Sunshine Curried Split Pea Soup at G Living Yellow Split Peas with Garlic, Ginger and Cilantro at Kalyn’s Kitchen Yellow Split Pea Soup with Smoked Paprika and Crisped Leeks at Not Eating Out in New York Polish Split Peas and Cabbage at About.com [...]


What do you think?

