the taste space

Strawberry-Mango-Carrot Smoothie

Posted in Drinks by janet @ the taste space on February 23, 2012

I have to update you on the Vitamix!

It is alive and well!!

Turns out it has an automatic shut off if the motor is overheating, which can happen when using low speeds.

The next morning, I tried it again… and it is all working fine and dandy!

I was really worried actually… Sorry for being such a downer for the past few posts. :(

Perfect timing to whip up this fabulous smoothie. The carrot tempers the sweetness from the mango and pineapple juice. It also adds a bit of bulk which I countered with some more water.

Enjoy!

This is my submission to this week’s Weekend Wellness and to this month’s Berries event featuring strawberries.

Strawberry-Mango Smoothie

1/2 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 cup frozen mango chunks
1/2 cup chopped carrot (1 small carrot)
1/2 cup pineapple juice
1/4 cup water or 2 ice cubes

1. Add all ingredients to a high-spleed blender and mix until smooth.

Serves 1.

17 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy (Savory Moments) said, on February 23, 2012 at 7:39 AM

    What a lovely smoothie and I love your cute glass straw, too! Carrot and mango are a great combination. I like to make a smoothie with them and ginger.

  2. chefconnie said, on February 23, 2012 at 9:01 AM

    That looks great. I am going to try this one when the kids get up this morning…

  3. Ricki said, on February 23, 2012 at 5:44 PM

    Sounds like my kind of fruity drink! Did you use a raw carrot, or steamed? Love the color!

  4. Ashley said, on February 23, 2012 at 5:57 PM

    Hurray for the vitamix being alive! I was actually wondering if it had overheated, I think that happened to me before with my food processor. This smoothie sounds so good. Wonder how it would be in my regular blender..

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 23, 2012 at 7:12 PM

      Yeah I was blending it a lower speed. Apparently the Vitamix prefers to be run at a high speed because then the fan kicks in.. the fan doesn’t kick in at low speeds… it just shuts off if overheated. :P

  5. Cara said, on February 23, 2012 at 6:05 PM

    Ever since I came up with that Strawberry Avocado Smoothie I’ve been dreaming up others nonstop. I was thinking about doing something with carrot, and didn’t want to do carrot juice, but contemplated whether to use raw carrots or roasted. I wasn’t sure if raw would work for some reason, but you’ve shown me it does! This sounds delish :)

    • janet @ the taste space said, on February 23, 2012 at 7:12 PM

      Yeah, the carrot worked well because it adds bulk but tempers the sweet ingredients. And it makes it a pretty orange. :)

  6. Joanne said, on February 23, 2012 at 11:13 PM

    Totally understandable! I would have been beside myself.

    Love the flavors in this smoothie!

  7. Vardhini said, on February 24, 2012 at 6:16 PM

    Wow .. amazing click and colorful smoothie. Thx for linking to the event.

  8. Aggie said, on February 26, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    Really loving this smoothie! I make mine w almond milk always for some reason, love the carrot mixed w fruit in this one!

  9. Rosh said, on March 9, 2012 at 9:28 AM

    Awesome smoothie! Definitely gonna try this combo :)

    Chef Al dente On going event: Gimme GREEN!

  10. [...] to be a prominent flavour whereas the black eyed peas were merely a vector for the PB. I also used my Vitamix to create a silky smooth spread. I was initially worried I would lose a bunch of it behind in the [...]

  11. [...] Strawberry-Mango-Carrot Smoothie Peachy Keen Vanilla Smoothie Chocolate Maca Raspberry Smoothie Cucumber-Beet-Ginger Juice Raw Chocolate Milkshake at My New Roots (very, very good!) Mojito Smoothie at My New Roots (different but good) [...]

  12. [...] and roasted tomatoes come to mind), and I have even added carrots to smoothies before (for a strawberry-mango-carrot delight). But this time, I wanted to try cucumbers. They worked well in my Cucumber Beet Ginger juice, so I [...]

  13. […] of different juices in the recipes – carrot, apple, orange, pomegranate, etc. I would rather throw in a whole carrot than only use its juice, but one is way more sweet than the other… and way more juicy.  If […]


What do you think?

